Customer Reviews for

Rose in the Brier

Average Rating 3.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Pleasant short read

This was a very clean romance. I would of liked to have seen more of an epilogue. Mistaking the baby Ella and calling her Emma for a few pages in the book was a little annoying. Some other typo's too but otherwise a good quick read.

posted by 17078825 on February 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Awful grammar, ridiculous errors--cannot even read

The copious spelling and grammatical errors in even just the first few pages are so distracting that I find it impossible to read. It reads as a poor translation of a story written in a language other than English. I cannot possibly recommend this to anyone.

Dear aut...
The copious spelling and grammatical errors in even just the first few pages are so distracting that I find it impossible to read. It reads as a poor translation of a story written in a language other than English. I cannot possibly recommend this to anyone.

Dear author: please seek a qualified editor before publishing anything further. This is embarassing.

I only gave one star because it is a requirement of the review system. It is not indicative of the quality in any way.

posted by conchobaraSS on February 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Awful grammar, ridiculous errors--cannot even read

    The copious spelling and grammatical errors in even just the first few pages are so distracting that I find it impossible to read. It reads as a poor translation of a story written in a language other than English. I cannot possibly recommend this to anyone.

    Dear author: please seek a qualified editor before publishing anything further. This is embarassing.

    I only gave one star because it is a requirement of the review system. It is not indicative of the quality in any way.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Pleasant short read

    This was a very clean romance. I would of liked to have seen more of an epilogue. Mistaking the baby Ella and calling her Emma for a few pages in the book was a little annoying. Some other typo's too but otherwise a good quick read.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Poor editing and extensive grammatical errors

    Story concept was ok but formulaic. Unfortunately numerous grammatical errors, including improper and inconsistent verb tense, make this story read like a poorly edited partially filled in plot outline. The concept had potential, but this version only rates half a star. It reads like a very rough first draft, not a completed novel.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    GREAT

    Very good story and easy to follow. It was interesting and even had some humor interwined with the characters.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Good

    This is a good read, even with the grammar errors . Look forward to other books by author

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    almost illiterate?

    PLEASE! Someone rewrite this book and correct all the grammatical errors. Present tense mix with past tense, incomplete sentences, wrong words used (ie: absolutions instead of ablutions). It is very difficult to read because of so many glaring errors. You have to rewrite it in your mind while trying to read. I think it would be a good assignment for and English teacher to give a sixth geade class. "Correct the errors."

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Big reader

    Injoyed the novel hope she writes more

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Again...

    The author often nade errors on what tense she was writing. Some discriptions were too much. Good start but still needs work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Hard to get attached...

    Grammatical errors distract from the story. I had a really hard time getting involved with the characters because the tense kept changing even in the same sentence interrupting the flow of the overall story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Catchy premise - poorly executed

    I wanted to be so caught up in the storyline that I could ignore the flaws. However, the inconsistent tense, poor grammar and stilted, emotionless narrative prevented me from getting through the first chapter. Disappointing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Very enjoyable

    We cannotgo on what others have to say most of the I found nothing wronge with the gramer she wrote according to the role of the player. Keep writing I am sure it won't be long before you become well known for you work. Debra H

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Very enjoyable

    I thought that it was well written and it had kept my attention. I enjoyed it very much total pages..229

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Great light read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Ok

    Well written

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Wonderful

    Very good easy read. Some suspense and likeable characters good story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2015

    Good book

    You people should just read this novel yourselves and write your own review on this novel. I really enjoyed reading this novel very much. ShelleyMA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    Grammar and spelling were not well edited but I liked the story

    Grammar and spelling were not well edited but I liked the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2014

    Sweet

    Unbelievable but nice story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2014

    Excellent story but needs some clean-up editing.

    Excellent story but needs some clean-up editing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Oookay?

    Must be a new writer. Good story line but not well written. I had to skim through a lot of it. Sometimes her wording would lead you to think something really interesting was about to happen then as you read more it ended up just being over done descriptions of what was taking place.
    The writer has potential but need professional editing help. I gave two stars instead of one for the good story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2