Customer Reviews for

Rosebush

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Karin Librarian for TeensReadToo

Jane goes to a party on the Jersey Shore expecting to have fun with her friends and a romantic night with her boyfriend. Instead, she is run down by a car and left for dead - tangled in a rosebush on the side of the road. Waking up in the hospital, Jane realizes she has...
Jane goes to a party on the Jersey Shore expecting to have fun with her friends and a romantic night with her boyfriend. Instead, she is run down by a car and left for dead - tangled in a rosebush on the side of the road. Waking up in the hospital, Jane realizes she has no memory of what happened at the party, and that she is also paralyzed. With snatches of memory coming back at random moments and accounts from her friends, Jane attempts to piece together what really happened that night and who wants her dead - because the killer isn't finished with her. Jane receives mysterious gifts and phone calls from the person responsible for her accident. The problem is, no one believes she is in danger. They blame the paranoia on all the drugs she is taking for the pain. Will she be able to figure out who is after her before it is too late? Michele Jaffe has crafted a great mystery. She is able to make the reader continually change their minds about what happened by presenting us with several feasible suspects. So, you might ask why I didn't give it 5 stars. Honestly, I didn't find the final culprit to be believable. Other suspects had better reasons for wanting Jane out of the way than the actual person who harmed her. Also, I liked Jane, but she was too easily swayed by boys. Every time she met a new one she seemed to like him immediately. But, even with these two things, the book was great. I totally couldn't put it down.

posted by TeensReadToo on September 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A thorny teen mystery

Thanks to Puget Sound Council for providing this review copy. So who did it? Jane awakens in the hospital, remembering little from the party at the Jersey Shore the night before and even less about the accident which injured her. Her two best friends are there for he...
Thanks to Puget Sound Council for providing this review copy. So who did it? Jane awakens in the hospital, remembering little from the party at the Jersey Shore the night before and even less about the accident which injured her. Her two best friends are there for her in her recovery but her boyfriend might not be her boyfriend any more. People seem to believe she tried to kill herself by kneeling in the road on that dark night but why would she do that? Jane doesn't believe she was suicidal but her memory can't confirm that.

Friends, enemies, Mom's hated boyfriend--they all play a part. I was surprised at the ending and a bit disappointed at the reasoning for why the person tried to kill Jane, but a good teen mystery with plenty of twists and turns.

posted by Heidi_G on December 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A thorny teen mystery

    Thanks to Puget Sound Council for providing this review copy. So who did it? Jane awakens in the hospital, remembering little from the party at the Jersey Shore the night before and even less about the accident which injured her. Her two best friends are there for her in her recovery but her boyfriend might not be her boyfriend any more. People seem to believe she tried to kill herself by kneeling in the road on that dark night but why would she do that? Jane doesn't believe she was suicidal but her memory can't confirm that.

    Friends, enemies, Mom's hated boyfriend--they all play a part. I was surprised at the ending and a bit disappointed at the reasoning for why the person tried to kill Jane, but a good teen mystery with plenty of twists and turns.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fast Paced, dramatic, mystery

    Michelle Jaffe brought to us a twisted story of friends, enemies and how sometimes you can't tell the difference between the two.

    There really isn't much to say about Rosebush beyond not everything is as it seems. While reading the story of how Jane ended up, left-for-dead, in a rosebush, it felt like I was driving a never ending curving road around a mountain, through a mountain and over a mountain. The twists and turns never stopped. I was constantly peaking over the edge of the mountain too see how far up I really was.


    Every time I thought I figured out the mystery of who and why, a new turn of events left me grasping for anything within reach. I almost felt like a crime scene investigator, putting together the evidence, reading between the lines of personal statements, and trying to figure out who had the biggest motive of all. Though, it is hard to do that when all of your friends, and even those you never liked before, seem to all know something the other one doesn't and is trying to cover up something completely unrelated to the actual question at hand.

    While there are many reasons to pick up this book I didn't find myself troubled to put it down. I didn't make any connections with the characters, though, with a book this speed it can be a tricky feat to form a connection worth holding onto. The plot was well thought out and formed but I felt that I watching a slightly mediocre episode of some crime-drama through a dark tunnel. I saw it all but only at a fraction at what it could have been.


    Despite the few qualms I have with Rosebush there are many reason why Rosebush is a great read. Characters with completely different personalities from different life styles topped with mystery and suspense make this stand alone young adult thriller what it is.

    Cover: 4
    Characters: 3
    Plot: 4
    Overall: 3

    On the cover: Couldn't be more appropriate, could it?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Decent Whodunit

    Jane was the victim of a hit and run accident, or was it a accident? Instead of spending time with her friends during Memorial Day weekend on the Jersey shore Jane is in the hospital. She is surrounded by Teddy Bears and flowers but she isn't really feeling loved.

    Jane can't really remember what happened the night she ended up in the Rosebush. As she starts piecing things together everyone is a suspect, from closest friends to boyfriend. Who is this secret admirer who keeps sending her things? Who wants her dead?

    Nobody believes Jane when she says that someone keeps threatening her not even her mother, they all think she is delusional. Her only friend ends up being a volunteer at the hospital named Pete.

    Will she be able to piece together what happened that night at the party before the killer comes back to finish the job?
    I really wasn't sure about this going into it, sounded a bit like some other books I had read lately. I wasn't sure if I would like it but I got wrapped up in the whole whodonit atmosphere that the author creates.

    Jane is one of the popular girls with the great friends and handsome boyfriend, but it that really any reason to want someone dead? I am not really sure that I liked Jane all that much, but I did feel a little sorry for her when nobody would listen to her about someone threatening her. Then I thought maybe she really is delusional and should just stop whining. Though if there really was a killer it had to suck being stuck with out being able to move, being stuck in a hospital bed wondering if who ever comes in the room is coming in to kill you.

    That was her first reaction to Pete, the volunteer, Jane thought he was the killer. Pete, he is a really nice guy who is only volunteering because his father thinks it will help build his character. Pete is a drop out and not real sure about were his life is going. I liked Pete, he was probably my favorite character.

    Everything revolves around Jane in the hospital trying to remember what happened at the party so you get a lot of flashback. You learn a little about her friends, her boyfriends, a guy friend Scott who is into photography like Jane is, but I don't really think they are fleshed out enough to really decide if I liked any of them.

    Over all I thought it was a decent read and I think if your into those dramatic teen mysteries like Pretty Little Liars, or The Lying Game then you will probably like Rosebush. (Though its not a series type book and you get to find out whodunit in the end!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1