Customer Reviews for

Roseflower Creek

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A MASTERPIECE!!!

You'll laugh, cry, sigh...You'll be amazed! "The morning I died it rained..." What an opening line!!! The narrator is an unforgettable 10 year old girl from the other side, sharing her knowledge and her ability to forgive and understand....You'll become emotionally at...
You'll laugh, cry, sigh...You'll be amazed! "The morning I died it rained..." What an opening line!!! The narrator is an unforgettable 10 year old girl from the other side, sharing her knowledge and her ability to forgive and understand....You'll become emotionally attached to this story and the characters!

I also recommend EXPLOSION IN PARIS, by Linda Pirrung and WHISTLING IN THE DARK.....Two more to keep you feeling!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Lannie on November 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Well written, but disturbing

This book was a quick read and hard to put down, but the subject matter was disturbing. It was thought provoking and I will read another book by this author.

posted by aharey on February 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A MASTERPIECE!!!

    You'll laugh, cry, sigh...You'll be amazed! "The morning I died it rained..." What an opening line!!! The narrator is an unforgettable 10 year old girl from the other side, sharing her knowledge and her ability to forgive and understand....You'll become emotionally attached to this story and the characters!

    I also recommend EXPLOSION IN PARIS, by Linda Pirrung and WHISTLING IN THE DARK.....Two more to keep you feeling!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2007

    Loved It

    I couldn't put this down. Well written.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    Lori Jean

    A life cut way too short by the hands of a step father. Lori Jean was a sweet girl growing up in the fifties, poor, and living in the South. I really enjoyed the story despite the tragic events. Found it to be a real page turner.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Good story but depressing

    This book was written very well. I grew up in the south also and I loved seeing the language incorporated into the book. This book made me remember the hope and innocence of being a child. It was a depressing read but I appreciate the story and work of the author greatly for being able to tell of a story like this.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2005

    Can you say awesome? I CAN.

    Oy, it's been so long since I've read it. The way this book is written, is it's intended to capture all types of people and audiences. A very, very good read. Way worth your time.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    a must read

    this book was so good that i finished it in two days, it is a must read, i will recommend it to all my friends.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    Heartbreaker!

    Couldn't put this down. Touched me deeply as a mother.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Well written, but disturbing

    This book was a quick read and hard to put down, but the subject matter was disturbing. It was thought provoking and I will read another book by this author.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    Read this book!

    Hold on a second while I dry my eyes. This was one of the most heart wrenching books I have read in years. But don't let that scare you away. I knew I was a goner from the first page. Jackie Lee Miles has a voice that speaks like thunder from every page. I am putting this on the top of my favorite list. It will take quiet a book to knock it from that spot! I am a fan of Ms Miles for life!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    Great read

    This book was hard to put down! A sad story that was filled with wisdom and warmth. The book stayed with me long after I finished reading it. I am anxious to read more by this author.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2002

    a beautiful story!

    You have got to read this book! The author did a great job speaking from the voice of a 10 year old. Such innocence and forgiveness even for those that did her wrong...We can learn much from Lori Jean.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2002

    I Couldn't put it down

    I was taken in with the first words... 'The morning I died it rained.' A truly unique perception of life and death through the eyes of a 10 year old. Although her story is sad, Lori Jean's ability to hold onto such optomism when facing life's trials, is truly inspiring. A must read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2002

    A Novel of Heartbreaking Innocence

    I was hooked on Roseflower Creek from the first sentence. It is the haunting, heartbreaking story of a young girl in rural Georgia in the 1950's. Lori Jean is a wonderful, loving child, but is forced to fight a battle against hatred, abuse and family secrets she can never win. Her distinctive voice will stay with you long after you've finished the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2001

    A beautiful, but sad story you don't want to miss!

    I read this book in one sitting. If only all people could forgive like Lori Jean the world would be a better place. A terrific book for the first time out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2001

    Roseflower Creek

    Whoever said: 'A powerful extraordinary novel',meant it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2001

    Roseflower Creek

    My Husband loved it too. A memorable story of forgiveness and innocense lost. Lori Jean climbs into your heart and softens places you didn't know had hardened. Oprah where are you??

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2001

    Roseflower Creek

    J. L. Miles creates characters so real you feel they are. Lori Jean makes you laugh. And her story breaks your heart. Don't miss it. Impossible to put down. I love how she talks: That summer Digger run off. He done that once before we knowed of. He runned off from where he used to live; that's how we got him as our dog. MeeMaw said Digger was like some kind of men. 'What kind is that?' I asked. 'Kind you can't count on!' she said. See what I mean?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2001

    Roseflower Creek

    Lori Jean enters your heart and stays there. Impossible to put down. I love how she talks: That summer Digger run off. He done that once before we knowed of. He runned off from where he used to live; that's how we got him as our dog. MeeMaw said Digger was like some kind of men. 'What kind is that?' I asked. 'Kind you can't count on!' she said. See what I mean?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2001

    Roseflower Creek

    When Mr.Hamner said: 'A powerful extraordinary novel', he meant it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2001

    Roseflower Creek

    A book you will read in one sitting. I laughed and I cried. And I'm back on page one and reading it all over again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4