Customer Reviews for

Roseflower Creek

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A MASTERPIECE!!!

You'll laugh, cry, sigh...You'll be amazed! "The morning I died it rained..." What an opening line!!! The narrator is an unforgettable 10 year old girl from the other side, sharing her knowledge and her ability to forgive and understand....You'll become emotionally at...
You'll laugh, cry, sigh...You'll be amazed! "The morning I died it rained..." What an opening line!!! The narrator is an unforgettable 10 year old girl from the other side, sharing her knowledge and her ability to forgive and understand....You'll become emotionally attached to this story and the characters!

I also recommend EXPLOSION IN PARIS, by Linda Pirrung and WHISTLING IN THE DARK.....Two more to keep you feeling!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Lannie on November 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Well written, but disturbing

This book was a quick read and hard to put down, but the subject matter was disturbing. It was thought provoking and I will read another book by this author.

posted by aharey on February 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2001

    Roseflower Creek

    Lori Jean takes off running and you can't help but follow. When you discover what she forgives and why she forgives it, you'll remind yourself you best start forgiving too!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2001

    Don't miss this book! Stays in your heart.

    From the moment ten-year-old Lori Jean begins her story with, 'The morning I died it rained', I wasn't able to put it down. Read it and laugh; read it and weep. A most special story. An unforgettable child. Lori Jean taps into your memories and never lets go. You might think it's a book for women. You may think it's a book for a friend. I think it's just right for anyone who survived childhood.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2014

    highly recommended

    Really enjoyed this book. A book of a young girls struggles and endurances that were unbelieve

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2014

    Loved this book. It was so poignant and heartbreaking that I wis

    Loved this book. It was so poignant and heartbreaking that I wish I could wrap this child in my arms and rescue her. This story is very well written from the viewpoint of a young, uneducated and very poor girl. I was immediately pulled into this novel from the very first line and couldn't put it down. Excellent read and a definite tear jerker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Wonderful book

    This story will make you laugh and cry,touch your heart and soul and linger with you long after you have finished reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2014

    An amazing book. Loved the wonderful characters and the suspense

    An amazing book. Loved the wonderful characters and the suspense and emotion.  I read it in two days.  Would recommend to anyone who enjoys books about relationships , family, hard times and joy.  This book had it all.       

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    Lovee it!

    I couldn't put this one down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    I loved this book it was a very sad book. But Lori Jean can make

    I loved this book it was a very sad book. But Lori Jean can make you see the good in anything. Highly recommend this!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Recommend

    This was a very good book but sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Highly recommend this book.

    It was a very fast read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Good book

    This is a fast read, a good story and definitely keeps your interest. It is very sad, but that shouldn't be a surprise after reading the description. I liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Really enjoyed this book. Lori Jean is a lovable little girl!

    Really enjoyed this book. Lori Jean is a lovable little girl!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    When I read the excerpt, I was reluctant to open this book becau

    When I read the excerpt, I was reluctant to open this book because I
    figured it was going to be another "Beautiful Bones" - one of
    those books I just could NOT read, no matter how hard I tried. I was SO
    WRONG. I could not put this book down; I was drawn in from the beginning
    until the very end; and while, obviously, I knew what was going to
    happen, I kept hoping it would turn out differently. It actually ended
    exactly the way it needed to. The feeling of inevitability permeated the
    actions of all characters. I think I would have been dissatisfied withe
    the fairy tale ending I hoped for. Well written and gripping. An
    excellent choice for any reader. A BONUS as offered as a Summer Weekend
    Read - and I'm so glad I chose to buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    To glad it was free

    ITS $10.49 NOT 0$

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    This will keep your interest

    At first this book was hard for me to understand because I thought there were all of these gramatical errors, but once I figured out she was spelling everything in the dialect they spoke I was OK. I thought this book was well written and kept me wanting to know what happened next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Glad it was free...

    "The morning I died it rained. Poured down so hard it washed the blood off my face."

    Thus begins the story of ten-year-old Lori Jean, whose short life and early death are woven into this affecting novel set in the 1950s rural South. Abandoned by her father when she was just five years old, Lori Jean's world consists of a weak-willed mother and an alcoholic stepfather who can't keep a steady job. Yet Lori Jean is filled with the curiosity and hope common to all children.

    When Lori Jean uncovers her stepfather's secret, everything spins out of control and she pays the ultimate price for what she knows.

    But through this heart-wrenching story comes surprising tribute to the human heart's ability to heal and love despite the most difficult circumstances.

    My Review - This book was incredibly long and it didn't even get good until like the last 25 to 50 pages of the book. Most of the rest was just filler and stuff that didn't even matter to the plot. I admittedly skipped chapters here and there just because it wasn't anything to do with the big picture. When I go to the last chapter I was like oh my gosh it continues. And when I finally finished there was a sigh of relief. I also didn't like how since the person was from the south they didn't know how to speak correctly. I'm from the south and majority of the time I speak correctly. It was an insult to the south. Sorry, just didn't care for this book but stuck with it. Still only gets one star.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read

    I rated this book 5-stars because it is well deserved in every area. The author has an amazing gift to express very realistic feelings and the innocents of the young main character. This read left me thinking and feeling a little uncomfortable, but it was all required on the part of the author in order to tell this tragic tale that is all too real in our society.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4