Customer Reviews for

Roselynde

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2006

    AN ABSOLUTE MUST-READ!!

    I read this book over a decade ago, and periodically re-read the entire series. This first book in the Roselynde chronicles is a non-stop page turner. The characters will are so real(Alinor is no saint!), they become like part of your family! If you like the medieval period, this book brings it to life! The characters are vivid, the story enthralling, and the historical setting is authentically represented. Hats off to Ms. Gellis for what must have been YEARS of in-dept research. If you are a fan of the period of King Richard the Lionheart and his evil brother, Prince John, this is the book for you. If readers don't like this one, there is no pleasing anyone. Read all of the books in this series, just be sure to read them in order. A guaranteed page turner!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2014

    If you want to be transported to another time and place, read Ro

    If you want to be transported to another time and place, read Roberta Gellis. I own the entire Roselynde series and have re-read it many times. I completely agree with review by Anonymous September 8, 2006! Have many of Roberta's other books as well. Have started getting them as Nook, and audio CDs when available. If you like a bit of mystery, be sure to get her 'Magdalene la Batarde' 4 book series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Loved it and I'm reading the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Historical Romance

    This is called a "Blush" romance but it is far from boring. I am a fan of Kathleen Woodiwiss and I love a good bodice ripper. This isn't quite one of those. There is romance and there is drama. I find the drama to be more tame than other books I read. I am a history buff and I do have to say that if you have an interest in that kind of thing you will love this book. I can see how some might think it dry, but I love it. I became so enamored with life during the time of King Richard that I went out and rented just about every movie that takes place during that time. This entire series is fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    A window into the past, and a great yarn to boot!

    I read this book when it was first published in 1978. It's been a good friend over the years, and my paperback copy is ratty and torn, with a slight "dropped in the bathtub" aroma. I'm slowly migrating my books to electronic format, and was happy to locate this series. As I can afford it, I'll be buying the rest of the series (again).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Gret Book

    Great Book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Gellis' most beloved novel goes digital!

    I have gone through a bit of a reading slump lately. I have been anxiously awaiting the releases of several of my favorite author’s new books. So when this happens I go back to my comfort reads.
    Roselynde by Roberta Gellis was first published in 1978. The story begins in the summer of 1189, after Henry II dies and just before his son Richard’s coronation. In this story of a young woman, fictional Alinor joins the ranks of real heiresses that had been wards of King Henry II, he was in no hurry to marry these girls off not while he had the use of their money, and the power of the knights, and sworn liege men of these Countesses, to bolster his own army while he was at war with his son Richard and King Philip in France.
    Alinor's Grandfather has raised her to be Mistress of Roselynde’s vast holdings, not to be someone chattel. But Richard has to raise a great deal of money. He sends his mother to Roselynde Keep to assess this young and powerful Countess. The Queen upon meeting Alinor realizes she is in the presence of a kindred spirit, a young woman just like she had been at that age, intelligent, capable, and nobody’s fool.
    Alinor reluctantly accepts as her warden Simon who isn’t happy about this assignment, but ever loyal he accepts the task. Alinor looks very like the young Queen Eleanor, whom he has loved with an unrequited passion for 25 years. He being nearly 20 years older than the 16 year-old Alinor makes it almost more than he can stand. It is not honorable to have these feelings for a girl he is supposed to protect. It doesn’t help that Alinor has developed the same passion for him, and has decided that here is a man whom she can trust not to ride rough shot over her, and her duty as Mistress of Roselynde, and she will have him.
    As with all of Gellis’s works the research is impeccable with some forgivable errors considering the time they were written. There is enough history to make H/F people happy and enough romance to make most romance readers happy. Also for those who just don’t know if romance is for them they should give it a try. I am thrilled so many of Ms. Gellis’ books are now available on Nook!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Good read if you're into history.

    I liked the book but it was a long, long read. I got to where I was just scimming pages where it had too much and too many facts. Same with the other books that continue the story line....repeating same facts.....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1