Customer Reviews for

Rosemary Cottage (Hope Beach Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is my first Colleen Coble novel. I got a chance to meet Co

    This is my first Colleen Coble novel. I got a chance to meet Colleen earlier this year during the Secretly Smitten party. Thank you to Lit Fuse Publicity and Colleen for sharing this great novel.
    Synopsis:
    Amy is moving to Hope Beach to mourn her brother’s death. Her family has had a house there for generations. While Amy would like to start again she receives a deceptive e-mail insinuating that there is more to Ben’s death. No one believes her at first, but there has also been another strange death of a woman on the island who left her infant daughter to the care of her brother Curtis Ireland. Were there deaths the result of foul play or something more? Curtis one of the coastguard is connected decides to help Amy with her investigation. Is there more to the partnership?
    My Thoughts:
    I very much enjoyed it. I loved how Ms. Coble kept you guessing as to what would happen next. Of course for the summertime a setting along the Outer Banks works well for Beach read season. The characters are also memorable and weaves a tapestry of emotion and conflict throughout the novel.
    Have you ever read a novel that you want to find out more but the author makes you wait? I have a hard time being patient but realize the journey is worth it in the end. I found that there were some slow spots during the novel. Overall an enjoyable read. I look forward to reading more in the Hope Beach series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book can be something. I got really into it. I love the fac

    This book can be something. I got really into it. I love the fact the Mystery goes though the entire book and you do not figure it out until towards the end. Though you do not until the very end of the book. This book really keep me interested and it made me really want to find out what happen to Ben Lang. I also wanted to find out how Gina had died. It really a good book more mystery then romance. Though you see the friendship that goes though. It also talks about Amy Lang and her struggles as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2014

    I am really enjoying this Hope Beach series. Tidewater Inn was a

    I am really enjoying this Hope Beach series. Tidewater Inn was a great book, but I absolutely loved reading Rosemary Cottage. There are so many twists and turns. I figured some things out, but must admit that the author really shocked me at the end. This book was interesting all of the way through.

    The premise of the story is that Amy Lang and Curtis Ireland have both lost siblings in the past year. And both of their deaths were ruled accidental. But Amy thinks there was something suspicious about her brother’s death and heads to their family vacation home on the island to try to figure out what happened. As she and Curtis spend time together, they learn that there may be much more to both of their siblings than they ever knew. Add in Curtis’ sweet little baby niece and some danger and you end up with a very convincing story full of action, suspense and romance.

    This is a very well-written story with characters that I felt that I could really connect with. I always love reading a book series that folds in characters from the previous books seamlessly and that is what the author has done with Rosemary Cottage. I am looking forward to the next in the series.

    I received a complimentary copy from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review, which I have given.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2014

    This book was an excellent book. Amy moves to Rosemary Cottage

    This book was an excellent book. Amy moves to Rosemary Cottage to get away from the city and mourn her brother's death, but she thinks he has been murdered and aims to find out who did it. No one believes her, but Curtis who is one of the Coast Guard personnel there whose sister also died leaving a 1-year old decides to help her. In investigating this it becomes apparent that may be Gina, Curtis's sister was murdered also. You have to keep reading until the end to see what happens. This book is a must read. I have recommended Colleen's books to friends because her books are cannot put down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2014

    I was amazed to discover that I had read the first book in this

    I was amazed to discover that I had read the first book in this series and rated it five stars. I began to recall some of the events as I read through this follow-up book, but I just did not find the first book in the series memorable. And after reading last year's review, I discovered that as nice a story as this book is, it falls short of the other's book's success.

    Don't get me wrong. The second half of this book is action-packed and chock full of mystery and intrigue. There is no profanity and no sex scenes. Christian principles are emphasized, and it is clear that the primary characters are true Christians. The characterizations are well-orchestrated, and I felt somewhat connected with several of them. The mystery writing is pretty exceptional, and although the end is basically assured, the ride is pretty rocky at times.

    My complaint is twofold. First of all, I would have loved for there to be a stronger Christian message like there was in the first book. I was concerned that the author may have been watering down her message to attract more readers. I appreciate the Christian principles, but I prefer a much more substantial message.

    My other criticism is that this book follows the same formula that the first book in the series did. While the method works, I don't understand why it takes half of the book to get the story going. In my opinion, Colleen Coble is a better author than this. I still prefer her historical novels, but I would love to see the passion from those novels placed into her contemporary series.

    If you have not read the first book in the series, not to worry. This book is definitely a stand-alone. I can recommend it for a quick read and a romantic suspense book that is guaranteed clean.

    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I've read a few of Colleen Coble's books, and I know they are im

    I've read a few of Colleen Coble's books, and I know they are immensely popular--best-selling even. This one included. She's very good at putting together a mystery and trickling clues throughout until everything comes together in the end, there's just always something missing from them for me. But if it means anything, even after feeling this way about her books, I will still go on to read more of them. Maybe one of these days I'll simply be able to accept her style for what it is--because she is definitely a talented author.

    I like the characters, I like the situations, and I like the settings. I think it's actually the pace of the story that bothers me. It's very quick, and things happen--and then BOOM, you're on to the next scene. I like a little more introspection from characters, rather than just seeing them go through things and happenings. I want to know more of their devastation and their ecstasy that comes from deep within, from where their hurts and love for each other originate. That's just my preference. When I'm not brought to those levels in a book, I often feel a bit disappointed. Because I KNOW it can be done. And perhaps it's just that I secretly wish every book that fell into my lap was as romantic and tension filled as Julie Lessman, Denise Hunter and Jody Hedlund can write them. :)

    But that's just me--and why I've begun referring to myself as a book-snob more and more over the years.

    And after all that, I can insist that this wasn't a bad book at all! If it were, I would have stopped reading it somewhere along the way. Rosemary Cottage kept my attention, and I did like a lot about it. I would recommend it to anyone.

    I received a free paperback copy of Colleen Coble's Rosemary Cottage from the publisher in return for this honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Good supense

    The beginning was a little mind boggling being introduced to 25 some odd people but they all played into the page turning suspense. Didn't see that ending coming. Good story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    Hope Island. Just the name draws me to want to come and spend ti

    Hope Island. Just the name draws me to want to come and spend time there in quietness. But, all is not as it seems.  We were first introduced to the community of Hope Beach in Tidewater Inn, but if you haven't read that one yet, you can always pick it up and read later. Although we do meet the same people, the story is not a continuation. Colleen weaves a sweet romance in with dramatic suspense in her talented writing, and once started, this book is difficult to leave.
    As in any small town, but perhaps more so in a rather isolated town, everyone knows each other, or thinks they do, and what they do not know, they assume. And often, rumors become what we take as reality because we have heard them so frequently.  
    Aside from being a great novel written in Colleen's unique style, this novel has deeper levels. How well do I really know my family? Amy thought she knew Ben, but did she? Curtis felt the secrets he was keeping was honoring his sister, but do we keep secrets because we are trying to shield ourselves? How far would we go to get something we want? 
    Definitely a novel suspense readers will enjoy.




    I received this free book from Amy and Chris at Litfuse Publicity Group and Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for an honest review. A positive critique was not required. The opinions are my own.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Highly recommend. Easy reading and very interesting.

    Have already ordered Tidewater Inn...which is book 1 in the Hope Beach Series. I wish that I had know that Rosemary Cottage was book 2 in the series. I would have preferred to read them in order. I do like Colleen Coble as an author. I will read more books by her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Wonderful

    This has a shocking ending. I was up late finishing the book as you just cannot put it down. One of my favorite of her books.
    I will be reading only her books until i read them all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Amy Lange has so many wonderful memories of her and her brother,

    Amy Lange has so many wonderful memories of her and her brother, Ben at Rosemary 
    Cottage and their long hours playing on the beach.  But this year Ben isn't with her at Rosemary Cottage but his memory is here.  Ben lost his life in a surfing accident.  Amy was looking for closure in her brother's death.   She may even move her midwife practice to Hope Island.  

    Amy can't help but wonder if his death was really caused by an accident.

    Curtis Ireland has also lost a sibling, his sister, Gina was was killed in a boating accident. She left something very valuable to Curtis's care, Raine, Gina's daughter.  Curtis will do anything to protect his niece from intruders.  That is until he meets Amy Lange and then his world is turned upside down.  But is that a good thing  or a bad thing?

    This is a nail biting, chills running up your spine, suspenseful story.  Your brain will be working overtime to find the secrets that will solve THE mystery.  Aside from all the suspense is an on and off romance between Amy and Ben, with littIe Raine in the middle. 

    I get really into the books I'm reading and forget sometimes that the characters can't hear me giving them some well needed advice.  

    This author never seems to let me down when I read one of her books and I have read several of them.  All winners, in my opinion.

    I highly recommend not only this book but this series and especially this author.

    Disclosure:  I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson/Litfuse Publicity Group for review.  I was in no way compensated for this review.  This review is my honest opinion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Very entertaining. It has kept me wanting more and on tender hoo

    Very entertaining. It has kept me wanting more and on tender hooks. Very exciting and a tear jerker to say the least. Nice surprising turns !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    I'm a huge fan of Colleen Coble's romantic suspense novels, and

    I'm a huge fan of Colleen Coble's romantic suspense novels, and Rosemary Cottage did not disappoint! I liked Amy and Curtis right away—even if they didn't like each other! Both of them were struggling to deal with the deaths of their siblings, which added a deeper dimension to both of them. There was so much chemistry between the two of them as well. It seemed that every time they talked, they alternated between intense attraction and heated arguments. Of course, their fierce loyalty to their respective siblings didn't help in the midst of those arguments!

    My enjoyment of the novel was probably enhanced a little as I read about half of it during a power outage due to a thunderstorm. Nothing makes a suspense novel more suspenseful than reading it in a dark room, by flashlight, with a storm raging outside. Feel free to re-create this scenario when you read Rosemary Cottage! :)

    If you enjoy suspense novels, you are sure to love Rosemary Cottage! I highly recommend! [4.5 stars]

    I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson and Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my fair and honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have the perfect summer read for you:  Rosemary Cottage.  This

    I have the perfect summer read for you:  Rosemary Cottage.  This book is as relaxing as a beach chair in the surf; the story just rolls right over you like a cool wave. 
    Rosemary Cottage sits on the beach in the Outer Banks off the coast of North Carolina.  Amy Lange returns to the cottage to grieve the loss of her brother Ben and find some closure with his death. 

    Amy meets an Outer Banks Coast Guard officer, Curtis Ireland, who is also grieving the loss of a sibling.  Amy and Curtis find unexpected correlations between the two deaths and soon discover that the pieces of this puzzle lead to countless unanswered questions.  Foul play, double lives and dangerous secrets unfold as Amy and Curtis are drawn together in a relationship that is a bit more than friendship.

    Characters you'll love, wrestling with moral dilemmas in a risky adventure on a beautiful summer background make this the perfect book to take on your summer vacation. Then leave it at the beach house as a delightful surprise for the person who comes behind you.

    Disclosure:  The product in this review was given free of charge. My opinions are my honest, tried-and-true views and were not influenced by any source. I was not compensated monetarily to advertise this campaign. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A Light Romance with Mystery and Suspense!

    Colleen Coble’s ROSEMARY COTTAGE, is part of the Hope Beach series (#2), and can be read as a standalone; however, you will fall in love with this series, and want to read them all. Set in the coastal area of the Outer Banks area, of North Carolina— a nice contemporary romance, with lots of mystery and suspense.

    Having read an advanced reading copy of (#3) SEAGRASS PIER, Hope Beach series—packed with suspense, mystery, emotion, complex characters, a psychopath, obsession, and romance—A "Must Read" coming July 1—and one you will want to read!

    After reading TIDEWATER INN (#1), readers will enjoy following up with characters and the setting of this beautiful area. Rosemary Cottage is a cottage that has been in Amy Lang's family for generations. She is returning to the area after the death of her brother, Ben for a multi-layered mystery. There were circumstances surrounding his death, and she begins searching for answers, while grieving for her brother. Ben was a strong swimmer, so things do not add up.

    Even her own parents won't support her decision to investigate Ben’s death—she plans to move her midwife practice while trying to put the pieces of puzzle together and solve this mystery. She hopes the Coast Guard team will be of assistance --No one is taking the suspicious email she received serious.

    Meet Curtis Ireland, a Coast Guard Officer who lives in the area. His sister, Gina, also died in a swimming accident, as well. She was also a strong swimmer, with dreams of the Olympics. She left a seven month old little girl named Raine—Curtis is raising her with his aunt Edith. Curtis also is keeping Raine’s father a secret.

    Curtis and Amy knew of one another; however, never really close friends. When they meet again, they are both grieving, and begin to wonder if the mystery behind their loved ones’ death could be connected. While they work on the details, an attraction develops between these two. However Amy has a secret as well. How far will they go to keep their secrets from being discovered?

    Well-developed characters with many twists and turns for a nice light mystery, romance, and family drama. Would recommend to those enjoying Christian fiction with an intriguing story. A novel of redemption, loss, love, and forgiveness—one of letting go, in order to move on.

    A special thank you to Thomas Nelson--FICTION and NetGalley for a complimentary reading copy, in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I just can't get over how masterful a story teller Colleen Coble

    I just can't get over how masterful a story teller Colleen Coble is. I've not read one of her books I didn't thoroughly enjoy. This book is no exception! I was hooked from page one! The story moved at just the right pace. Lots of action, mystery, and the right amount of romance.

    The emotions the characters felt were realistic. I could feel Amy's grief, joy, contentment, and conflict as she struggled to keep her emotions in check. Her character is one I can certainly relate to. Curtis' character drew me in from the start. His caring, protective nature is admirable. Their romance, while at times I wanted to smack them both, was sweet.

    The lesson in this story was two-fold. God wants us to be real. It's so easy to put on a facade, to pretend to be someone we aren't or feel something we don't, but that's not what God wants. The other lesson is about judgement. We are in no way, shape, or form in a position to judge others, yet we do it on a daily basis. That's not God's will either!

    Overall, this is a face-paced story with plenty of twists, turns, and romance for anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Rey's bio

    Gender: male<p>Age: 15<p>Looks medium dark wavy hair, 5'9" muscular, can bench 86 lbs. <p> others ask

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Sadie's Bio

    Name: Sadie Smith

    Gender: Female

    Age: 16

    Looks: Long, straight caramel hair streaked with natural auburn hightlights. Dark blue turquoise eyes. She is slightly tall, and slim. Pretty fashionable, but doesn't care much about clothes.

    Personality: Fun, funny, gentle, adventurous.

    Other: Ask.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Needed closeur for the end.

    I wanted to know what happened to Ben

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    Another GREAT story by Colleen Coble. It is a mix of mystery, su

    Another GREAT story by Colleen Coble. It is a mix of mystery, suspense and clean romance with a tangled plot that keeps you reading. It is captivating from the first page until the last with twists that keep you guessing until the end. I loved it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3