BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Rosemary Gladstar's Medicinal Herbs: A Beginner's Guide: 33 Healing Herbs to Know, Grow, and Use

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    It's ok.

    Good information. I'm not happy that there are pages missing. It jumps from page 82 to 89 and even if you manually type in the pages in between it sends you to page 82. Thanks......for nothing.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Pages are missing!!!

    Im enjoying it on my nook but once i get to pg 83 it skips to pg103!!! Theres some good info i missing out in. If i knew pages were missing i would have bought the book......it defeats the purpose of the nook! :/

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2013

    I love that Rosemary inspires people to take charge of their own

    I love that Rosemary inspires people to take charge of their own health. This book isn’t about curing complicated diseases nor is it a fix everything with one product type of book. It’s about the “medicine of the home” to help non emergency health problems that arise in everyday life. This is something that years ago was common knowledge; something that mothers and grandmothers taught their daughters and granddaughters as a way to care for their families. I feel strongly that this art is just as important today as it was for our ancestors and I trust Rosemary Gladstar to teach it to me.

    Rosemary has been called the “Godmother of American Herbalism” and has been studying, teaching, and using herbalism for over 35 years. She has founded multiple herb schools, authored numerous books, founded a medicinal tea company, started and acts as president of a non-profit organization that conserves and cultivates North American medicinal plants, and she now lives and works on a 500 acre botanical preserve in Vermont called Sage Mountain Herbal Retreat Center. Rosemary is definitely someone who knows what they are doing!

    This book is full of information, is beautifully written, contains vibrant color pictures, and it really makes you feel like you have a good friend in your kitchen helping and teaching you. It is written in the same chronological order as if you were attending a class taught by Rosemary and is broken up into four sections.

    In first section Rosemary’s enthusiasm and knowledge for herbs quickly becomes apparent as she gives an overview of what medicinal herbs are, how they are used, starting a home herb garden, and harvesting. The second section Rosemary uses her 35+ years of experience to teach readers how to successfully make their own herbal remedies. Rosemary covers everything from making herbal teas and syrups, to salves, tinctures, and pills. The third section is about nine herbs and spices that most people are familiar with when cooking (cinnamon, garlic, sage, basil, etc), however I most people probably don’t realize all the medicinal qualities in these cooking herbs. The last section teaches about twenty four herbs that are relatively common and used but beginners may not be as familiar with (St. Johns Wart, lavender, yarrow, calendula, etc). All thirty three herbs included are safe and effective, non toxic, and have few if any negative side effects and are great herbs for a beginner to start working with.

    For each herb, Rosemary includes a picture of either all or a portion of the plant, lists the botanical name (very important as there may be more than one species of plant with different medicinal qualities that goes by the same common name), a short introduction to the herb, a bit of information on how to grow it, a section on its medicinal uses, and then between two and five recipes that use that particular herb. Each recipe states what it is for, the ingredients, how to prepare it, and how to use it. The recipes are relatively simple, are easy to understand and follow.

    Because of this book we planted two elderberry bushes in our yard and I have sage, basil, and rosemary on our windowsill! I got some yarrow, calendula, and chamomile seeds that I’m going to plant in our garden in a few weeks. And I’m looking for some St. John’s Wart, peppermint, spearmint, Echinacea, lavender, lemon balm, and cayenne to plant!

    I received this book from to publisher to facilitate my review. However this did not affect my opinions

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Beautiful and informative, highly recommended!

    Full of color and photos, this is a great book for anyone wanting to learn about medicinal herbs like myself. I have now caught the medicinal herb bug and would want to see and learn more (this is just a beginners guide introducing 33 herbs), but for starters this is a great starting point. I'll look forward into seeing more of Rosemary's books in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    Informative

    I love this book. It gives many information in medicinal plants and the methods of preparing them. Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    I have a hard copy of this book and really like it. It is very

    I have a hard copy of this book and really like it. It is very informative and has lots of herbal recipes. This is a great book for beginners in herbal medicine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    I have this book in hardcopy and love it. I use the pictures an

    I have this book in hardcopy and love it. I use the pictures and the layout is great-it would be lost on the nook. This is a book that you will want to go "old school" with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1