Customer Reviews for

Rosemary and Rue (October Daye Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 222 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

ROSEMARY AND RUE is a winner in a sub-genre that has been butchered recently with zillions of imitations

In San Francisco private investigator Toby Daye is a half-breed part human and part fae. She avoids magic like it's the plague having spent fourteen years as a fish following an investigation that turned ugly. She refuses cases that have even a potential taint of magi...
In San Francisco private investigator Toby Daye is a half-breed part human and part fae. She avoids magic like it's the plague having spent fourteen years as a fish following an investigation that turned ugly. She refuses cases that have even a potential taint of magic.

However, in spite of her avoidance doctrine, a female elf in her dying last breath curses Toby who was in the wrong place at the wrong time. The elf's last wish is for Toby to uncover who murdered her; if she fails Toby will die quite painfully. With an incentive like that , Toby makes inquires that lead to magical and mundane assassination attempts. If she survives the attempts to kill her, she still has to survive the killing curse with her time running out or she will die anyway.

This is a super new urban noir fantasy that will remind readers of Cast A Deadly Spell though six decades later and just less than 400 miles to the north. The story line is fast-paced from the opening scene as readers meet the magic-phobic half-breed heroine who does not want to be tied in knots as the incredible Ms. Limpet and never slows down as she works a particularly nasty personalized case. ROSEMARY AND RUE is a winner in a sub-genre that has been butchered recently with zillions of imitations.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on July 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A total waste of time; pathetic at best

I had to force myself to finish this book after I bought it. It wasn't worth it. The characters are weak, the "heroine" totally unsympathetic, selfish, and whiney. It is slow in the beginning, slower in the middle, and slow at the end. The world she has created is total...
I had to force myself to finish this book after I bought it. It wasn't worth it. The characters are weak, the "heroine" totally unsympathetic, selfish, and whiney. It is slow in the beginning, slower in the middle, and slow at the end. The world she has created is totally unbelievable, even for an urban fantasy. The rules make absolutely no sense, and require not so much a suspension of disbelief as an ability to read while brain-dead.

SPOILER ALERT: For an example of how irritating this book is, consider this: you will wait 200 pages for something to happen. Seriously, out of a 300ish page book, 200 pages is October blindly wandering around and whining. Around page 200 she idiotically wanders into an ambush and is shot. She cleverly responds to this by almost dying, being rescued through no power of her own, and wandering off against all advice into ANOTHER ambush, getting shot AGAIN, and this time getting a friend killed in the process.

This is the kind of author that latched onto the urban fantasy craze, and litters the field with useless "tough-girl" heroines, barely thought-through worlds, and truly pathetic attempts at plot.

posted by Straysod on February 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    A total waste of time; pathetic at best

    I had to force myself to finish this book after I bought it. It wasn't worth it. The characters are weak, the "heroine" totally unsympathetic, selfish, and whiney. It is slow in the beginning, slower in the middle, and slow at the end. The world she has created is totally unbelievable, even for an urban fantasy. The rules make absolutely no sense, and require not so much a suspension of disbelief as an ability to read while brain-dead.

    SPOILER ALERT: For an example of how irritating this book is, consider this: you will wait 200 pages for something to happen. Seriously, out of a 300ish page book, 200 pages is October blindly wandering around and whining. Around page 200 she idiotically wanders into an ambush and is shot. She cleverly responds to this by almost dying, being rescued through no power of her own, and wandering off against all advice into ANOTHER ambush, getting shot AGAIN, and this time getting a friend killed in the process.

    This is the kind of author that latched onto the urban fantasy craze, and litters the field with useless "tough-girl" heroines, barely thought-through worlds, and truly pathetic attempts at plot.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ROSEMARY AND RUE is a winner in a sub-genre that has been butchered recently with zillions of imitations

    In San Francisco private investigator Toby Daye is a half-breed part human and part fae. She avoids magic like it's the plague having spent fourteen years as a fish following an investigation that turned ugly. She refuses cases that have even a potential taint of magic.

    However, in spite of her avoidance doctrine, a female elf in her dying last breath curses Toby who was in the wrong place at the wrong time. The elf's last wish is for Toby to uncover who murdered her; if she fails Toby will die quite painfully. With an incentive like that , Toby makes inquires that lead to magical and mundane assassination attempts. If she survives the attempts to kill her, she still has to survive the killing curse with her time running out or she will die anyway.

    This is a super new urban noir fantasy that will remind readers of Cast A Deadly Spell though six decades later and just less than 400 miles to the north. The story line is fast-paced from the opening scene as readers meet the magic-phobic half-breed heroine who does not want to be tied in knots as the incredible Ms. Limpet and never slows down as she works a particularly nasty personalized case. ROSEMARY AND RUE is a winner in a sub-genre that has been butchered recently with zillions of imitations.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    These Ain't Disney's Faeries!

    October Daye is a Dresden-esque heroine who wants to be anything but. She has catapulted Seanan McGuire to the top of my favorites (Marion Zimmer Bradley, Kristen Britain, and Jim Butcher). I was hesitant at first because the whole stuck-as-a-fish for multiple years, but while that gives depth to the character it does not overwhelm the book. The book quickly establishes action, mythology, courtly intrigue, and a vast array of characters while coating it all in a layer of sarcasm. McGuire also does a beautiful job of not losing you in the mythology while not giving everything away or over explaining. This series is a wonderful (in my opinion defining) addition to the faerie portion of urban fantasy!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    A surprising delight!

    I am a huge fan of Jim Butcher, he really got me into Urban Fantasy and I have trouble finding people who don't fall far short of him. This book was written well, the Protagonist was likably not perfect, she struggles to make it in a world where she doesn't have as much power as the creatures she works for and fights against and she succeeds, come Hell or high water. I read the first book and promptly bought the rest of the series. McGuire is going on my list of great writers. If you like her, check out Butcher as well as Patricia Briggs, Kim Harrison and Faith Hunter

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    Darn Good!

    I almost did not buy this because the back cover did not show a story line I thought would interest me. The ladies at my local bookstore know me by name (I am wondering just how much $ I spend on books.). They recommended it to me, knowing the type of books I read.

    I will be buying any subsequent books in this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    Not very original

    For experienced readers of urban fantasy, which is how this book seems to be classified, ROSEMARY AND RUE offers little that's new. Half-breed hero with weak powers, stubborn, short. Same old same old. Prose is too wordy and lots of it is easy to skip. I bought this book because I love the author's FEEDBACK and DEADLINE, but I won't buy any more of this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Great story

    October Daye was turned into a fish for 14 years, and has only recently resurfaced (no pun intended). She is a changeling, half fae, half human. She gets a call from an old pureblood friend who says that she needs her help, and puts a binding on her. When the friend is murdered, she is compelled to find the killer, or die trying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Great start to a really enjoyable series

    With a gripping beginning this paranormal/urban fantasy type mystery, tells a twisty story that delivers. I particularly enjoyed the complicated relationships and snapy (but not fake) dialogue. I immediately bought the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Excellent!

    McGuire weaves a story of ancient Fae and modern San Francisco with consumate skill. Readers will find themselves bound into reading just as October is bound into solving the crime.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Read

    I'm so thrilled I stumbled on this series, I've fallen in love. It has just the right amount of realism, fantasy, humor and drama to keep you on your toes to the end. Poor Toby has a hard life, some would say at times thankless. Through no fault of her own she goes missing only to return from a brush with oblivion to find her family has abandoned her. Trying to pull her life back together she's once again derailed by a friends murder and a binding promise, find who did it. But is that really all there is to the request? Hidden magic items of lore, betrayal, love triangles, assorted characters of all kinds, there are enough goodies in here to put your standard mystery romance to shame. And who doesn't love all the supernatural aspect? I was with her as she investigated each new twist, right up till the end I had no idea how it would play out. I'm officially hooked, can't wait to check the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A Promising Start

    I enjoyed this book overall but I do have a few issues with the story. I wish there had been more mystery solving on behalf of the P.I. It seemed like the author decided to throw in a "near death" action sequence instead of teasing out the clues to solve the case. If the protagonist is supposed to be a private investigator then she should be "investigating", yes? Also, October Daye's bad luck only creates so much drama before it becomes tedious. Having said that I found the cast of characters interesting and I enjoyed the world Seanan McGuire developed. I look forward to further development in the second book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book.

    Every time I thought this book might slow down, it just took off. What a storyline! This books is a great premise for a series to start with. But viewed as a standalone it is wonderful. I can't believe I waited this long to start this series. Seanan McGuire has a definite hit with October Daye. Don't miss her other series, the first book is Feed and written under the pseudonym Mira Grant.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Phenomenal Start to a New Dark Urban Fantasy Series!

    Since this book has been thoroughly reviewed, my review will be brief. I really enjoyed this book. There aren't many favorable urban fantasy books that involve the fae and cater to adults; thank the goddess, I can now add this book to my short list. This story is a unique and distinguishable contender among the vast urban fantasy genre. The world Seanan McGuire built is dark, dangerous and enchanting. The story was creative, well written and flowed nicely. There was plenty of action, mystery and magic and very little sex. October Daye is tough, brave and intelligent. I highly recommend this new series to dark urban fantasy readers and look forward to the next book in the series Local Habitation due out 3/2/2010.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful page turner!

    Rosemary and Rue is one of the best books I have had the pleasure of reading in awhile. Seanan McGuire gives us an easily believable world that quickly sucks the reader in, and delivers a great story that will have you marking your calendars in a countdown to the sequel. A must read for all fans of the fae genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Vivid And Engaging Investigative Urban Fantasy

    With imaginative portrayals of fae creatures, vivid descriptions of San Francisco and fantastic visualizations of local faerie courts and magic, this book spins a fascinating investigative tale told in the first person narrative of a hybrid (human/fae) changeling named Toby (October) Daye. After recovering from a spell which held her in the form of a clueless coy fish for fourteen years, Toby has foresworn her previous high risk career and actively avoids contact with former fae friends and associates, including her liege, Duke Sylvester Torquill. Unfortunately, one of those friends, Countess Evening Winterrose, is murdered and manages to curse Toby before she dies, via a recorded phone message, to discover her murderer on pain of death. The investigation leads Toby on a trail which is fraught with magic, deadly assaults by fae assassins and unforgettable fae encounters. The book has a brisk pace, is peppered by action sequences and reaches a satisfying climax. As regards the protagonist, (who was born in 1952 but retains the looks and health of a young adult), I occasionally became annoyed by her overly naive reactions and/or inexperience behavior. Nonetheless, Toby is personable and engaging throughout most of the book. I thoroughly enjoyed this story and am looking forward to the next October Daye novel. If you enjoy urban fantasy, magic and/or faeries, you can't go wrong with this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Brilliant, intricate, engaging, funny, sad, every bit as good as I'd heard.

    Seanan McGuire has opened up San Francisco to many new possibilities with the urban fantasy world and life of October "Toby" Daye, changeling and trouble-magnet. Never let it be said that Toby leads a boring life, unless you consider murder and interrealm intrigue dull.

    Tanya Huff wasn't lying when she compared this book to a hypothetical illicit love-child novel between herself and Jim Butcher. As with those two authors, I couldn't put Rosemary and Rue down until I'd turned the last page. Plot twists, well-placed artful and detailed descriptions, and the wry voice of Toby narrating her own story, comprise a riveting and engaging tale that is clearly just the beginning. This is the first step into a fae-touched San Francisco that is incredibly believable, and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

    Rosemary and Rue is a breath of spiky and eerily rose-scented fresh air into the urban fantasy genre, and I wait rather impatiently for March 2010 when the second novel, A Local Habitation, is published. Do purchase this book, as I suspect you or your loved ones may wish to read it many, many times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    One of my favorite series by far

    great series! keep them coming

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    Is this dawnclan?

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    RISING TO ALL

    Yes, this is dawnclan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    Yes. This is dawnclan

    ~ Crystal

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12