Customer Reviews for

Rosemary's Baby

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

AWSOME AWSOME BOOK!!

It was so good! it usally takes me forever to read a book but I read this one really fast i could Not put it down.Its not really scary it more suspensful!

posted by Anonymous on July 2, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

GOOD READ

I was anxious to read this book because of all the good reviews and the fact that I'm a horror genre junkie. This book wasn't quite what i was expecting. I found it very slow in the begining and it really didn't get interesting until the very last few chapters. Don't ge...
I was anxious to read this book because of all the good reviews and the fact that I'm a horror genre junkie. This book wasn't quite what i was expecting. I found it very slow in the begining and it really didn't get interesting until the very last few chapters. Don't get me wrong, it was a great read but definately not that suspenseful.

posted by TiffanyTrauth on October 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2004

    AWSOME AWSOME BOOK!!

    It was so good! it usally takes me forever to read a book but I read this one really fast i could Not put it down.Its not really scary it more suspensful!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    Pretty Decent

    If you've seen the movie then you've read the book. Seriously, they're practically identical. This is not meant as a slight against either, I enjoyed both. It's just the way it is.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    GOOD READ

    I was anxious to read this book because of all the good reviews and the fact that I'm a horror genre junkie. This book wasn't quite what i was expecting. I found it very slow in the begining and it really didn't get interesting until the very last few chapters. Don't get me wrong, it was a great read but definately not that suspenseful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2008

    Chilling

    Levin weaves a tale of mystery and suspense in this deeply disturbing novel that I highly reccomend. Levin's to-the-point and matter-of-fact way of writing creates a unique contrast to the deeply unsettling content of 'Rosemary's Baby.'

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2006

    Baby is more believable than Rosemary

    The book is suspenseful and good at points, but some of Rosemary's decisions are naive and not very believable especially as they occur in the dog eat dog world of new york city, which mars the overall force of the book. As if someone is going to wear a horrible smelling 'lucky charm' as a necklace, and drink some mystery herbal shake for months from some odd neighbors that live up stairs. Stuff like that. Actually the baby is more believable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2005

    Chilling

    Wow. I just read this book recently, and it scared me just as much as William Blatty's 'The Exorcist'. Some might find the idea of Devil's Spawn or the Anti-christ unbelievable, but the writing is very realistic and convincing. This is a disturbing and suspenseful read. A must-read for all horror fans!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2000

    The Making of the Movie

    If you loved the book and the movie and want to find out about the behind the scenes tragedies and troubles surrounding the movie Rosemary's Baby, check out John W. Law's Curse of the Silver Screen - Tragedy & Disaster Behind the Movies.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Great book!

    The story was excellent; I couldn't put it down! A must read for horror fans (e.g., The Omen style horror).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Levin & The New Yorker

    Reads like some of the most eccentric entries from The New Yorker. Much like Talk of the Town, the story slowly unravels from the pictaresque beginnings of a couple apartment hunting in NYC, to Rosemary's feminine hysteria manifested throughout her pregnancy.

    Ira Levin just knows how to craft the proper thriller, ending every chapter with reader left with the want of knowing what will happen next. Classic gothic horror that doesn't rely on cheap tricks to further the plot or tension. The occult topics are never overkilled.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2007

    simply outstanding

    I have to say, that its an interesting book and it should be read, for the type of people, who would like to read some good interesting suspense, the theme should be that to not trust anybody, even though they seem and act nice, but behind their background, you dont really know them as well as they know themselves. Clearly outstanding book, especially for fourteen year olds, ive been reading it, and its the most book that has caught my attention, and made me read like 20-30 pages per day. Its highly recommended.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    On the all-time favorite list

    I absolutely love this novel. I experienced it for the first time via audio book years ago and have gone back to read it several times since.......and I'm not typically a re-reader of novels. The story never gets old and I'm constantly drawn into the lives of Woodhouse family, particularly Rosemary's mental and physical demise. In my mind Levin is the quintessential horror writer in that he lets your mind fill in the details. He leaves out the gory and grisly details that plague most horror genres these days. Leaving more to the imagination is what makes this novel a favorite of mine. I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Good scare

    Easy read and keeps your attention. Movie is also a good one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Pray For Her

    This was very good. it was so good that i finished it in four days. Some parts are very frightning (when she explains the rituals of satinism)but over all it was fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Worth it.

    I began reading this because I was bored and decided to give it a try. I found the book interesting and full of detail. I enjoyed it and I'm glad I gave it a try. Now I have to watch the movie (I hear it's just like the book).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Creepy!

    Wonderfully written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Not that suspenseful

    Started reading this last night and finished it this morning. I just really really wanted to figure out what was going to happen, and it was nowhere near as suspenseful and shocking as I thought it would end up being. Still, it was a pretty good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is a really good book. The story-line is good and the characters are realistic. The situation is portrayed in a way that makes it seem like it could happen to anyone. It's a real achievement to make something so out-of-the-ordinary seem like a distinct possibility. It's also interesting because of some of the facets of the relationship between Guy and Rosemary and Rosemary's willingness to accept her child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2003

    Great read!

    This book is awesome. I finished the book in three days when normally it takes me a month or so. Once you pick it up, you can't put it down. Not terrifying but more haunting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2003

    Fascinating

    This story all comes together perfectly. Not exactly scary, but this book has no mistakes. No spelling mistakes, no typos (i. e. 'The Godfather'), no plot holes, and no plot mistakes. Perfect. I read it in a week and it usually takes me a long time to read a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2002

    A Fascinating and tremendously horrifying read

    The A modern tale of deviltry in 1960s New York City, based on where evil is as close as your new neighbors is absolutely chilling. It estranged itself from the blood and gore of most ordinary horror stories and revolved around mounting tension, surrounding a blissful wife unsure about her pregnancy, and is face-to-face with good and evil at the stories shocking ending. A terrifying and gaudy book, a classic in the horror literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3