BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Roses

Average Rating 4
( 444 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(233)

4 Star

(93)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

If I offer you a red rose...

I won this in a Goodreads giveaway. Imagine my surprise when I received a 600 paged hardcover with a lovely cover.
This book surpassed my expectations. I enjoyed the characters, and soaked up the drama. I am forever a fan of family sagas, and this was a good once. I c...
I won this in a Goodreads giveaway. Imagine my surprise when I received a 600 paged hardcover with a lovely cover.
This book surpassed my expectations. I enjoyed the characters, and soaked up the drama. I am forever a fan of family sagas, and this was a good once. I connected with Mary's and Percy's stories more than Rachels. The book just seemed to repeat plot elements over again once it got to the end. Sometimes the pacing would be off, as is the problem with larger books. It would be very detailed in some parts, and it would mention other events in passing.
Overall, a very enjoyable novel. Entertaining and time-consuming.

posted by Awesomeness1 on January 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Review of Roses

I pretty much devoured this book. With that said, there were a few things about it that disappointed me, but overall it was incredibly easy to read, very easy to follow and heart-breaking .. but not heart-warming as I had hoped it be.

This is meant to be a sweeping ...
I pretty much devoured this book. With that said, there were a few things about it that disappointed me, but overall it was incredibly easy to read, very easy to follow and heart-breaking .. but not heart-warming as I had hoped it be.

This is meant to be a sweeping story a la to Gone with the Wind about families in Texas and their plantations and businesses. There's broken romance, a secret offered at the start that will keep you reading, and some terribly twisted happenings.

I loved Mary and Percy and Ollie. I adored these characters and could picture them easily. I loved Mary for her determination, loved Percy for his class and loved Ollie because..well.. he was loveable. A few other characters really spoke to me as well, Wyatt being one. But there were characters I really just did not connect with. I had a hard time feeling anything for Rachel and Matt, as much as I longed to. Instead, I found myself wishing they were both more like Percy and Mary instead of being.. well, annoying.

The ending left me unsatisfied. Recently I've been stumbling across books that feel like they are just sort of haphazardly thrown together for an ending, as if the author thought, all of the sudden, "oh, I've passed my limit". That was my biggest complaint about this book. I felt as if reading 600ish pages was enough to merit me a more satisfactory ending and not a cop-out. But, alas, that's how it felt to me.

Not Gone with the Wind caliber by any means, but still an entertaining enough read.

posted by Benz1966 on March 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 446 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If I offer you a red rose...

    I won this in a Goodreads giveaway. Imagine my surprise when I received a 600 paged hardcover with a lovely cover.
    This book surpassed my expectations. I enjoyed the characters, and soaked up the drama. I am forever a fan of family sagas, and this was a good once. I connected with Mary's and Percy's stories more than Rachels. The book just seemed to repeat plot elements over again once it got to the end. Sometimes the pacing would be off, as is the problem with larger books. It would be very detailed in some parts, and it would mention other events in passing.
    Overall, a very enjoyable novel. Entertaining and time-consuming.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A SWEEPING, MULTI-GENERATIONAL SAGA...

    This is a huge book, a grand, sweeping multi-generational family saga, love, loyalty, inheritance, beginning in the 1800's, set in Texas. This is a completely engrossing novel of three powerful families with immense wealth and property, (the original settlers), and are greatly respected in town and that will transport the reader to another world, another place, another time. The secrets of these families are revealed in a convincing manner and there's plenty of suspense along the way. There is Mary Tolliver DuMont, Texas cotton farmer and heir to the Tolliver "curse". The reader is given a brief glimpse into the past and at the family mysteries which will be expanded upon throughout. Mary's family and friends are introduced and the reader learns the significance of red, white, and pink roses in the lives of the characters throughout the generations, hence "ROSES". There are unintended consequences of Mary's inheriting the family cotton farm that carry the storyline through. Percy and Mary, the ill-fated lovers, remain faithful to their respective spouses. Unrequited love is always so powerful! I was captivated by the storyline and the suspense until the last page, and I was never tempted to put the book down and not finish it. Keep tissues handy!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Review of Roses

    I pretty much devoured this book. With that said, there were a few things about it that disappointed me, but overall it was incredibly easy to read, very easy to follow and heart-breaking .. but not heart-warming as I had hoped it be.

    This is meant to be a sweeping story a la to Gone with the Wind about families in Texas and their plantations and businesses. There's broken romance, a secret offered at the start that will keep you reading, and some terribly twisted happenings.

    I loved Mary and Percy and Ollie. I adored these characters and could picture them easily. I loved Mary for her determination, loved Percy for his class and loved Ollie because..well.. he was loveable. A few other characters really spoke to me as well, Wyatt being one. But there were characters I really just did not connect with. I had a hard time feeling anything for Rachel and Matt, as much as I longed to. Instead, I found myself wishing they were both more like Percy and Mary instead of being.. well, annoying.

    The ending left me unsatisfied. Recently I've been stumbling across books that feel like they are just sort of haphazardly thrown together for an ending, as if the author thought, all of the sudden, "oh, I've passed my limit". That was my biggest complaint about this book. I felt as if reading 600ish pages was enough to merit me a more satisfactory ending and not a cop-out. But, alas, that's how it felt to me.

    Not Gone with the Wind caliber by any means, but still an entertaining enough read.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Fantastic read

    This is a three generational epic that captures the reader and when the last page is read, "I say, I am sorry I finished the book. I wish there was a volume 2." I recommend this book to all who like reading about love, families, small town life and values. It is exciting, emotional and sad. But worth the read.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    I grew up in east Texas so I thought I would give this book a try. And the comments that this was similar to Gone with the Wind peaked my interests. The beginning was a little slow and sometimes confusing with so many characters at once, but I kept on ready and I am so glad I did. Once it gets flowing I was hooked. The push and pull relationship between Mary and Percy pulled at my heartstrings and I really felt their struggles. The pain and anger that was in Mary's household was really well told. Like you were there feeling their pain. I related to this book on several levels and with several topics. I will recommend this book to all my friends!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Roses

    This book reminded me of a cross between Gone with the wind and the Thorn Birds. I loved the fact that it was an Epic novel. You don't find too many of those nowadays. I would highly recommend this book. It had a little bit of everything love, war, betrayal and redemption.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    Great read!

    Just finished this book, only took me 5 days. It was a long read and honestly at times it did drag on especially near the end but it nevered swayed from the main storyline. I loved this book! Its a good love story taking you through 80-90 some odd years of a group of friends that went through war, deaths, and broken hearts. Explains why the main character doesn't end up with the love of her life. At first when looking at the title/cover I thought it was about roses (obviously). It does play an important part in the book but thats not what the main storyline is. Kind of has a Gone with the Wind feel to it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    What a gorgeous book cover!

    This is another book about the South, cotton plantation, a Texas Family saga about sacrifice, pride, secrets, tragedies, alcoholism, suicide, passion, revenge and about what COULD HAVE BEEN. There's a lot of drama and emotional pulls, all to keep you sitting on the edge of your seat. I really enjoyed it! I also reccommend THE FORGOTTEN GARDEN, EXPLOSION IN PARIS and THE GLASS CASTLE.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    One of my all time favorite books--JUST OUTSTANDING!!!!!

    I don't understand how anybody could not like this novel. Yes, it was long, however I found it a very hard book to put down. I absolutely felt like one of the characters...I was transported back into time. Mary made me angry, yet I understood why she felt the way she did. I could feel Percy's pain. I admired Ollie and the life he led. What an outstanding storyline. Many times upon reading a novel, I can imagine how it would play out on the theatrical screen--I feel this one will actually make it to the screen--it reminded me so very much of Gone With the Wind....I laughed and I cried. JUST OUTSTANDING!!!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    An Enduring Love...

    In the rich tradition of fictional Southern authors ( Frank, Conroy, Siddons), the reader often can envision a strong sense of pride; a richness in Southern culture; a kind of tenacity of spirit among the characters. Leila Meacham's ROSES conveys a similar message to its reader.

    Meacham's protagonist, Mary Toliver, is spirited, opinionated, but a fiercely loyal Texas plantation owner; a deeply passionate woman. Mary conveys the quandary that many women are faced with, often in their lives : Will I be truly accepted and loved if I remain authentic, in my desires and dreams? More importantly, ROSES is a love story; one that keeps the reader emotionally riveted throughout the book, asking oneself, if the love between Mary Toliver and Percy Warwick will be an enduring love. The other characters in this book are wonderfully likeable, proud Southern business men and women, yet flawed. Maintaining family legacy is a vital component in the book.

    ROSES is a deeply engrossing book, one that a reader could curl up in an easy chair, and get lost in for days!

    Submitted by, ForeverCurious01

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Roses to Leila Meacham!

    As Director of our local Public Library, I preview most books before putting them out for public reading. This novel was not disappointing. At first it seemed a bit formidable with the 600+ pages, but I didn't miss any of them. Often I "skim read" books that lose my interest, but not this one. I had trouble putting it down until I had finished it. Someone had likened it to Gone With The Wind and I agree. It is a Texas Gone With The Wind.
    Five stars on the whole book. I can hardly wait for a sequel, but hope we don't have to wait another five years, such as this took for the author to write.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    A thoroughly enjoyable, engaging read!

    Although this novel is over 500 pages I read it very easily. Ms Meacham engages the reader with her interesting characters. The families at the center of Roses are the Tollivers, the Dumonts and the Warwicks. Mary Tolliver is a grand woman who loves her plantation. Though she is young when her father dies, he leaves the plantatation to her in his will, effectively cutting out her mother and leaving a minor property to her brother. This presents many problems for Mary to overcome, especially since her mother "took to her room" and her brother escaped to Paris. Throughout her life Mary struggles to make the cotton plantation successful.

    Mary has a romantic relationship for which she has high hopes, but because of her love for Somerset (the plantation) she puts all else in second place and is not willing to meet her suitor's demands of giving it up when he makes these demands as part of his proposal. As a result of circumstances that arise, Mary marries another.

    This tale covers three generations of the families who moved from the east and settled in Texas, establishing the town of Howbutker. Ms Meacham develops her characters very well, helping the reader to feel for them and understand their reactions. I read Roses with high interest and enjoyed it immensely. I don't want to say any more about the story line, because I don't want to give too much away. Needless to say, I truly feel it is an outstanding tale. I have recommended it to our book club and would highly recommend it to others.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2010

    Disappointed - Liked the book but didn't love it.

    I read a critic's review before I bought this book and it compared it with Margaret Mitchell's "Gone With The Wind." When I read this I had to have Roses because that's the type of book that's right up my alley. All I can say is I don't think that critic actually read GWTW. There is absolutely no similarity in these two books. Mitchell was a masterful author who developed original characters and plot lines and Roses was basically a cheap beach read at best. Meachem employed every creap trick and cliche in the book. Boy meets girl, they don't see eye to eye, he goes off in a huff, she finds out she's pregnant. He doesn't come back so she marries his best friend. Orignal boy comes to senses and comes back to girl to find she just left for honeymoon day before he arrives back home? Come on Leila darling. And that's only the first part of the book. Cliches abound til the very end. Again, fun beach read, but no masterpiece like GWTW. I think Meachem should focus writing shorter, better crafted stories rather than long predictable ones.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    Best book I've read in a while

    I stumbled upon this book and bought it because of the multi-generational aspect which always gives depth to a book. I fell in love with the story from the very beginning. The plot was presented in an intriguing fashion. The characters were very well developed and the story was presented in a unique fashion. I was very impressed by the author. I kept wondering how she came up with such an interesting story. The constant twists, turns and surprise events kept me enthralled. Every page was interesting. There was no fluff here, no empty, wasted words. For me, this book had everything and I think it could/should be a best seller. There was so much to the story and the characters that the author could have separated it into two books. I have recommended this book to anyone who would listen - that is how much I enjoyed it! I will definately give this book as a gift to many people - no matter the occasion, I am sure it will be well received. Read it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Family History

    Llia Meacham writes like Barbara Taylor Bradford which is an extreme high complement as it is the type of story she writes
    It is a saga of a family and it gets you from page one it is hard to put down and when you are done you wonder when the sequel will come
    It has love, sadness, secrets and passion and intertwines three different families from the original owners to the great grand children and there lives and secrets that have been kept and ruined families and how tragedy and lies become discovered and how the different families cope with them and how much is given up to keep secrets
    A great first book hope she has a follow up in mind

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved Gone With the Wind? "Roses" is the book for you!

    As a native Texan and a lover of great stories, I was taken with "Roses" from the first chapter, set in the fictional town of Howbutker, Texas in the summer of 1985. The story begins with Leila Meacham's protagonist, Mary Toliver, paying a final visit to her trusted lawyer and family friend to deliver the unexpected news that in the final days of her life, she's decided to redirect her will and the fate of her sweeping cotton empire, passed down from her forbears for generations.

    And so begins this sweeping Texas tale, which takes the reader on an emotional journey that follows three iconic families through three wars, the Great Depression, desperate love affairs, tragic deaths, and the love -- and revenge -- only a family can know.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    Best book ever!!

    I thought that this book was wonderful!! I could not put it down; I read it in 6 days! I would defiantly recommend this book other people and I already have. I really hope there is a sequel or I would love to see this in a movie, I have never been able to not put a book down and this was a first! I loved the setting, the characters, and the plot. PLEASE MAKE A MOVIE OUT OF THIS!!!! :)

    I was also very hesitant to buy the book b/c it was a hardcover and more pricey but it was well worth it because I defiantly plan on reading it again someday!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good Read

    it has been a while since I have a read a book that I did not want to end due to being wrapped up with the characters lives and their general likability - this book has it - so get it and enjoy your time with them

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Southern True Love Saga

    Incredible tale of several families woven together in a small Texas town. Each character's actions affecting those around them and those that come after them. A must read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Great Read!!

    This book was fantastic!! The whole story was engrossing, I couldn't wait to see what happened next. I felt everything the characters felt. Some of it was a little predictable, but not so much that I wasn't a little surprised.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 446 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23