Customer Reviews for

Roses Are Red (Alex Cross Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 375 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(215)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Speechless

James Patterson threw a curve ball. I was not expecting how it ended. A must read.

posted by Cmchampion on April 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Recommended

The Alex Cross stories are always interesting and enjoyable reading.
BUT, Mr. P. should find a new approach to the basic framework of his
literary creations. I'm tired of finding the same Alew shadow in each plot.That is, Alex gets big case, Alex gets new girlfriend,...
The Alex Cross stories are always interesting and enjoyable reading.
BUT, Mr. P. should find a new approach to the basic framework of his
literary creations. I'm tired of finding the same Alew shadow in each plot.That is, Alex gets big case, Alex gets new girlfriend, girlfriend gets bumped off, alex solves case and goes back to Nana and the kids. Let Alex grow out of the slump he seems to in....

posted by detective3 on October 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 378 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    HR

    GB

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    Response to 'zero stars'

    You asked 'what up with the last review?' My review I suppose. If you look at Taylor 92's review she was wondering what the race of Agent Betsy Cavalierre was as they never mentioned it in her description. I was pointing out where they seemed to be hinting at it. I am looking back at some of the book reviews like this one (Roses). I just finished 'Cross' and it is a good one in my opinion. Keep reading so you get to it. I hope you like it as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    id like to give this book zero stars

    it was teerrribly awsome!!! you know when at some parts it was really good and other parts it was terrible!!! and what up with the last review?!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Got me!

    I started the Cross series in December and am reading them in order. Just finished Roses. I agree with most that it was a page-turner! I felt for the last few books that the person who is the Mastermind was going to be revealed as the bad guy (especially at the beach in Kiss the Girls) but since we already had a Mastermind I was really surprised. He has lots of money to get away and continue his villanous ways. Did he leave DNA when he raped Justine? Did he just snap? Can't wait to find out. The good thing about reading the series late is that I don't have to wait for Violets. To Taylor92: I think Betsey's race is not African American because at the Four Seasons Alex made the comment that they got some stares but not too many because it was a sophisticated crowd.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    Another hit!

    Alex Cross Series are a hit and the suspense and twists and turns will keep you loving his work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Best One Yet

    I've been reading the Alex Cross series in order and am FLYING through them. Can not believe it took me this long to start reading Patterson's books - this is just a great series. Roses are Red is the best of the bunch so far and the ending is WOW. Leads me right to Violets are Blue. I enjoyed this one so much I can't even think about taking a break to read another author for a book or two.

    Patterson has so many side plots going on in this book in Alex's life, but the main story is about as strong as a writer can get. The bad guy this time? There are actually a few - and they rank among the worst ever. Thankfully, we have not seen the last of the Mastermind!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    Great Book

    This book was great! I was a little upset with the ending of Pop Goes The Weasle, there was too much suspence so the short ending was a let down. But this book is nothing like the last. Very interesting and exciting throughout. The only question I had was the race of Agent Betsy Cavalierre, her description did not include this. Anyone know?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    You can't beat Alex Cross, literally.

    I've read most of the Alex Cross Series by James Patterson. Although Jack and Jill was my favorite, this novel was excellent. As usual, there is excellent depth of character (Alex and Nana, for example) which can actually make you care for the characters. The plot is original, somewhat off beat, thrilling and carefully thought out with a few twists here and there. I also love his writing style. His writing style and short chapters make his novels an easy read. You will also want to read the sequel, Violets are Blue. Patterson has never disappointed me with this Women's Murder Club Series either. I highly recommend 1st to Die. The Quickie and Swimsuit were also excellent novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    An Alex Cross Series Must Read

    This novel really puts Alex Cross through a variety of emotional traumas, endearing his character to the reader even more than in previous books. The treachery and deception of people Alex trusts, puts his faith in mankind to the test. The reader cannot help but feel involved with Alex as so many of us have felt these same emotions while trying to keep our lives together. This is definitely a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    The Obsession To Kill!!

    I really don't like to read, but James Patterson's books are really good. The mastermind loves to kill and he would kill for anything he wants. I think he has an obsession with death. How could you kill the people you hire to kill by poisoning them and then watch them choke to death? I could never imagine myself killing anyone.I wonder how I would live with myself. I pray everyday that I never come across a psychopath like him. I just wonder what goes through his sick little mind when he's killing innocent people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    The Killer With No Remorse!!!!!!!!!

    I love James Patterson's book. It is the craziest book I've ever read. Can you believe that there's a mastermind out there that's actually killing families and even little babies? There's a detective named Kyle and he seems a little strange to me.I start to question myself is he the mastermind behind all of this? Whoever this mastermind is he doesn't seem to care about nobody but himself. He robs banks, kills people, poisons people, and even has raped a woman. This book is just insane. This is a fast-paced read.If you need a book that keeps flowing definitely read this one!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    Stands out

    For me, this James Patterson novel stands out--maybe because it was my first. I've since read four more of them, but as you know, they just keep coming. His writing is tight and suspenseful and full of twists and turns. Can't go wrong with any of his plots and his Alex Cross character is one of the best ever created.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2008

    This book got me hooked....

    This is the first James Patterson book I had ever read. I loved Roses Are Red and I have almost read the whole Cross series, I am just one away.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    Could he be the Mastermind?

    This is the on-going question of Alex Cross a little TOO on-going. I really like James Patterson. I've gone back to read the earlier series from the late 90's to early 2000's. I like that he carries on the stories in this series, but that constant question just has to go.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2007

    One of Patterson's Best!!!

    this book got me into reading as much as I do, and now I read pretty much only Patterson books. As much as I love this book, Along came the Spider has to be my favorite Alex Cross book so far. I've only read about half of them now, but still, this book is a good place to start. I specifically loved how the Mastermind was always so brilliant, and how it all unfolds in Violets are Blue.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2006

    Makes no sense when the time is considered

    In Roses are Red, Alex is the child of Christine who is never mentioned in Cross, instead there is Maria. Jannie was in the hospital and much older than in Roses in 2002. The time sequence drives you crazy as you read characters who were developed and even killed off earlier (Betsey is mentioned as an aspiring agent). The plot is shallow and goes from murder to murder. I am done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2001

    What a disapointment?????

    Well let me start off by saying I am a huge Patterson fan. I have read almost all of his books, and now including Roses are Red. The book all in all is written very well; infact very typical work of Patterson. What disturbes me is how this book ends. If you have read the four previous Alex Cross novels you would know what I mean once you have read Roses Are Red. Of the more important characters from the series does a complete 360. And this is totally inconsistant with the other novels. Im sorry, I thought this book had great potential(that is until the end)...But Patterson needs to find a better editor. I hope his new release in November isnt as disappointing....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    This is the ThornClan camp.

    Yep. The leader is Maystar, we are looking for deputy and medcat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Mr. Patterson doesn't describe his characters right away. I had

    Mr. Patterson doesn't describe his characters right away. I had to read the book for awhile before I could figure out what everyone looked like. I like to know what each person looks like. Finally, I find out that Alex Cross looks like Muhammad Ali. The characters aren't deeply developed because at any point in time one of the good guys could turn out to be the bad guy. There aren't clues to hint to the twists in plot. Does Mr. Patterson pick the bad guys at random? It seems like it to me. And the biggest clue for Alex Cross was a picture that we never got to see. If we were watching TV, then we would have seen the picture and known right away who was the real mastermind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Surprise Ending

    Another great Alex Cross novel. Must read the next book ASAP because of the revelation at the end of the book. Recommend that you read the books in the order written. Great Series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 378 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19