Customer Reviews for

Roses Are Red (Alex Cross Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 378 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(216)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Speechless

James Patterson threw a curve ball. I was not expecting how it ended. A must read.

posted by Cmchampion on April 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Recommended

The Alex Cross stories are always interesting and enjoyable reading.
BUT, Mr. P. should find a new approach to the basic framework of his
literary creations. I'm tired of finding the same Alew shadow in each plot.That is, Alex gets big case, Alex gets new girlfriend,...
The Alex Cross stories are always interesting and enjoyable reading.
BUT, Mr. P. should find a new approach to the basic framework of his
literary creations. I'm tired of finding the same Alew shadow in each plot.That is, Alex gets big case, Alex gets new girlfriend, girlfriend gets bumped off, alex solves case and goes back to Nana and the kids. Let Alex grow out of the slump he seems to in....

posted by detective3 on October 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    This book is a must read in the Alex Cross series of books! I'm a big James Patterson Fan and truly enjoyed this one. Couldn't put this one down. If you like suspense and murder mysteries from beginning to end, this is the one to read and trust me, you may have to choose another title in order to find out if they catch up with the killer from this book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Better

    This was a much better story with better twists than the last couple. Still a little predictable, but good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    GREAT BOOK! i recomened yo0u read this book :)

    Roses are Red by James Patterson was an amazing mystery/thriller series. James has done an amazing job creating this book, with great details that don't leave you confused. He is also a great writer of nonfiction and romance novels. The character "Alex Cross" is what he is most known for in his stories and Roses are Red was by far the best book he is involved in. In the book Alex is a detective that is trying to find a mysterious master mind who committed three murders and bank robberies. I was shocked to figure out who the master mind was because I never saw it coming. I thought this book was very interesting and kept me guessing the whole through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    Response to 'zero stars'

    You asked 'what up with the last review?' My review I suppose. If you look at Taylor 92's review she was wondering what the race of Agent Betsy Cavalierre was as they never mentioned it in her description. I was pointing out where they seemed to be hinting at it. I am looking back at some of the book reviews like this one (Roses). I just finished 'Cross' and it is a good one in my opinion. Keep reading so you get to it. I hope you like it as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    Great Book

    This book was great! I was a little upset with the ending of Pop Goes The Weasle, there was too much suspence so the short ending was a let down. But this book is nothing like the last. Very interesting and exciting throughout. The only question I had was the race of Agent Betsy Cavalierre, her description did not include this. Anyone know?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    You can't beat Alex Cross, literally.

    I've read most of the Alex Cross Series by James Patterson. Although Jack and Jill was my favorite, this novel was excellent. As usual, there is excellent depth of character (Alex and Nana, for example) which can actually make you care for the characters. The plot is original, somewhat off beat, thrilling and carefully thought out with a few twists here and there. I also love his writing style. His writing style and short chapters make his novels an easy read. You will also want to read the sequel, Violets are Blue. Patterson has never disappointed me with this Women's Murder Club Series either. I highly recommend 1st to Die. The Quickie and Swimsuit were also excellent novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    Could he be the Mastermind?

    This is the on-going question of Alex Cross a little TOO on-going. I really like James Patterson. I've gone back to read the earlier series from the late 90's to early 2000's. I like that he carries on the stories in this series, but that constant question just has to go.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Pop

    Very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2006

    My first Patterson

    When our book club picked this (along with the Oprah pick `Night¿ and the totally off-the-wall `Katzenjammer¿ by J.T. McCrae), we all just rolled our eyes. What a list?!? But, for some reason, it all worked. Each book is/was totally different and we loved each and every one for what it was. Granted, we had to switch gears for each novel, but it was well worth it. The Patterson was the easier of the lot, with really short chapters and a plot that buzzed along. This was my first James Patterson novel and I plan to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    Mind Games

    Roses Are Red is a great book to get your mind jogging. The twists and turns the plot takes are crazy and will sometimes catch you off gaurd. You have to be paying real close attention to whats going on to be able to follow along. The book deals with the famous Alex Cross and his family, along with his new love intrest, Betsy Cavalierre and his other fellow employees. The wild deaths and murders take your mind to a different level of thinking and understanding. Patterson gets into the criminal mind and you discover what psychotic things a 'mastermind' can think up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2003

    Roses Are Red

    Roses are Red was not one of my favorite suspense stories. However, I found the writing style clear & concise but towards the conclusion I felt exhausted. But hey, I got the point that Patterson wishes to keep you in suspense with late night finger turning. Nonetheless, Patterson¿s suspense moves are fabulous. Perhaps, I¿ll just try another suspense story because the writing is easy to follow along.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2003

    Simply Irresistable

    This book is simply irresistable. I found myself taking the book with me literally everywhere I went and I finished it in one day. I recommend this book to everyone and I am now 200 pages shy of completing Violet Are Blue. Just awesome!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2003

    Amazing (but could have been better)

    This book, an amazingly suprising page-turner, kept me on the edge of my seat perpetually. Patterson literally didn't run out of plot twists and suprises until you ran out of pages. The ending shocked me, although it was a bit lacking and disconnected. This was the only part of the book which disapointed me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2003

    Another Patterson Hit

    As usual Patterson knows how to keep one reading till the book is done. I found myself on edge once again by Patterson, by the third chapter you could tell this was his writing, yet for those who are not used to Patterson , they might be confused with the charactors. The end well....the usual James Patterson twist I love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2002

    Nice

    It's the first J.Patterson book I've read but it seems like I'll be reading more. It was really good and i could hardly put it down next i plan to read Violets are Blue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2002

    Damn you !!!!James Patterson

    Sleepless nights, anxious moments, all to the bitter end, that what I got from reading this book. Great stuff! Now I have to wait for the continuation (Violet are Blue). Those that have not read a J. Patterson book, is in for a treat. (then you will be hook like me).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2002

    Patterson leades us on a twisted path again!

    Ok, I'm not a person to just pick up a book and read but since I discoverd James Patterson, I just can't stop. I use to be like every other high school student and fudge my book reports but every since I picked up '1st to die', I just can't stop reading Patterson's books! The short chapters makes it easy for me to read during a boaring part of class or time between periods. I can garenteed that once you pick up one of his books, you will find them just as addicting as chocolate!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2002

    Wow

    This book was truely fascinating. Although I haven't read any other of Patterson's books, I am sure that if they are as good as 'Roses are Red', then they are a total success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2002

    Another smash hit for Patterson

    Patterson had me going down rabbit trails. Twists & turns, I was on a roller coaster, what a ride. He had me totally stumped. Very exciting tale of suspense. Violets are Blue, which is my next book, has got to be a another hit!!!! Roses are Red is a Must Read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2001

    Hard to believe!!!

    I am a huge Patterson fan but the end is a little hard to believe. Who would have guessed him, not by his track record. Anyway it was a suprise not a great suprise but I will sure read Violets Are Blue. The book is great until the end hits. It makes you want to know more, read on !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4