Customer Reviews for

Roses Are Red (Alex Cross Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 379 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(216)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Speechless

James Patterson threw a curve ball. I was not expecting how it ended. A must read.

posted by Cmchampion on April 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Recommended

The Alex Cross stories are always interesting and enjoyable reading.
BUT, Mr. P. should find a new approach to the basic framework of his
literary creations. I'm tired of finding the same Alew shadow in each plot.That is, Alex gets big case, Alex gets new girlfriend,...
The Alex Cross stories are always interesting and enjoyable reading.
BUT, Mr. P. should find a new approach to the basic framework of his
literary creations. I'm tired of finding the same Alew shadow in each plot.That is, Alex gets big case, Alex gets new girlfriend, girlfriend gets bumped off, alex solves case and goes back to Nana and the kids. Let Alex grow out of the slump he seems to in....

posted by detective3 on October 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 216 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    An Alex Cross Series Must Read

    This novel really puts Alex Cross through a variety of emotional traumas, endearing his character to the reader even more than in previous books. The treachery and deception of people Alex trusts, puts his faith in mankind to the test. The reader cannot help but feel involved with Alex as so many of us have felt these same emotions while trying to keep our lives together. This is definitely a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    The Obsession To Kill!!

    I really don't like to read, but James Patterson's books are really good. The mastermind loves to kill and he would kill for anything he wants. I think he has an obsession with death. How could you kill the people you hire to kill by poisoning them and then watch them choke to death? I could never imagine myself killing anyone.I wonder how I would live with myself. I pray everyday that I never come across a psychopath like him. I just wonder what goes through his sick little mind when he's killing innocent people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    The Killer With No Remorse!!!!!!!!!

    I love James Patterson's book. It is the craziest book I've ever read. Can you believe that there's a mastermind out there that's actually killing families and even little babies? There's a detective named Kyle and he seems a little strange to me.I start to question myself is he the mastermind behind all of this? Whoever this mastermind is he doesn't seem to care about nobody but himself. He robs banks, kills people, poisons people, and even has raped a woman. This book is just insane. This is a fast-paced read.If you need a book that keeps flowing definitely read this one!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    Stands out

    For me, this James Patterson novel stands out--maybe because it was my first. I've since read four more of them, but as you know, they just keep coming. His writing is tight and suspenseful and full of twists and turns. Can't go wrong with any of his plots and his Alex Cross character is one of the best ever created.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2008

    This book got me hooked....

    This is the first James Patterson book I had ever read. I loved Roses Are Red and I have almost read the whole Cross series, I am just one away.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2007

    One of Patterson's Best!!!

    this book got me into reading as much as I do, and now I read pretty much only Patterson books. As much as I love this book, Along came the Spider has to be my favorite Alex Cross book so far. I've only read about half of them now, but still, this book is a good place to start. I specifically loved how the Mastermind was always so brilliant, and how it all unfolds in Violets are Blue.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2015

    Yj

    Bh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Surprise Ending

    Another great Alex Cross novel. Must read the next book ASAP because of the revelation at the end of the book. Recommend that you read the books in the order written. Great Series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Bw

    Lol..i meant res2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    GREAT READ AS ALWAYS.....

    With the ending to this book Im starting the next book NOW!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    roses are red

    not a bad book, been a little slow on reading laetly, but it's really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Elder den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Best series ever

    Must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Izzy

    Hey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Bjorn

    Hey joanna you on?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Johnna

    Umm bjorn? Wat did you need?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2006

    An Excellent Mystery.

    This story was a wonderful, suspenseful read. I enjoyed it alot. James Patterson has done a tremendous work. So I give it 2 thumbs up. I'm loving Alex Cross more & more. Next would be to 'Violets are Blue'. I can't wait to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2006

    BEST ENDING YET

    Roses Are Red is one of James Pattersons best books. The ending is amazing. But if u never read a Alex Cross novel then I would read one or two of Alex Cross novels before this one. Then you would see why the ending to this book is great.So if You are looking for a roller coster ride read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2006

    Breath taking

    Roses are Red was the first book I read by Patterson. Every chapter is three pages long and so much happens within the three pages The book was so suspenseful. Patterson is the true Mastermind of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2005

    Excellent

    What people need to keep in mind is that the Alex Cross Novels are like TV episodes. One book begins where the other left off. If one is to read the Alex Cross Novels in order, every book and their characters would make more sense. I loved this book! The suspense, the villian and the detail were awesome! It was awesome like his others! Can't wait to read more! I read Violets are Blue before Roses Are Red (shame, shame), because then I found out who the Mastermind was. I couldn't believe it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 216 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11