Customer Reviews for

The Rosetta Key (Ethan Gage Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Rosetta Key

    I liked this book because of the pacing of the story, different twist to each page. Reminds me of Raiders of the Lost Ark. An action hero thats not to smart but smart enough to stay alive. When I finished this book I went searching for other titles by William Dietrich.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a terrific historical thriller

    In 1799 he was fortunate to survive the evil of NAPOLEON'S PYRAMIDS thanks to a hot air balloon ride across the Sahara but now expatriate Ethan Gage is in danger again in the Holy Land as Napoleon¿s army march towards Jerusalem. Gage and Bonaparte had gotten into a dispute over the Great Pyramid power leading to the French dictator proclaiming him an enemy of the state.------------------ Napoleon's followers Count Alessandro Silano and his aide Pierre Najac declare Gage a dangerous traitor to France placing a price for his head. Knowing the peril he faces, Gage fears more for his former lover Astiza as a pawn if the lethal sorcerer Silano captures her. Thus he rushes to Jerusalem to keep her safe, which fits with his other quest perfectly as he follows clues in search of the revered legendary Book of Thoth, an ancient tome that allegedly knows the magical underlying secrets of the universe. ----------------- Using real persona, sites and events (not just Napoleon), William Dietrich writes a terrific historical thriller starring a late eighteenth century Hans Solo impish rogue. The story line is fast-paced but also brings alive the Holy Land. This is one series worth reading as Mr. Dietrich provides THE ROSETTA KEY to how Napoleon consolidated his power.--------- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2008

    A historical romp!

    Ethan Gage may become one of the great American fictional adventurers. Napoleon Bonaparte invades the Holy Land, Ethan Gage searches for a lost book of wisdom, and all sorts of chaos ensues. This is a fun, exciting blast of historical fiction, but the setting, the battles, the history is all true.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    Good adventure

    Exciting Adventure with interesting history incorporated. A little too reliance on things will happen because of destiny. Not sure the ending is realistic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Good book

    This was a good book, with a quick paced story line, following directly off from Napoleon's Pyramids. It was a very quick read and I strongly recommend it to anyone who likes the series thus far. It more deserves a four and a half, or maybe four and three quarters, but the only other choice is five, so I'm going to stay with four stars, but that doesn't mean it doesn't deserve more.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good history great book

    What a great way to continue the series. Good ties into the previous book. A must read for history buffs.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Liked it.

    I really liked this book. I liked the historical aspect of it. It was quick read because it seemed to flow pretty quickly and would be a good book to take on a trip. It may have been a little better if I had read the preceding book where the characters start off, but it is a book that can stand on its own and the first book is not required to understand or enjoy this one. If you like a story with a little history and intrgue you will probably like this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    A Great Story

    Ethan Gage is at it again while taking his quirkiness to the middle-east of 1800. This story is a rollicking, twisting tale of history, treasure hunting and action. A clean, fast read with likable characters and good plots lines.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Extremely Engaging and Enertaining

    Historical intrigue , action , suspense , and drama amid a thrilling story . An exhilarating ride through Napoleonic times with a cast of many characters skillfully woven into the historical fabric . Fast paced yet thorough developement stirs an unconscious desire that the book will never end . Ethan Gage is the James Bond of this exciting historical period with intriguing talents and unusual skills plied in Mission Impossible situations . A roller coaster ride through epic times among panoramic scenarios. The story cleverly involves a quest for fabled power and knowledge that draws on the mysteries of our time and their roots in past ages through the eyes and experiences of an explorer - adventurer that identifies with more of ourselves than we realize. Deeply satisfying and almost guaranteed to leave you begging for a series ; for we all want to be Ethan Gage.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    charming

    This novel is a cute and charming gem if you want something that is entertaining without too much effort required on your part. The main character is funny and endearing. I listened to this on audiobook and it was great for "getting away from reality" for awhile. The story line is easy and the adventure just carries you along. The plot is a little disappointing, as the end isn't completely satisfying, but the journey is light and fun! The story does get fantastical and unbelievable at times, and it reads more like a fairy tale. But I think that's what lends it its charm.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3