BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ross Poldark: A Novel of Cornwall, 1783-1787

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    A classic

    I have been a fan of this character since the 1970's, when I saw Poldark as a Masterpiece Theatre miniseries on PBS. The story follows the life of Ross Poldark, his family, friends and of course enemies, in Cornwall, England during the 1700's and early 1800's. There are a series of I believe 14 books, which sounds daunting, but they're all an easy read, and I looked forward to each book. Written by an English author, it became impossible to find the books for several years, and I was actually able to buy a few of the books in England. Thanks to the internet, and apparently continued interest from readers, the series is now in reprint, and I've been able to complete my purchases. After gathering them all, I recently was able to read the entire series for the first time. I bought "Ross Poldark", the first book of the series, as a Christmas gift for my sister-in-law, whose family orignally came from Cornwall.

    It's one of those kind of books, and series of books, that makes you want to share with people you care about. I consider it a classic, and would recommend to anybody who enjoys historical drama. As a matter of fact, they have finally relased Series 1 of the tv program on DVD. I intend to purchase it and can hardly wait for it to arrive!

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book. It has a story I couldn't put down. Very hea

    I loved this book. It has a story I couldn't put down. Very heartwarming!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    To author

    Dont change the name i like it i mean hermoine? (i know i spelled it wrong) ponyboy? Those seem like pretty weird names in the best books ever writen!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Shifter School- Chapter One

    I burst through the metal doors seperating two of the building's hallways. My breath comes in ragged gasps as I weave through the corridors and my heart threatens to pound out of my chest. The thundering sound of running feet comes closely from behind me. Too close. I want to go faster but my sides and legs already scream in protest with each step. *Why. Is. This. Happening. To. Me? Who. Are. These. People!?* I think frustratedly.
    <p>
    All I really know about what's going on is that one minute I'm sitting in the middle of my History class, actually paying attention for once. Then the next minute three middle-aged guys knock down the doors, locking an accusing look on me like I'm their worst enemy. After a few tense seconds they all draw guns. That is when I ran.
    <p>
    I risk a glance behind me, pushing my way through another set of doors. I stifle a scream of fear as I look practically down the barrel of a small pistol. Putting on a painful burst of speed, I ram through the door leading outside. My feet pound on the sidewalk as I run toward the heart of my small town, RavenBrook. I slow to a jog after a while of going up and down random streets as I no longer hear the footsteps behind me. My heart reduces to a normal pace as I calm down, now wandering around the shops nearby. I start to wonder what I'm going to do until school lets out, because there is no way I can go back there without geting caught... or the guys finding me. Letting out a sigh I start to wander aimlessly around. Suddenly a hand shoots out of an alley and wraps around my neck, yanking into the darkness. I start to scream but a hand quickly covers my mouth. "No, don't scream Myth." A deep voice says quietly in my ear. Shivering at the sound of my voice in a stranger's mouth. "I'm not going to hurt you." Says the voice "But you cannot scream or the men that chased you will find you. If I move my hand will you scream?" I rapidly shake my head from side to side. "Okay..." The voice says as the hand moves away. I don't dare to turn around though and stand fearfully. "Now I am going to tell you something very important. Okay?" I nod, now slightly curious at what the stranger has to say. "You are a Shifter, Myth." The voice says solemnly, without a hint of a joking tone.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Emris

    Kindap of good, but take this from an English major, its not good to name your characters unrealistic names, nobody will take it. Myth is along those lines. Second, put a space between Raven and Brook, thats just plain incorrect grammar. More detail would also boost it a lot. I'm not trying to be rude, these are just things I've noticed.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Molly

    Excellent. You use good adjectives. But make sure you have more parts. It was good that you ended on a cliffhanger. Also, make Myth a nickname that only close friends would know. Most heros/heroines are orphans or have abusive parents. Make sure that you put more detail in for people to get a mental image of other places and people. You also used plenty of compostitional risks, such as metaphors and exagarration. Thinks like that are good to spice up your story a little. Have a little romance that in the middle it won't work out but in the end it will or she dies. Make the tiniest detail suddenly become the whole plot of the story. Of course you don't have to do any of this, but it is just some feedback. Thanks.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Wells

    Hi

    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Jake

    Whats your name? Unfamiliar you are.

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Skyler

    "My name is Skyler."

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1