Customer Reviews for

The Rossetti Letter

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I read this while I was in Venice...

    Although most of this book is fictional, the world of Venice and its history is very real. I was in vacation in Venice while I was reading this book and I was conflicted about experiencing Venice through the book or in real life! Granted, I was visiting in winter and it was freezing, so sitting in my hotel reading was not an odd thing to do... but it really was a page turner.. or for us nook users, a button pusher. At first, I kept wanted to read the sections about Rossetti, because they were such interesting chapters, but then as the modern day characters developed and plot thickened, I became excited to read the current day chapters. I'm mostly a historical fiction person, and this was a great breath of fresh air, as its half modern day and half historical. An absolute must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Great Modern and Historical Read

    I loved this book. It was an easy and fun read with great insight into historical Venice. Perfect if your'e looking for a vacation read while traveling in Italy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    I really like the play on past verse present, the historical res

    I really like the play on past verse present, the historical research involved, the puzzles and the love interest. The characters are a mix of intelligent and interesting. I enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Rossetti Letter is a Treat

    The Rosetti Letter is a wonderful mix of historical fiction and modern chick Lit. Christi Phillips has done a lot of research and it shows in her depiction of Venice in the 16th century. What I really like about her novel, is the way she flips back and forth between present and past so the reader doesn't get bogged down in historical fiction which can be a little tiresome sometimes. Her writing style is simple but effective and the plot is entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2009

    Interesting Historial Fiction

    I really enjoyed this story. The modern day hunt for the facts so long ago hidden. I thought that the characters were great and enjoyed how the two stories were interwoven so that the disertation topic and the facts behind it were fully explained and made the search for the facts in the disertation that much more interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    Good Story

    It was a good quick read. I enjoyed it.
    I also recommend anything ANYTHING at all by Diana Gabaldon. My favorite author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    Great historical novel!

    Historical novel are one of my favorite genres and this was a really good one. I was entertained thoroughly and highly recommend it. I will check out other novels by this author for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    a good fun historical read

    i really liked this book and Phillip's writing. her weaving of the story keeps you hanging and wanting more. the story is one that is under the radar- in a good way. not many people have heard of the spanish conspiracy against venice. this book is a different type of historical novel that tells a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    The Rossetti Letter captures ones interest from the first chapter.

    The author has woven an interesting storyline combined with some historical fact. The characters are portrayed in a colorful manner. One definitedly gets a good idea of what life is like for a courtesan in the 1400's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Oh, To Be in Venice

    I picked The Rosetti Letter because it was set in Venice. The wonderful thing about Venice is that it changes little through the centuries and so it is always familiar.
    I sent the book to my cousin who loves historical novels but has never been to Venice. She liked the book also.
    The book is exciting and full of suspense. It goes back and forth between the present and centuries ago. There is suspense, intrigue, romance and some history.
    The story is based upon the Spanish Conspiracy which may or may not have occurred. Our heroine chaperones a brat to Venice in order to attend an important conference which she hopes will provide insight into the work she is doing on the Spanish Conspiracy. She gets to the conference, meets a man, makes an enemy of his girlfriend and finds materials at the library that confirm her point of view.
    The materials indicate the existence of the Spanish Conspiracy which is in hot debate at the conference and perhaps confirm the existence of a dazzling courtesan who found herself in the middle of the Spanish Conspiracy. The novel becomes the story of the two women. Both women are worthy heroines and are tested in dangerous situations - physically and emotionally. Will they survive?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    You'll feel like you're really in Venice

    This is a great read...Very well written, with wonderful descriptions of Venice. You'll feel like you're there. Very impressive debut novel for Christi Phillips. It mixes history with romance and adventure. The Rossetti Letter is about a courtesan who gets involved in a plot to overthrow the Venetian Republic by the Spanish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    Excellent historical fiction novel

    I just completed this novel while on vacation and loved it. Christi Phillips did a wonderful job mixing fact with fiction and I am now inspired to learn more about the lives of courtesans and Venetian history. Don't let the size of the book fool you. This is a quick read and I didn't want to put the book down, and I'm sure you will feel the same way. Give it a try. Christi Phillips also does a great job of keeping the suspense and mystery alive in this novel not only with the Venetian heroine, but with the American historian studying Alessandra Rossetti's past. I look forward to reading Christi Phillips' next novel, The Devlin Diary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2007

    Excellent storytelling!

    Outstanding book of adventure, history, excitement, mystery and romance. I loved the journey! Anxiously looking forward to more books by Christi Phillips.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2007

    Actually Pretty Good

    I enjoyed this book a lot more than I thought I would. It was entertaining and plausible, with good characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    PH.D candidate Claire Donovan¿s thesis focuses on the role courtesan Alessandra Rossetti played in preventing a Spanish Conspiracy to overthrow the Venetian Republic government in 1618. A letter written by Rossetti is the primary source for Claire¿s paper and related efforts to obtain recognition for the seventeenth century heroine amongst historians.--------------- Cambridge University History Professor Andrew Kent disagrees with Claire¿s basic premise. He feels the evidence is rather strong that Rossetti abetted the Spanish cause to remove from power the Venetian government. His efforts if proven correct destroy her thesis. Andrew and Claire agree to work together to uncover the truth behind the renowned Venetian courtesan.--------------- Mindful in some ways of Lauren Willig¿s Eloise Kelly tales, THE ROSSETTI LETTER is a delightful combination historical fiction and contemporary academic romantic mystery. Due to rotating perspective, readers ironically know more about Rossetti and the 1618 Spanish Conspiracy than the history professor and the graduate student. Though some minor subplots like those involving Andrew¿s Italian girlfriend and Claire¿s Italian suitor and her chaperoning a fourteen years old teenage ¿ward provide some insight into their characters, these feel intrusive as the prime theme is for the modern day academic ¿sleuths¿ to uncover the almost four century old secrets of what occurred. Overall fans will enjoy this entertaining historiography tale seen through rose colored glasses.--------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4