Customer Reviews for

The Rossetti Letter

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Great Modern and Historical Read

    I loved this book. It was an easy and fun read with great insight into historical Venice. Perfect if your'e looking for a vacation read while traveling in Italy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Rossetti Letter is a Treat

    The Rosetti Letter is a wonderful mix of historical fiction and modern chick Lit. Christi Phillips has done a lot of research and it shows in her depiction of Venice in the 16th century. What I really like about her novel, is the way she flips back and forth between present and past so the reader doesn't get bogged down in historical fiction which can be a little tiresome sometimes. Her writing style is simple but effective and the plot is entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2009

    Interesting Historial Fiction

    I really enjoyed this story. The modern day hunt for the facts so long ago hidden. I thought that the characters were great and enjoyed how the two stories were interwoven so that the disertation topic and the facts behind it were fully explained and made the search for the facts in the disertation that much more interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    Good Story

    It was a good quick read. I enjoyed it.
    I also recommend anything ANYTHING at all by Diana Gabaldon. My favorite author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Oh, To Be in Venice

    I picked The Rosetti Letter because it was set in Venice. The wonderful thing about Venice is that it changes little through the centuries and so it is always familiar.
    I sent the book to my cousin who loves historical novels but has never been to Venice. She liked the book also.
    The book is exciting and full of suspense. It goes back and forth between the present and centuries ago. There is suspense, intrigue, romance and some history.
    The story is based upon the Spanish Conspiracy which may or may not have occurred. Our heroine chaperones a brat to Venice in order to attend an important conference which she hopes will provide insight into the work she is doing on the Spanish Conspiracy. She gets to the conference, meets a man, makes an enemy of his girlfriend and finds materials at the library that confirm her point of view.
    The materials indicate the existence of the Spanish Conspiracy which is in hot debate at the conference and perhaps confirm the existence of a dazzling courtesan who found herself in the middle of the Spanish Conspiracy. The novel becomes the story of the two women. Both women are worthy heroines and are tested in dangerous situations - physically and emotionally. Will they survive?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    You'll feel like you're really in Venice

    This is a great read...Very well written, with wonderful descriptions of Venice. You'll feel like you're there. Very impressive debut novel for Christi Phillips. It mixes history with romance and adventure. The Rossetti Letter is about a courtesan who gets involved in a plot to overthrow the Venetian Republic by the Spanish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2007

    Actually Pretty Good

    I enjoyed this book a lot more than I thought I would. It was entertaining and plausible, with good characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2