Customer Reviews for

Rough Country (Virgil Flowers Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 272 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Another Winner from John Sandford . . .

I truly enjoyed this book! A reader always know they're up for a treat when a new John Sanford novel arrives. I've been a Lucas Davenport fan for a long time now, and this new character, Virgil Flowers, has also gotten me hooked. The tightly woven, well written plots o...
I truly enjoyed this book! A reader always know they're up for a treat when a new John Sanford novel arrives. I've been a Lucas Davenport fan for a long time now, and this new character, Virgil Flowers, has also gotten me hooked. The tightly woven, well written plots of Sandford's books make it hard to put them down for whatever reason. With the worries of todays economy, it sure is nice to have a good book to escape into. I want to thank the author for such a great read and now I will begin my wait for his next book.

posted by cewilch on October 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

OKAY, BUT NOT SANDFORD'S BEST

THIS WAS NOT UP TO PAR WITH THE PREY SERIES. IT JUST SEEMED THE STORY COULD NEVER TAKE-OFF AND JUST WENT IN CIRCLES. THE ENDING WAS PRETTY GOOD, HOWEVER, IT DOES NOT MAKE UP FOR THE FIRST 315 OR SO PAGES PRIOR TO THE LAST 73.

posted by AuburnTigersFan on October 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 274 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Winner from John Sandford . . .

    I truly enjoyed this book! A reader always know they're up for a treat when a new John Sanford novel arrives. I've been a Lucas Davenport fan for a long time now, and this new character, Virgil Flowers, has also gotten me hooked. The tightly woven, well written plots of Sandford's books make it hard to put them down for whatever reason. With the worries of todays economy, it sure is nice to have a good book to escape into. I want to thank the author for such a great read and now I will begin my wait for his next book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fans who enjoy the Davenport police procedurals will enjoy the terrific efforts of one of his detectives

    Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension Agent Virgil Flowers is in a fishing tournament when his boss Lucas Davenport calls him. Lucas directs Virgil to investigate the shooting death of Minneapolis ad executive with strong ties to the Democrats Erica McDill at the nearby Eagle Nest Lodge.

    Virgil quickly heads to the Grand Rapids to learn what he can at the lodge. He interviews owner Margery Stanhope, who explains most people who stay at the lodge are lesbians. Virgil questions the all girl rock band and wealthy guests who can purchase young men or women for a tryst without blinking. As Virgil investigates he learns there was a homicide here last year that seems unrelated, but now he seeks a link when a third killing occurs. He knows he better find the killer before another homicides occur.

    The setting of the lodge being a place for lesbians to relax and have fun makes for a great counter to super womanizer Virgil, who is at his outlandish amusing best as he muses whether he is in heaven or hell. The investigation is super with Virgil adjusting his theory to new clues and especially another homicide. Fans who enjoy the Davenport police procedurals will enjoy the terrific efforts of one of his detectives (see DARK OF THE MOON and HEAT LIGHTNING) whose behavior is quite different from that of his superior.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    OKAY, BUT NOT SANDFORD'S BEST

    THIS WAS NOT UP TO PAR WITH THE PREY SERIES. IT JUST SEEMED THE STORY COULD NEVER TAKE-OFF AND JUST WENT IN CIRCLES. THE ENDING WAS PRETTY GOOD, HOWEVER, IT DOES NOT MAKE UP FOR THE FIRST 315 OR SO PAGES PRIOR TO THE LAST 73.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Gotta love "that 'effin' Flowers"

    I have really enjoyed this series even though I am only two books in. Virgil is a likeable guy. I love the dry humor--it makes it more real and keeps me turning the page. I haven't read the Prey series, but I definitely intend to after reading these.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    Yb .fjv X '

    Shaggawqyuq cb xbb f

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    ?...

    Disgusted

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Claire

    Huh

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Sara

    Do it anyway you want. I smile and lean forward and kiis u

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Ben

    Grabs her pulling her against him kissing her hard

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Caine

    Threw up a peace sign

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Jacy

    Ok bye. I prefer chicks anyway walksaway

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    To lets fuq from cici

    Heres my number text me for sex:303-324-7470!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Maria

    Im ready.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Lets fuq

    Tell me when you are ready.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    A small resort town in northern Minnesota gets a shock when one

    A small resort town in northern Minnesota gets a shock when one of its guests, Erica McDill, is shot in the head during a kayaking outing. McDill is a prominent advertising executive, from the Twin Cities, whose death precedes a large transition in her company that would make her the largest stockholder.
    Virgil Flowers is fishing with a friend when he receives a call from his boss, Lucas Davenport. With that, his vacation comes to an end and he makes his way to the scene of McDill's murder. You see, Virgil is an investigator for the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA) who only tackles "the hard stuff". He doesn't fit the investigator stereotypes. Rather, he keeps his blond hair long, wears t-shirts with logos of obscure bands, and finishes off the ensemble with blue jeans and boots. Despite his unusual appearance, Virgil is known for getting results.
    The investigation takes an unusual turn when Virgil learns that the resort is an all women's establishment. His fears are confirmed when boot tracks, from an expensive women's shoe company, are discovered in the mud near the murder site. Quickly, Virgil is immersed into the small town and its lesbian subculture. With the possibility of past murders connecting to the death of McDill, and the ever growing threat of more violence, Virgil struggles to keep his own emotions in check as he searches for the mysterious killer.
    I've been a fan of John Sandford's Virgil Flowers series since reading the first book, Dark of The Moon. There is something very appealing about Virgil's oddball behavior and fantastic instincts. As always, Sandford keeps his writing simple and accessible. More so than the previous novels, however, Rough Country felt a little slower and less important than the other two. The opening portion in particular seemed a bit overlong. How long can you really wander through the woods before losing your audience. Fortunately, just as I was wondering when the book would pick up, Sandford introduced a new thread to the mystery that propelled the novel to a solid ending. The plot of this story doesn't allow as much time to spend learning about this interesting character, but the mystery itself is strong enough to make Rough Country worth the read and to make me eager to continue this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    excellent

    I've always enjoyed the Lucas Davenport series and read them all. Virgil Flowers is a unique personality with a lot of quirks but really likeable. The book keeps you turning the pages well into the night.A great read for those who like a fast paced "who done it".I'm waiting for the next Sandford book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    A great book with interesting setting. It kept me guessing unti

    A great book with interesting setting. It kept me guessing until the end. A real page turner and I couldn't wait to find time to read each day. John Sandiford is a wonderful author.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend to everyone!

    Virgil Flowers is at his best once again. He is called to help with a murder that has more twist and turns than a roller coaster ride. Virgil follows his instincts and they take him everywhere the case goes even it seems to make no sense but you'll be on the edge of your seat while reading waiting to see where the story goes next. A must read for all Virgil Flower fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    I've now read the 1st 20 of the Lucas Davenport Prey Series & ...

    I've now read the 1st 20 of the Lucas Davenport Prey Series + the 1st 3 of the Virgil Flowers series & this is the 1st book I can honestly say was a serious disappointment. There were way too many non-essential characters introduced with what felt like irrelevant "filler" detail. There was a low-level of excitement throughout the entire story ... including the ending.

    That being said, the combination made for a boring & tedious read. I had to force myself to stick with this effort to the end & mainly did so to stay with the continuity of the often interwoven storylines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Flowers has replaced Davenport for me.

    I always enjoyed a good Sanford book, but started to tire of Davenports tough guy act and his brutality. Enter Virgil Flowers who solves cases by talking and listening. He is a master at using the networks and relationships of the townfolk to get to the bottom of things. I love how he tells anyone he may talk to who he thinks may be a suspect.
    Virgil is a fresh new character and i cant wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 274 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14