Customer Reviews for

Roughing It

Average Rating 3.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Mark Twain comedy at its best

I have read this book 3 times over the years. The first time it literally had me laughing out loud as I read it on my lunch hours in the company bresk room. It is a hilarious tale of Twains travel adventure by stage coach from the Mississippi to Californias gold fields ...
I have read this book 3 times over the years. The first time it literally had me laughing out loud as I read it on my lunch hours in the company bresk room. It is a hilarious tale of Twains travel adventure by stage coach from the Mississippi to Californias gold fields with a unique historical perspective of the California gold rush that you wont find any where else. Much more entertaining than his other "travel" books.

posted by jchas on February 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Endless

After reading the first eight chapters of this book I saw it going nowhere--I was right. To say the least, the book was boring. The thorough descriptions of each character and object in this book made reading it monotonous. This book was no more than a young boy's journ...
After reading the first eight chapters of this book I saw it going nowhere--I was right. To say the least, the book was boring. The thorough descriptions of each character and object in this book made reading it monotonous. This book was no more than a young boy's journal that had no purpose or moral. Honestly, I don't understand why it got published.

posted by Anonymous on December 13, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 3, 2010

    Mark Twain comedy at its best

    I have read this book 3 times over the years. The first time it literally had me laughing out loud as I read it on my lunch hours in the company bresk room. It is a hilarious tale of Twains travel adventure by stage coach from the Mississippi to Californias gold fields with a unique historical perspective of the California gold rush that you wont find any where else. Much more entertaining than his other "travel" books.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Roughing It

    Mark Twain is always great. For those who want a trip back into our past, Roughing It is fun.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2006

    A Mark Twain's-eye view of Nevada

    This book has no discernable plot or other literary pretenseions to distract from the fun of seeing Virginia City and the Comstock Lode in their heyday through the eyes of a young Samuel Clemens. It could be subtitled 'Autobiography of a Splendid Liar.' It wanders about, goes nowhere in particular and trails off into idle reminiscences, but it's a great trip.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Fun read

    As someone who has travelled the areas Twain describes, I can truly appreciate his perspective. Hope its not lost on those that haven't witnessed it first hand.

    A bit wordy in some areas, but a great book nonetheless.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    Fun Book

    Entertaining autobiographical book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2005

    Great book

    it is one of the best books i ever read

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Heathersnow

    *Stares into the water waiting for a fish. Spots one close by and flashes a paw in, clawing it. She does th same three times

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Educational, historical,  and hilarious.  Join Mark Twain on his

    Educational, historical,  and hilarious.  Join Mark Twain on his journey across 19th century America.  It makes history fun.



    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    awesome book!

    awesome book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2007

    Endless

    After reading the first eight chapters of this book I saw it going nowhere--I was right. To say the least, the book was boring. The thorough descriptions of each character and object in this book made reading it monotonous. This book was no more than a young boy's journal that had no purpose or moral. Honestly, I don't understand why it got published.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Ajax

    Hey Lily im back

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Volefoot

    May i join he said

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Lily

    Srry fel asleep.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Silentwish

    The she padded in. Her beautiful gray stiped coat glistendd.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2014

    Very Entertaining

    Covers Twain's travels from St Joe, MO to the west coast. Highly entertaining. Must read if you liked Huck and Tom from Twain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Fang (from bloodclan)

    If you join use a new cat or an previously rped cat. If you use a previously rped cat u must say what clan ur from

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Y Tedious for todayd Tedious

    It goes on and on and on -----------

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Doda

    Good book))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Not worth it ... This book was a ripoff

    Not a full book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Even that this is a very long book wont get you tire, Twain show how was to travel through the country when he was alive. It was fun to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4