Customer Reviews for

Round-Heeled Woman: My Late-Life Adventures in Sex and Romance

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2005

    A good read for the over 50 crowd

    I feel this book would be helpful to any woman over the age of 50 who is venturing out on her own after a loss. Jane shows us how to create a world for ourselves and be happy here and now. Choosing to share her experiences with readers took a lot of courage and I applaud her for that. Go Jane, go!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2004

    MUST READ FOR WOMEN OVER 50. NO, 40. NO, 30.

    I laughed my way through parts and read the rest with wide eyed empathy. Daring, charming, poignant. Very much a woman's book. Young mother's reading it will learn much about talking with their girls about sex. We older women will just plain enjoy. Book clubs can have lots of fun with this book, especially with the questions prepared at the back by the retired English teacher/author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2004

    ENJOYABLE SUMMER READ!

    This book was interesting. There were times when, I felt like, I was talking to a girlfriend of mine instead of reading. I would recommend this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2004

    Very readable

    While the book 'A Round-Heeled Woman' is very readable, it might be better titled 'an autobiography of Jane Jurka' because it would be very fitting for the story. The feeling one is left with is that it is a story of a somewhat dysfunctional family situation and Jane's overcoming this to become a successful teacher and career woman. The sidelights are the sexual aspects and her experiences in this area. It seems to be a result of unresolved problems with her parents and grandmother and the need to 'please' them and receive their approval. Hence, the sessions with the phychiarist mentioned throughout the book. On the whole it is a good read and insightful. It is worth recommending if one doesn't expect too much tintalating content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2003

    A Great Book Indeed

    Jane Juska has written a fantastic book. I read it in two days. It is a book that cannot be put down. Simply put, the book is a great read. I am sending a copy to all my single Aunts. Although, if you are skittish about sexual terms, this book isn't for you, but if you are comfortable with who you are, this book gives you laughter, joy and hope. I, too, wonder about Graham? Could you give me his phone number?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2003

    excellent and honest

    i'm impressed with this book! i'm only halfway through it right now, but i'm reading it very quickly (which for me is impressive). i can't believe how honest and blunt she is! great read for all of us women. i hope to be like her at that age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2003

    I was amazed!

    I was amazed because I went through this same thing (in different ways) at forty. I loved how she put the ad in the New York Times Review - her ad to attract a man. She is so brutally honest about everything. There are lots of us in this world who go through the same thing but cannot talk about it or even be honest about it to ourselves. Women just have to fight harder for what they want and not apologize for something everyone wants. Another person....to make us feel alive again. And sex does make one feel alive, desired, fulfilled, and necessary. And, older women are just not accepted at desirable human beings. Maybe to some men but certainly not often. No younger person somehow realizes that we are sexual beings till we die and if they DO realize it they think of it as wrong. I witnessed this often when working in care homes when I was in my thirties. I liked her humor as much as her honesty. It is on my 'books to buy' list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2003

    Three Cheers for Jane Juska

    Ms Juska made me laugh...cry...and cheer for this very honest and 'round-heeled' woman and her decision to put the ad in the paper. Sex? yes...but oh so much more...her life story is woven into her pages in a beautiful tapestry of life. I highly recommend this book..not only for the 'older woman'..but for men also...and I would like to know.....does she still see Graham???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1