Customer Reviews for

Rowan of the Wood

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 20, 2008

    Rowan of the Wood

    Rowan of the Wood is a terrific book which rivals the Harry Potter series! Its magical quality is reminiscent of classic fairy tales. Did you know that Albert Einstein said, "If you want your children to be intelligent, read them fairy tales. If you want them to be even more intelligent, read them more fairy tales!" I almost read it straight through but had to stop to get some much needed sleep. At the end of the book, the next day I wished to read more. I am looking forward with great anticipation to the other books in the series which are sure to become family favorites. I beg to differ in the recommended age categories suggested by other readers. The youngest age of nine or ten may be correct but I am in my sixties and thoroughly enjoyed it! My two-year-old grandson, Rowan, is sure to delight in the story when he gets to be old enough.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Marta Morrison for TeensReadToo.com

    I really enjoyed reading ROWAN OF THE WOOD. It is the first in a series and I can't wait for the next one to come out. <BR/><BR/>It starts with two Celtic wizards, Rowan and Fiana, on their wedding day. They have been waiting for this day for many years. Once they are married their power will double. Just as they have been declared married, a band of Christian invaders attacks the ceremony. Fiana manages to escape to the otherworld but Rowan, through magic, seals himself in his wand. <BR/><BR/>Now we go to modern day. Cullen is a foster child living in Northern California among the Redwood trees. He has survived losing his family and is now living in an abusive foster home. What he loves most are the Redwoods which are behind his house and his fantasy books, especially The Hobbit, which had belonged to his father. <BR/><BR/>In one horrific scene his foster father makes him burn all of his fantasy novels. That one scene was very hard to read. <BR/><BR/>Well, Cullen then finds a strange sort of wooden wand and out comes Rowan. He had been trapped there for over a thousand years. But he and Cullen are one person. Rowan can only come out when Cullen is scared or threatened. <BR/><BR/>Fiana has also returned, but she came back a hundred years after the incident. She has been looking for Rowan for thousands of years. In order to stay young and beautiful she has made a deal with dark magic - and she has turned evil! <BR/><BR/>All of this makes a fantastic and believable read. The love that doesn't really die between Rowan and Fiana is powerful. The loneliness of Cullen and his love of doing what is right is wondrous. I loved this book and anyone who loves fantasy will love it, too. <BR/><BR/>The authors have gotten this one right and I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    Couldn't put this book down!

    I was sucked into Cullen, Rowan, and Fiana's varying worlds and couldn't stop reading until they all collided! This is an exciting novel by debut authors Christine & Ethan Rose...they've created characters that are strikingly vivid and a plot that draws the reader into a world much like our own, yet not our own. I can actually see Cullen walking through the majestic Redwood forest...Rowan and Fiana hand-in-hand among the standing stones in Caledonia...the many amusing cats scattered about Raimund's woodland cottage. Lovers of fantasy must give this a read because they will truly enjoy it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    Enchanting

    Pulls you in to a story of magic and enchantments. Makes you follow the maze of twists and turns expertly placed through out the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great new series for fans of J.K. Rawling, Michael Scott, Garth Nix

    This book was suprisingly fantastic. It was very hard to put down. I was thrilled when it didn't come to an end with this book. Four more books to come. I highly reccomend to Teens and Adults alike.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1