BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Royal Assassin (Farseer Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 246 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(139)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

MUST READ!!!

i'm usually very picky about what i read and not much of a book worm but this book is just amazing. Once you pick it up it's hard to put down and i think it's even better than the first book. The way the author writes makes you feel like you're part of the story. Robin ...
i'm usually very picky about what i read and not much of a book worm but this book is just amazing. Once you pick it up it's hard to put down and i think it's even better than the first book. The way the author writes makes you feel like you're part of the story. Robin Hobb is truly amazing. I think five stars is not enough for this book

posted by Anonymous on January 20, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Book cover was the best part.

The 2nd book was very slow and boring. The writer has lots of unremarkable stuff that made reading the book extremely difficult. I kept waiting for the action, but the book has very little. If you like confusing plots, weak main characters, and scenery descriptions yo...
The 2nd book was very slow and boring. The writer has lots of unremarkable stuff that made reading the book extremely difficult. I kept waiting for the action, but the book has very little. If you like confusing plots, weak main characters, and scenery descriptions you will like this book. I like action, adventure, and hidden twists in my science fiction books. Good thing I didn't let this book determine if I would read the 3rd book.

posted by 1875503 on September 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hobb is a master of the genre!

    Wow! How to summarize the amazing ride you'll be taken on in the Farseer trilogy. First off, don't expect a lightweight ride through the fantasy clichés as with other authors. Hobb treats her main character Fitz like a well-used hammer -- flinging him around and not getting too upset with a few nicks and marks. If you can make it through the first volume in the trilogy, this book picks up where it leaves off and continues the complex and emotional roller-coaster ride. There is so much to enjoy about Hobb's work, especially her wonderful skills as a story-teller. Just expect to endure some pain as a reader as the main character is buffeted and clanged around through the story.

    The only criticism I had for these books were the horrible cover art. I really thought they not only looked dumb but really missed the mark when it came to portraying the mood and emotional impact of the stories. They make these books look cheap and cliché which is a big shame for those who, in fact, judge books by their cover.

    Highly recommended read! I can't wait to finish Fitz's tale in the next trilogy.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2005

    MUST READ!!!

    i'm usually very picky about what i read and not much of a book worm but this book is just amazing. Once you pick it up it's hard to put down and i think it's even better than the first book. The way the author writes makes you feel like you're part of the story. Robin Hobb is truly amazing. I think five stars is not enough for this book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    My favorite book in the wonderful and enthralling Farseer trilogy!

    This is my favorite book in the wonderful and enthralling Farseer trilogy! Robin Hobb creates a brilliantly dark and wild tale of treachery, adventure, and utter sorrow. The world she spins around you will have you seething with rage when Fitz does, and feeling light-headed when you pull your head out the mystical waters of the Farseer world. Although this trilogy is marketed as an adults series, I'm thirteen and it is my favorite fantasy series, so if you are looking to buy this for your teen, buy it (there's no graphic sex or anything, and there isn't any horribly disturbing violence)! You will not regret it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Awesome

    Very good book, best in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Awsome

    Great books more please

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Amazing

    Frickin awsome story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Xavier

    Bye to this book

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great...MUST READ THE SERIES

    This is a great book. The characters are great. You really get to love Fritz and feel sorry for him! It has great adventure and its just really easy to imagine while your reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series

    I am just finishing Golden Fool from The Tawny Man series. I absolutely loved both The Farseer and Tawny Man series. I have only one book left to read and will be sad to end the saga of FitzChivalry. I might just have to read it all again soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2014

    Recommended

    This is a fantasy and I have read all four books in the series. There will still be another 1 or 2. I liked it. Not great but good enough if you are in the market for a fantasy and don't have one in mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    Fantastic!

    It has been a while since I have been able to find high fantasy written so well, and so thoughtfully. I have found that the books start a tad slow, but after the first few pages, they become enthralling (does anyone else wonder whatever happens to the manuscripts FitzChivalry is always attempting to write?). I forsee a school year filled with sleepless nights! Thank you, Robin!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    Great followup

    Better than first

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Loved this book

    Can't wait to read the final book in series!!!!!! Finally a book with some meat to it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Beware!

    Highly Addictive!! My only complaint is that I did not discover Robin Hobb until now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Prim

    She runs in then relises it's not the woods and goses to result 30

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Fox's room

    The large room is painted Hunter green, with a camo beanbag chair on the geeen carpet. Her closet was full of pants and tew-shirts, very few acctual dresses. She walked in and left the door open.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    An enjoyable read ...

    An enjoyable read ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!READ THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This. may not seem like a good book, or that it is sooooo boring in the beginning, or that you want to kill it, read this! i got this book like two. years ago from a bookstore and immediatly regretted it after i started this book( i skipped first book by acident) but dont stop reading it! this is my favorite series of all time!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    The best misadventure story, ever.

    A more bitter than sweet story of revenge, and the dangers that living only for revenge wrought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7