Customer Reviews for

Royal Exile (Valisar Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An Excellent book!

    This is the first book that I have ever read my Fiona McIntosh and I am totally blown away! She is an amazing author, tying things into each other so well that you feel as if you can only get a hint of what her plans are and that you are in on the information just as much as the characters, left there to guess just like they have to. She does such a good job in detailing her characters that even at times, I felt a little sympathy for the barbarian Loethar. But then you feel the hatred from Gav and Leo you feel pulled in to directions. I highly recommend this to any adventure/fantasy/medieval reader nervous to find a really good new book. I anxiously await the next book to see what happens to everyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Long live the King

    Wow, Fiona McIntosh has done it again, another page turner you can't put down. Rich in depth characters, action, magic, intrigue and a maddening cliff hanger at the end. I love it!! The Royal Valisar family faces a hoard of barbarians coming to destroy everything, but especialy to obtain the Valisar "Secret". Young prince Leonel in starting on a dangerous, magic filled journey of winning back the crown. McIntosh is one of the best when it comes to make a story real, the kind you wish would go on forever. Buy this book,I guarantee you will not be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    Great Story

    Fiona has a real gift for coming up with great plots. I am never disappointed in her books. It's too bad that she is a relative unknown in the US.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    The building of a King

    I agree with the other reviewers. This book left me on the edge of my chair wondering what would happen next. It is an amazing tale of events that shape a great king, of ancient forces that surround him, a friendship forged by horrific events and characters who keep you guessing as to what could possibly happen next. I have read other books by Fiona McIntosh and was always surprised. It is very graphic but well worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    good read but very graphic

    This is a good story and I am looking forward to the next book. Because it was very graphic with lots of very well described death and killing, I found I needed to take breaks from reading it. Not so heavy on the romance and sexuality as fantasy can often be. That was rather refreshing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended

    Excellent book, but this author's books are never a let-down. I'm looking forward to the next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2008

    Great Epic Story....Easy on pages...

    When you hear the name Fiona McIntosh, you know you are in for one awesome ride and in Royal Exile (Book One in the Valisar Trilogy, she didn't disappoint. From the first line of the prologue to the promise of another book at the end, this new trilogy opens with a great battle that inspires hatred and sympathy. Like all good stories, we are weaved into the fabric of the lives of a lost king in search of his kingdom, his love interest, and a cast of other characters that you not only love to have, but also hate to love. <BR/><BR/>I am not a big epic fantasy reader, though I have read many of the big names in the genre including Jordan and Goodkind. The reason I recommend this book is that it has all the elements of an epic, without the enormous page length that a lot of those books tend to be. For me, with kids and life getting in the way, I love a good rich story that can be read and enjoyed within a few days. This is one of those wonderful books. <BR/><BR/>I would definitley recommend this book to epic fans and fantasy readers alike. It had good adventure, great action, and a twisting plot that left you salivating for the next. Royal Exile is a book great for a long winter's night spent indoors by a fire. So, step into the land of where a lost king sets out to find his kingdom and begins an adventure that will change his life and the world around him forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2008

    Book One of the Valisar Trilogy - "Royal Exhile"

    Fiona¿s first book in the Valisar Trilogy is ¿Royal Exile¿. Just as the title states, the Royal is exiled. In the beginning of the book we meet Loethar who is a tribal warlord with such a hatred towards the Valisar¿s that in order to ensure all are wiped out he moves across the Denova Set killing and conquering each state until he reaches his desired destination of Penraven.. He has conquered all of the previous states so that not one of them could rise to save Penraven. Penraven expects his coming yet is still taken by surprise. With many surprising and often gut wrenching effects Loethar is sitting as the reigning superior to Penraven. The King and Queen are no longer with us, the Queens still born baby girl¿s ashes have been thrown to the wind, young Prince Leonel is assumed to be dead and their mentally challenged adopted son Piven, has been taken as a ¿pet¿ to Loethar. That is until Loather¿s lover Valya states that she spied Prince Leonel running from the Kingdoms grounds with a companion.<BR/>Loethar with the help of his blood thirsty older brother Stracker, command the help of locals gifted with special powers to hunt down and kill all of the boys age 11 in the surrounding states until they locate the missing young Valisar, Leonel. <BR/>Leonel is the next king in a long line of Valisar Kings, yet he is to young to over take Loethar and regain all that the Valisar¿s have lost. The meat of the book is made up of Loethar and Gavriel¿s travels north in order to find an ally in Kilt Faris and his men, who previously were outlaws of the Valisar kingdom. Through their travels we find that Leonel¿s father had foreseen much of what is currently happening and had made preparations ahead of time, thus helping Leonel in his plight. Each of the Valisar individuals seem to have a mystical element to them, even as far as Loethar¿s raven.<BR/>Fiona¿s book has great detail concerning the surrounding¿s young Leonel finds himself in during his journey. Many important details were shared as the book closed, which left me with more questions than answers, which of course leaves me wanting to read the second book in the Valisar Trilogy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    worthy successor

    Using strategy that makes no military sense, tribal warlord Loethar and his deadly barbaric horde easily conquered Dregon and Voragan while Cremond capitulated without a fight. He now invades the final land in the Denova Set, the Kingdom of Penraven with once again little successful opposition. The flesh eaters easily slice their way to conquest defeating everyone who dares to face them. King Brennus is frustrated and worried, but will soon be dead as Loethar fearing nothing has every member of the renowned ruling family the Valisars killed although the king and queen go willingly so that one member of the royals can escape and insure Loethar fails to have access to their power.<BR/>---<BR/>The Champion of the Cohort Gavriel De Vis escorts away from the castle the first born son of the Valisars, young Prince Leo, whose special skills unlike that of his father and forefathers back eight generations has failed to surface. He seeks allies, but few sign up to join his noble but seemingly helpless cause. Not only has his talent remains dormant, but Loethar is too powerful and malevolent to fight against anymore; evil has won as the side of good allowed complacency and egotism to leave them unprepared leading them to defeat.<BR/>---<BR/>The first book of the Valisar trilogy occurs in the same world as the Percheron Saga, but is a different age and place. Readers will relish the return to Fiona McIntosh¿s fantasy realm as the opening act proves to be a worthy successor. The story line is fast-paced from the onset as the kings wonder how they could fall so fast to the blitzkrieg of Loethar. Leo is a wonderful wannabe hero, but his coming of age has a long way to go (two more novels) while Loethar is a fascinating in a macabre way villain who we meet early on after he has drank blood and looks forward to sharing a drink with King Ormond of Barronel. Ms. McIntosh opens her latest fantasy with a terrific thriller.<BR/>---<BR/>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2