BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Royal Treatment (Alaskan Royal Family Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Soooo Funny!!!!

I loved this book!!! The characters were great, and the story was really cute. MaryJanice Davidson has a nice writing style that takes you into the story. Overall, a VERY good book!!!! : )

posted by 164311 on November 3, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

fluffy entertainment

In this slightly-alternate world of MaryJanice Davidson's, everything is exactly the same as our own - except that Alaska, instead of being sold to the US in the 1800s, broke away from Russia and became its own country with its own erm.. unique monarchy.

Enter ...
In this slightly-alternate world of MaryJanice Davidson's, everything is exactly the same as our own - except that Alaska, instead of being sold to the US in the 1800s, broke away from Russia and became its own country with its own erm.. unique monarchy.

Enter American Christina Krabbe ("It's pronounced 'Crab', no 'e.'"), a no-nonsense ex-cruise ship cook. She jumped ship upon quitting (due to an incident involving flooring her boss for sexual harassment) and found herself stranded in Alaska, only to be taken in by none other than the king himself - and set up with the crown prince as the future crown princess!

This book is fun, lighthearted, and funny. Unlike Davidson's Queen Betsy series, the heroine of The Royal Treatment is smart, a fact which I greatly appreciated. Christina is smart, has a don't-mess-with-me attitude, knows what she wants and won't back down from anyone - not even the king himself, nor any of his five equally strong-willed children. f

posted by AnkhetCM on December 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    fluffy entertainment

    In this slightly-alternate world of MaryJanice Davidson's, everything is exactly the same as our own - except that Alaska, instead of being sold to the US in the 1800s, broke away from Russia and became its own country with its own erm.. unique monarchy.<BR/><BR/>Enter American Christina Krabbe ("It's pronounced 'Crab', no 'e.'"), a no-nonsense ex-cruise ship cook. She jumped ship upon quitting (due to an incident involving flooring her boss for sexual harassment) and found herself stranded in Alaska, only to be taken in by none other than the king himself - and set up with the crown prince as the future crown princess!<BR/><BR/>This book is fun, lighthearted, and funny. Unlike Davidson's Queen Betsy series, the heroine of The Royal Treatment is smart, a fact which I greatly appreciated. Christina is smart, has a don't-mess-with-me attitude, knows what she wants and won't back down from anyone - not even the king himself, nor any of his five equally strong-willed children. f

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Soooo Funny!!!!

    I loved this book!!! The characters were great, and the story was really cute. MaryJanice Davidson has a nice writing style that takes you into the story. Overall, a VERY good book!!!! : )

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Heroine is unlikeable - does not get better from there

    One big problem I had with this book was the main female character, Christina. I could not understand why in the world the Alaskan Royals wanted her to be Queen, because she is simply obnoxious and rude. The king meets her on a fishing boat, and he immediately likes her just because she's unconventional and thinks she would be perfect for his son, Prince David. Prince David also immediately likes her and agrees to marry her right then and there.... You see how bad this is turning out? I was hoping as I was reading there would be at least some development in Christina and David's relationship, like getting to know each other, falling in love, you know, that kind of thing? That isn't found here. They have sex with each other a few times, have a wedding, have more sex, and hey, they are one happy couple. Ugh. I also couldn't stand how Christina is always crass when she's around David and the Royals. It's like she had no respect for them. The only thing that kept me reading was for the plot, but near the end I was basically skimming. Nothing surprising happens. I liked the idea of Alaska being a country, but the author hardly makes use of it. It's basically only a backdrop. I strongly do not recommend this series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    What if Alaska hadn't become the 49th State? And what if, unnder the direction of a man named Kaarl Baranov, the residents of Alaska got tired of the law that forbade Russians from settling permanent in the snowy wilderness and performed a nearly bloodless coup? And what if said Baranov took control of Alaska , set it up as a monarchy, and became its first king? <BR/><BR/>This is the historical back-drop for MaryJanice Davidson's THE ROYAL TREATMENT, and it's only the beginning. The royal family--including father King Alexander II, oldest son Prince David, oldest daughter Princess Alexandria, middle son Prince Alexander, youngest daughter Princess Kathryn, and youngest son Prince Nicholas--reside in the Sitka Palace and are unlike any bunch of stiff-necked royals you've ever met. <BR/><BR/>The King, who takes delight in attempting to fool the commoners into thinking he's an average fisherman on a weekly basis, is a wise-cracking, tender-hearted, potty-mouth ruler with a heart of gold. And for the last few months, his goal has been to find nearly thirty-year-old son Prince David a wife. King "Al" believes he's found the perfect wife for his son--Christina "the 'e' is silent" Krabbe. Fired from her job on a cruise ship while at port in Alaska , Christina has no money, no family, and nowhere to go, until King Al in disguise invites her to get in touch with one Edmund Dante, who turns out to be the King's adviser. <BR/><BR/>What follows is a hilarious romp through family loyalty, lust, and the life and loves of a royal family. As Christina and David head toward an history-making wedding, the two of them learn that love and laughter are as necessary as ruling a nation. <BR/><BR/>With MaryJanice Davidson's trademark wit and witticisms, THE ROYAL TREATMENT is a delight that you're sure to enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2006

    Too Funny

    An alternative world, geeky prince with a haiku speaking brother, a throne in jeapordy all seek to help a former cruise ship cook with a fear of commitment to family. This book has sharp dialoge(sp) with witty banter and sexual tension. I laughed through most of the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2006

    I want more

    This is a book that i cannot put down once that cover has been opened to the first page. I have read this book numerous times and it always leaves me with a happy feeling. So what if it is total fiction, the characters are what 'we' wish we could be.....attractive, unafraid to speak our minds and RICH to top it off!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2004

    A sizzler

    In 1863, America embroiled in a Civil War failed to buy Alaska. Instead, Alaska led by the Baranovs broke free from Russia. A kingdom was declared with a Baranov sitting on the throne. Over a century later, King Alexander II sneaks out of the Sitka Palace masquerading as a sea captain. He meets marooned American Christina Krabbe, who explains how she beat up her boss for groping her and is now out of work. Al decides that she is the perfect person to marry his oldest son, Prince David and would make the ideal Queen for Alaska.................................. The next day Chris joins Al and his five offspring for lunch. David is impressed with her and asks Chris to marry him, but she declines. David tries a little woo, but Chris tells him no woo-woo. She does not want to be a queen. David¿s sister asks Chris what her deceased beloved mom would want for her. Thus Chris agrees to marry David. Before they escape on their honeymoon, a Domonov shoots Al with an animal tranquilizer leaving him in a coma while trying to abduct David¿s brother leaving the royal honeymooners struggling with ruling not loving............................. ROYAL TREATMENT is a creative enjoyable alternate historical romance that fans will appreciate due to the humorous interrelationship between the royal family, their retinue, and the commoner. Each key cast member has a unique personality and the cameo appearances of real people like Queen Elizabeth II and Bill Gates adds a sense of reality to the tale. Though the attempted abduction adds unnecessary suspense, readers will gain immense pleasure with MaryJanice Davidson¿s offbeat treatment of an alternate Alaska.......................... Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2014

    Recommend it

    Love Ms David son's ditty characters. She makes them funny and there antics seem perfectly normal.The heroines are charming witty and beleaguered by the bad luck god.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    MaryJanice Davidson has become one of my all-time favorite auth

    MaryJanice Davidson has become one of my all-time favorite authors. I first found her by reading Undead and Unwed, the first book in her Undead series. Wanting more, I found The Royal Treatment. I must be honest and say I didn't like it as much as do her Undead books, but it is a sincerely hysterical book!

    The Royal Treatment is set in an alternate reality, the world is almost the same as this one, but Alaska is it's own country and has its own rulers. And boy are they a bunch of nuts! The characters are not as fully fleshed out as I prefer them to be, but I loved all of them. They each have their own quirky personality and odd habits. I want to take them all home with me!

    The only negatives I found were the profanity used and the fairly explicit love scenes. As I don't really mind the language, and I blip over the love scenes if they're too much for my delicate constitution.

    Books don't make me literally laugh out loud very often, but this one did. Actually, all of MaryJanice Davidson's books do. Every time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    funny

    really funny and entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Very funny!

    Its a light read but also very funny. I love her books because they are easy to read with a good story and plenty of laughs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Loved it

    As always MaryJanice keeps me rolling in the floor laughing! Great fun read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hilariously funny

    Can't remember the last time I laughed so hard! A bit extreme with the curse words at times, but definitely a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    MJD FTW

    I've read everything published by MJD, and I heart her very muchly. That being said, this series is by far my favorite of her work. Read it, love it, read it again and again. I know I have :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    A Funny & Romantic Story of Make-Believe

    What if Alaska hadn't become the 49th State? And what if, unnder the direction of a man named Kaarl Baranov, the residents of Alaska got tired of the law that forbade Russians from settling permanent in the snowy wilderness and performed a nearly bloodless coup? And what if said Baranov took control of Alaska , set it up as a monarchy, and became its first king? This is the historical back-drop for MaryJanice Davidson's THE ROYAL TREATMENT, and it's only the beginning. The royal family--including father King Alexander II, oldest son Prince David, oldest daughter Princess Alexandria, middle son Prince Alexander, youngest daughter Princess Kathryn, and youngest son Prince Nicholas--reside in the Sitka Palace and are unlike any bunch of stiff-necked royals you've ever met. The King, who takes delight in attempting to fool the commoners into thinking he's an average fisherman on a weekly basis, is a wise-cracking, tender-hearted, potty-mouth ruler with a heart of gold. And for the last few months, his goal has been to find nearly thirty-year-old son Prince David a wife. King 'Al' believes he's found the perfect wife for his son--Christina 'the 'e' is silent' Krabbe. Fired from her job on a cruise ship while at port in Alaska , Christina has no money, no family, and nowhere to go, until King Al in disguise invites her to get in touch with one Edmund Dante, who turns out to be the King's adviser. What follows is a hilarious romp through family loyalty, lust, and the life and loves of a royal family. As Christina and David head toward an history-making wedding, the two of them learn that love and laughter are as necessary as ruling a nation. With MaryJanice Davidson's trademark wit and witticisms, THE ROYAL TREATMENT is a delight that you're sure to enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2006

    GREAT

    This book was sooo good! It is so MaryJanice Davidson it is unbelievable. If you like her other books, you will definetly like this one! There were points in the book where i actually laughed OUT LOUD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2005

    Too trite

    The conversation between the lead characters seems too sassy and not very realistic. The heroine is downright fresh, and not very likeable. The whole premise was just unbelievable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2005

    Great Book!!!

    this is so entertaining, one of the funniest books ive ever read! I passed it around to all my friends who all loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2005

    just b/c it's not about vampires and sex doesn't make it bad

    i read this book because i read cravings and thought her short story was hilarious!At first i couldn't get in to the book, but once your past the first chapter it was so funny.This isn't what i normally read but i loved it.It's not to mushy with the romance scenes and it was really funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2005

    I Can't Believe I Read This!

    This book just did not do it for me! I was excited when I bought it and then when I got home and started reading it I just lost it, and I started throwing the pillows around and I yelled at my husband! I do not recommend this book to know one!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6