Customer Reviews for

The Royal Treatment (Alaskan Royal Family Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Soooo Funny!!!!

I loved this book!!! The characters were great, and the story was really cute. MaryJanice Davidson has a nice writing style that takes you into the story. Overall, a VERY good book!!!! : )

posted by 164311 on November 3, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

fluffy entertainment

In this slightly-alternate world of MaryJanice Davidson's, everything is exactly the same as our own - except that Alaska, instead of being sold to the US in the 1800s, broke away from Russia and became its own country with its own erm.. unique monarchy.

Enter ...
In this slightly-alternate world of MaryJanice Davidson's, everything is exactly the same as our own - except that Alaska, instead of being sold to the US in the 1800s, broke away from Russia and became its own country with its own erm.. unique monarchy.

Enter American Christina Krabbe ("It's pronounced 'Crab', no 'e.'"), a no-nonsense ex-cruise ship cook. She jumped ship upon quitting (due to an incident involving flooring her boss for sexual harassment) and found herself stranded in Alaska, only to be taken in by none other than the king himself - and set up with the crown prince as the future crown princess!

This book is fun, lighthearted, and funny. Unlike Davidson's Queen Betsy series, the heroine of The Royal Treatment is smart, a fact which I greatly appreciated. Christina is smart, has a don't-mess-with-me attitude, knows what she wants and won't back down from anyone - not even the king himself, nor any of his five equally strong-willed children. f

posted by AnkhetCM on December 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Soooo Funny!!!!

    I loved this book!!! The characters were great, and the story was really cute. MaryJanice Davidson has a nice writing style that takes you into the story. Overall, a VERY good book!!!! : )

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    What if Alaska hadn't become the 49th State? And what if, unnder the direction of a man named Kaarl Baranov, the residents of Alaska got tired of the law that forbade Russians from settling permanent in the snowy wilderness and performed a nearly bloodless coup? And what if said Baranov took control of Alaska , set it up as a monarchy, and became its first king? <BR/><BR/>This is the historical back-drop for MaryJanice Davidson's THE ROYAL TREATMENT, and it's only the beginning. The royal family--including father King Alexander II, oldest son Prince David, oldest daughter Princess Alexandria, middle son Prince Alexander, youngest daughter Princess Kathryn, and youngest son Prince Nicholas--reside in the Sitka Palace and are unlike any bunch of stiff-necked royals you've ever met. <BR/><BR/>The King, who takes delight in attempting to fool the commoners into thinking he's an average fisherman on a weekly basis, is a wise-cracking, tender-hearted, potty-mouth ruler with a heart of gold. And for the last few months, his goal has been to find nearly thirty-year-old son Prince David a wife. King "Al" believes he's found the perfect wife for his son--Christina "the 'e' is silent" Krabbe. Fired from her job on a cruise ship while at port in Alaska , Christina has no money, no family, and nowhere to go, until King Al in disguise invites her to get in touch with one Edmund Dante, who turns out to be the King's adviser. <BR/><BR/>What follows is a hilarious romp through family loyalty, lust, and the life and loves of a royal family. As Christina and David head toward an history-making wedding, the two of them learn that love and laughter are as necessary as ruling a nation. <BR/><BR/>With MaryJanice Davidson's trademark wit and witticisms, THE ROYAL TREATMENT is a delight that you're sure to enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    MaryJanice Davidson has become one of my all-time favorite auth

    MaryJanice Davidson has become one of my all-time favorite authors. I first found her by reading Undead and Unwed, the first book in her Undead series. Wanting more, I found The Royal Treatment. I must be honest and say I didn't like it as much as do her Undead books, but it is a sincerely hysterical book!

    The Royal Treatment is set in an alternate reality, the world is almost the same as this one, but Alaska is it's own country and has its own rulers. And boy are they a bunch of nuts! The characters are not as fully fleshed out as I prefer them to be, but I loved all of them. They each have their own quirky personality and odd habits. I want to take them all home with me!

    The only negatives I found were the profanity used and the fairly explicit love scenes. As I don't really mind the language, and I blip over the love scenes if they're too much for my delicate constitution.

    Books don't make me literally laugh out loud very often, but this one did. Actually, all of MaryJanice Davidson's books do. Every time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hilariously funny

    Can't remember the last time I laughed so hard! A bit extreme with the curse words at times, but definitely a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    A Funny & Romantic Story of Make-Believe

    What if Alaska hadn't become the 49th State? And what if, unnder the direction of a man named Kaarl Baranov, the residents of Alaska got tired of the law that forbade Russians from settling permanent in the snowy wilderness and performed a nearly bloodless coup? And what if said Baranov took control of Alaska , set it up as a monarchy, and became its first king? This is the historical back-drop for MaryJanice Davidson's THE ROYAL TREATMENT, and it's only the beginning. The royal family--including father King Alexander II, oldest son Prince David, oldest daughter Princess Alexandria, middle son Prince Alexander, youngest daughter Princess Kathryn, and youngest son Prince Nicholas--reside in the Sitka Palace and are unlike any bunch of stiff-necked royals you've ever met. The King, who takes delight in attempting to fool the commoners into thinking he's an average fisherman on a weekly basis, is a wise-cracking, tender-hearted, potty-mouth ruler with a heart of gold. And for the last few months, his goal has been to find nearly thirty-year-old son Prince David a wife. King 'Al' believes he's found the perfect wife for his son--Christina 'the 'e' is silent' Krabbe. Fired from her job on a cruise ship while at port in Alaska , Christina has no money, no family, and nowhere to go, until King Al in disguise invites her to get in touch with one Edmund Dante, who turns out to be the King's adviser. What follows is a hilarious romp through family loyalty, lust, and the life and loves of a royal family. As Christina and David head toward an history-making wedding, the two of them learn that love and laughter are as necessary as ruling a nation. With MaryJanice Davidson's trademark wit and witticisms, THE ROYAL TREATMENT is a delight that you're sure to enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2004

    Over all Good Book

    I bought it just because it was By Mary Janice Davidson.. The book was not like the others I had read but she keeps her personalities in it all the way.. Strong upstanding leading women and romantic stay around guys. I think even though the book has nothing about Vampires in it it's still a great read..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2