Customer Reviews for

Ruby (Dakotah Treasures Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 275 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(90)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Recommend

Good clean book! Really enjoy reading a book with no slime and sex on every page.

posted by SuzyqIN on February 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

My Review of Ruby

The story line was good, but there was hardly any romance. I read the last book in this series first and then read this one expecting to see romance between Ruby and Rand. There was no kissing which I like in romance novels. I was disappointed in the book.

posted by Anonymous on September 18, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 275 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    Recommend

    Good clean book! Really enjoy reading a book with no slime and sex on every page.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    Believable

    There were some good features and also some negative features about this book. The positive: Lauraine Snelling is an excellent author. The story itself was good, and the characters were realistic--my favorite being Charlie, I think--as were the emotions and the actions of the people as well. Mrs. Snelling uses her props from the beginning--the Brandons--whom other authors could have easily forgotten from such a brief encounter. Instead, she uses every character to her advantage and allows certain women to shape Ruby's character.

    Of course, the negative: I felt that the beginning was off to a good start, but lagged a bit in the middle-to-end. I liked the end but found it somewhat expected. This was not my favorite of her books, I do have to say. Other than that, I don't think it deserved any more discredit.

    No, the book was not very much of a romance, but then again, I wasn't expecting one. Considering that there are...four?...books to this series, Mrs. Snelling will have more than likely paired Ruby with a suitable match before the series concludes. I look forward to Pearl, the next book, while I speculate curiously as to where this woman fits in in the story.


    I would recommend this author to just about anyone interested. She transitions artfully from one scene to the next almost surreptitiously, which is a great concept, considering you would like for the script to flow--which it does. I've read more than one so-so book in the last month or two, and when I started this book on my nook, I could have almost sighed. The difference between the okay authors and Lauraine Snelling is pleasurably noticeable. My favorite of her books would be the Red River of the North series, the Home to Blessing Series, and all those that lay in between.

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2004

    Wonderful Books

    I have read most of her books and have really enjoyed them. I would suggest them to anyone to read.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Ruby

    At the request of her dying father, Ruby Torvald resigns her position of governess and takes her younger sister, Opal, to meet him and to claim their inheritance. What her father fails to mention is that their inheritance is the Dove House - a saloon filled with gambling, liquor and "hospitality services." When Ruby and Opal arrive they are understandably shocked. After the death of their father, they face the daunting reality that they must claim their inheritance to keep Ruby's promise to their father. Ruby's determination to restore the Dove House to a respectable family establishment is met with resistance on all sides. Ultimately she finds that her strength alone is not adequate for the task, but there is One whose strength never fails.

    Somehow this book was not what I expected, but in a good way. I found myself cheering Ruby on as she struggled against the many challenges. The characters seemed authentic and Opal's character was especially amusing. This is only the first book in the Dakota Treasures series and the ending was somewhat resolved and somewhat open. I am eager to continue reading the rest of the books in this series.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Highly Recommended.

    For those facing life's obstacles and spiritual doubt, this is a MUST READ.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    A good READ!

    love the old fashioned ways of life...love, and living

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Highly recommended

    This is a very well written book, I enjoyed reading it and at times I could not put it down. Well worth getting this book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2005

    Absolutely wonderful

    Honestly I could not put the book down at night and I couldn't believe how realistic the emothions were.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2003

    A Must Read

    This is the first book by this author I have read and definitely not the last. This is one of the best books I have read in a long time. The kind of book you can't put down until you are finished.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Good

    Recoomend good read

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    My favorite book so far this Year!!

    This is the first of a 4 book series. I love this series. The stories of early North Dakota are always interesting, and are never what I expect them to be. I almost stopped reading when Ruby and her sister Opal inherit a bar and brothel, but I was so glad I didn't. They go on to turn around a rough neck town and show the rise and falls in early boom towns. A historically research fictional book that is well worth the time to read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This was a decent, relaxing book to read. While some of the cha

    This was a decent, relaxing book to read. While some of the characters have a strong faith in God, that faith fit right into the storyline. The faith of the characters wasn't overpowering, which was refreshing. Sometimes authors force the religion/faith into the plot. This seemed natural.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Dakotah Treasures Series #1

    I enjoyed the book very much and can't wait to read the next series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2007

    My Review of Ruby

    The story line was good, but there was hardly any romance. I read the last book in this series first and then read this one expecting to see romance between Ruby and Rand. There was no kissing which I like in romance novels. I was disappointed in the book.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    I would recommend this book to anyone. As I read this book, I co

    I would recommend this book to anyone. As I read this book, I couldn't wait to find out what would happen next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    I enjoyed this historical romance. A young lady and her sister s

    I enjoyed this historical romance. A young lady and her sister set out West when learning their father is dying, only to find out when they get there things are not quite what they thought it would be! A little humerous as well, I loved it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Read this series..

    This is the first book of 4...start with it and you will want to read/buy the rest....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    awesome

    A great Christian book that shows the ups and downs of Ruby and Opal!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Recommended!

    Nicely written with interesting characters and a decent story line.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    enjoyed it

    A differant kind of book

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 275 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14