Customer Reviews for

Ruby (Landry Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!!!

I am 15 read this and couldnt put it down id stay up till 1 in rthe morning cuase i just needed to know what was going to happen next! Enjoy it cuase its a GREAT book! One of my favorit authers!

posted by Anonymous on December 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

J.D. on February 28, 2012

Been a long time since I've read a V.C. Andrews book. What a great book to remind me why I enjoyed them so much in the past. Once u start reading they r very hard to put down.

posted by Anonymous on February 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Loved it!!!

    I am 15 read this and couldnt put it down id stay up till 1 in rthe morning cuase i just needed to know what was going to happen next! Enjoy it cuase its a GREAT book! One of my favorit authers!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Great

    I like the book and most of vc andrews books but it pisses me off that majority of her characters are stupid. Im glad ruby stood up for herself at the end. Bout time. As far as the twin goes she was foolish to be nice to her. And why are they so gullible when it comes to males? I need the characters to b a lil more wiser..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    J.D. on February 28, 2012

    Been a long time since I've read a V.C. Andrews book. What a great book to remind me why I enjoyed them so much in the past. Once u start reading they r very hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Great Series

    This is one of my favorite V.C. Andrews series. I read all 5 books in the series in about 3 days. Great books! I couldn't put them down once I started.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Loved it

    I couldn't help but laugh a couple times. Does Neiderman really think that Cajuns live off of only gumbo & jambalaya? That's all Ruby ate in the bayou! Oh, I'm sorry, a biscuit here and there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Lightningclan

    Ok rubystar you can join are clan at wings of fire res1 post a bio at res4

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    LIGHTNIING CLAN ATTACKS RUBYCLAN

    YOU ARE WEAK? DIE DIE DIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Great book couldnt put it down

    Amazing story once you read the first page you can't put it down as are all of vc Andrews books you really feel like you know the charactors and their happiness and sorrows

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Stormflame

    Yawned

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    This book was really good! I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book

    I have always loved vc andrews and that love doesnt stop here. This was a great book with great story lines

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Great read!!

    I have been a VC Andrews fan for along time and this is a great book. The story flows well and the plot moves at a nice speed with some unexpected twists, which make this book a page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Ruby

    I really did enjoy this book. I have read a lot of books lately, but this book hands down is a well written book. I enjoyed everything about this book. I also enjoyed the characters,and the plot.

    Ruby lives in the bayou of south Louisiana, she lives in poverty with her grandparents, Grandmere Catherine and Grandpere Jack, never knowing who her parents were (her mother's dead, and her father is unknown at the moment).

    However, Ruby is still a captivating series, filled with Cajun-style superstitions and horrible family secrets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2008

    A reviewer

    this here book is amazing!! i'm almost done with the series, i'm on tarnsihed gold. and well this story just takes you through a rollercoaster of emotions.. at times your exstatic for ruby, then your sad, then your extremely angry at her for her stupidity at times.. its just great.. and i am from baton rouge, louisiana and have lived here my entire life and the parts of the state that are in the bayou areas its very much like it is described in the book but all of louisiana is like that, and we dont burst out in little french expressions and what not. but yes its very well described and i absolutly loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2007

    a vc andrews fan

    i am a huge vc andrews fan! i have alot of her books, i want to buy them all. every book that she writes is exceptionally intresting. i have read alot of books and believe me vc andrews is the best, if you are into novels. her stories are brilliant and will keep you guessing. every time i start one of her books, i can't put it down until i have read it cover to cover. the third book in this series is called ''all that glitters'' this book actually made me cry! it was so emotional. what a writer!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2007

    A Must Read

    I remember when I first read this book back when I was 14 'I'm 19 now'. I was so enthralled. Ruby is just a simple girl from humble beginnings. Little does she know about the world outside the bayou, but her Grandmere Catherine tells her that one day she will travel to the big city of New Orleans. I wouldn't go as far as to call her stupid, but I'd say she was very gullible and innocent. I think she let too many people use her. Otherwise it's a nice Saturday afternoon read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2006

    Was different

    Ill say this, it was different then anyother story line from VC Andrews. I did like the twin sister thing, and it did cause a lot of conflict that was good for the story. I didnt like however that even after the whole institution thing that Ruby's father stayed with Daphne. I mean really what parent would stay with someone who tryed to lock there child up. Other then that i think it was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2005

    one of her best series

    This seris is one of the best she has written. I had heard that the books written by the 'ghostwritter' after she died were not as good. And after reading the Logan Orphan, and hudson series i did not think they were as good as the dolanger series. These books are very fast paced and take interesting turns that you would never expect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2005

    EXTORDINARY BOOK.

    I love v.c. andrews, ruby was wonderfull. It made me relize that having a sister bond means so much. and well, it was good i think you should read it. Its about a girl name ruby who lives in the bayou, she has an okay life until one day when she finds devesting news then she has to go to new orlens to find her father since her mother died when she was born. anyways she ends meeting a cute boy, an evil sister, and a horrible step mother. So now poor ruby is stuck in new orleans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2004

    THE BEST!

    I loved this series and I think any other teenage girl would, I have read so many of her books and I'm absolutely hooked !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4