Customer Reviews for

Ruby Among Us

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 13, 2009

    Wonderful Christian writing

    I'm going to be quite honest.I did not expect to enjoy this novel.Why? I enjoy reading horror and mystery novels which are usually quite peppered with a liberal dose of salty tongue.What did I discover? A very well written mystery/love story without a single off color word.Wow!That takes supreme talent. Your second novel is on my must-read list.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2009

    Beautiful Debut Novel

    Tina Forkner¿s debut novel Ruby Among Us is beautifully written and transports you to the lush, rich Sonoma Valley. Ruby¿s daughter, Lucy, struggles to put the pieces together to discover the story of her deceased mother. Her efforts bring into focus not only Ruby¿s story but that of Kitty, the grandmother who raised her, and the story of Lucy herself. <BR/><BR/>Ruby Among Us is a tale of generational love and finding redemption from the past by dealing with the present. I loved the story of Ruby, Kitty, and Lucy and fell in love with the beautiful language and moving prose penned by Forkner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Book!

    I just loved this book - very readable and the characters are so endearing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very well written!

    Beautiful story full of mystery and hope!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ruby Among Us is truely a jewel!

    I enjoyed Ruby Among Us in particular because of the interesting approach to a young girls way of dealing with an unresolved set of emotions and memories. The intertwining of characters is quite compelling. While there is mystery to the novel, there is also a sense of satisfaction with the answers. The novel is truely worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2008

    An Inspirational Garden

    This lovely, sweet story is like a gentle stroll in a rose garden. There are velvety blooms of love, thorns of past hurts and fears, new buds of hope and innocence, tangled thick stems of hidden truths and lies, the faded blooms of past memories and of what might have been, and at the center the beautiful, heart-warming discovery of the most beautiful flowers of all: faith and unconditional love. Readers of inspirational stories will especially enjoy this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    Ruby Rocks!

    I didn't know what to expect when I received Ruby Among Us in the mail, but it didn't take long for the story to pull me in. Michelle expresses it well when she says that the story starts deep, but the depth is necessary to understand why Lucy, the protagonist thinks, acts and feels the way she does. She yearns to remember her mother Ruby who died when Lucy was eight years old, yet grandmother Kitty is hesitant to fill in the many missing pieces of the puzzle that makes up their heritage. As time passes the pieces of her family's past fall into place for Lucy and she finds she has come full circle, rediscovering herself and a faith in God she thought she never had. I loved this book. Forkner's writing style brings alive the setting in a way that the Sonoma Valley becomes a character on its own. She opens up her characters hearts and draws the reader inside until you almost feel as though you are one with them. I look forward to many more books from Ms. Forkner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful and emotionally moving story!

    Ruby Among Us starts with a heavy theme, but it's important in order to understand Lucy's perspective throughout the story. If you love and miss your mother who has passed on, this story will move you to tears of healing and unleash memories of love. My mother had gone to be with the Lord for over ten years now, and reading Ruby Among Us sparked memories of loving times as I reached the conclusion of the book. I don't want to give away any key plot points because half the pull of this story is not knowing imporant things about Lucy, Kitty and Ruby's pasts, and wanting so desperately to find out that you have trouble putting the book down. Forkner's writing style and voice is fresh, unique, and insightful. It's beautiful how she pulls you into the heart and mind of someone sheltered from life so much that she truly is an innocent in many of the things that take place around her. But the fresh, healing experiences she embraces, and her journey toward trusting others outside her immediate family is exciting and deep. And the romantic portions of this book are WONDERFUL and exciting. I felt my heart being tugged and moved with the tiny steps of faith that Lucy made toward healing...and toward love. For someone who has always had a father in her life, it was eye-opening for me to see how truly painful it is for a young woman to never have a father figure in her life. In fact, so much pain is evoked that the hurt can taint choices and destroy a young woman's security for years to come. Our culture has tried very hard to shut down the importance of a man's role in a family and in a daughter's heart. Ruby Among Us beautifully illustrates how erroneous this belief is. For that reason alone I would love to see many men embrace this book. The bummer is that this story was so good I'm sad it had to end. I am praying that Waterbrook has enough sense to realize that readers will want more of Forkner's work in their hands, so hopefully there will be a sequel coming. Pretty please?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    I Love Ruby

    I finished Ruby last night and loved it! Now, I want to go back and read it slower so I can absorb more. When I read a good book, I speed through it to get to the end to see what the big ¿kicker¿ is, etc., but I never read the end of the book first. So, now, I want to go back and sink into all of the descriptors and pictures you¿ve drawn. I really enjoyed your story, although, I¿ll have to admit, I could see myself in it a few times¿scary..so, if that is what you were trying to do¿Good Job! I can see why you have had such wonderful reviews on your book, and now I¿ll be first in line for your second one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2008

    Tina Forkner is off to a great start

    This is a tale well told by a gifted young author. Forkner kept me turning the pages all the way to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    This is a superb character study

    Her mother Ruby died when Lucy DiCamillo was eight years old. Her maternal grandmother Kitty raised Lucy with love. Now an adult, Lucy wants to know more about her late mom than mostly the memories shared by her beloved grandmother, but fears any inquiries she makes might hurt Kitty.------------------ Lucy slowly learns why Ruby was a single mom raising her. She also begins to gain other pieces of her mom¿s life before Lucy was born and over the eight years they lived together. As she begins uncover secrets that enable her to start to know her mom beyond just her grandmother¿s memories of her daughter, Lucy also understands much more what makes Kitty tick and she realizes her granny will always love and cherish her.------------ This is a superb character study of a young adult needing her own personal connection to her late mom who died when she was a child. As Lucy investigates her maternal family tree, she tries to do so without hurting her grandma yet begins to have a nagging feeling that everyone else knows secrets they keep from her. Fans will accompany Lucy on her personal quest as she needs to feel Ruby amongst her.----------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2008

    Vibrant and Visual Writing

    Ms. Forkner's visual pen had me almost smelling the profusion of red roses. The story tugged me in at the very beginning. The unknowns kept me grabbing the book whenever I had a minute. I shed a tear here and there and reveled in the lush vineyards of Sonoma Valley. A warm, emotional, beautiful read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2008

    A charming journey

    Ruby Among Us is an excellent novel that makes you think of the relationships that surround us and inspires you to search out your family heritage. Lucy is a young woman with a past that is a mystery to her. With the help of her grandmother, the tale of her family and her mother Ruby is unwoven before you. This novel is beautifully written by Tina Ann Forkner to draw you into to the picturesque area of Northern California and into the characters themselves. Forkner writes Ruby Among Us with an intrigue that keeps you reading to the very last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    A reviewer

    Tina Forkner's first novel shows great promise in her skills as a writer. I enjoyed the depth of her character development. Lucy's realization that she does not really remember her mother takes the story to a whole new level. Lucy matures before your eyes as she delves deeper into the truths of her family. There is mystery surrounding the events in the story which kept me envolved in the novel until the very end. There are many other characters in the story that add to its depth and intrigue. I highly recommend this novel to readers and I look forward to more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1