Customer Reviews for

Ruby Among Us

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book is a gem!

    Tina Ann Forkner's debut novel is a book that brings the reader to a place to reflect on their own family history. The journey of Lucy and Kitty is one that will pull on your heart strings the whole way through.

    Tina paints a vivid picture of the CA wine country. There we are introduced immediately to the loss of Lucy's mother, Ruby. Their relationship is so rich and precious. Lucy is left in the care of her grandmother whom she refers to as Kitty. Kitty's goal is to keep Lucy away from not only her past, but Ruby's past as well. As Lucy matures and enters college, her desire to learn more about her past becomes an obsession.

    It becomes a battle of the wills between Kitty and Lucy. Circumstances begin to happen which continue to encourage Lucy on her journey. You can see the Lord's hand moving throughout and know He's drawing her into a relationship with him as well.

    In the end, Tina's character's will have you reflecting on your own life. Are there secrets that you've kept that have bound you more than set you free? Are there things you could still change for the positive if things haven't gone so smoothly? In the end, this journey wasn't just for Lucy, it was one for me as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    A scenic drive straight to the heart

    Sometimes getting to the most scenic view at the top of a mountain takes a little extra time, and the same is true of this lovely book. The thorough development of the characters in this book is what makes it so rich, but there are no short-cuts to achieve that goal. So as you read, remember that when you get to the top of the mountain and can look down on the literary valley Forkner has created for you, you'll be glad for the journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Lovely book, lovely setting, lovely characters

    Tina has found her voice in her premiere novel, Ruby Among Us. This is a rich character story filled with human failing yet bringing us hope for redemption. It took me a little while to figure out the mother-daughter-grandmother names but once I figured out who was who, I fell in love with all of them. I am excited to read Tina's next book when it is released this spring!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Truth Will Set You Free

    This is a very thought provoking and moving book. Tina tells a tale that is intense. The plot is intricately woven with many twists and turns. The curiosity, pain and deep yearning of Lucy to get to the truth of her life, her mother's life and her grandmothers kept me reading this book every chance I could get to see if the truth would ever come out. This book showed me a word picture for John 8:32 which says "You will know the truth and the truth will set you free." Lucy longed to be free of the family secrets but how? <BR/><BR/>Kitty was the keeper of the family secrets. Her heart was broken and her spirit crushed by the storms of life. Kitty felt that she had to hold onto these secrets to survive. This book showed another word picture for Psalm 34:18 which says "The Lord is close to the broken hearted; He rescues those whose spirits are crushed." <BR/><BR/>This story also is about forgiveness, redemption, and new beginnings. I was compelled to keep reading this rich story to find out if Lucy could put the pieces of her life together. The life she never knew she had. Her Heritage. It's definitely a page turner! <BR/><BR/>Book Club Servant Leader www.psalm516.blogspot.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    "Ruby Among Us" by Tina Ann Forkner

    "Ruby Among Us" is an outstanding novel from debut author Tina Ann Forkner. The story of 3 generations of women and the men they love is woven among the lush scenery of the places they cherish. Long-held family secrets unravel in a unique writing style that brings the characters to life and is at the same time both honest and sensitive about topics rarely brought out in Christian fiction. This is a fast-paced read that at times leaves you breathless to learn both the history and the future of characters you come to love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    'Family Secrets'

    ¿This is a very thought provoking and moving book. Tina tells a tale that is intense. The plot is intricately woven with many twists and turns. The curiosity, pain and deep yearning of Lucy to get to the truth of her life, her mother¿s life and her grandmothers kept me reading this book every chance I could get to see if the truth would ever come out. This book showed me a word picture for John 8:32 which says ¿You will know the truth and the truth will set you free.¿ Lucy longed to be free of the family secrets but how? Kitty was the keeper of the family secrets. Her heart was broken and her spirit crushed by the storms of life. Kitty felt that she had to hold onto these secrets to survive. This book showed another word picture for Psalm 34:18 which says ¿The Lord is close to the broken hearted He rescues those whose spirits are crushed.¿ This story also is about forgiveness, redemption, and new beginnings. I was compelled to keep reading this rich story to find out if Lucy could put the pieces of her life together. The life she never knew she had. Her Heritage. It¿s definitely a page turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    Thought-provoking read

    This to me was a very thought-provoking book about family and the perceptions we ourselves have of our own families. Sometimes things are not as they appear and sometimes people make bad choices. This is a story about Ruby and the choices she made in her life and how they affected those around her. Do you ever wonder how the choices you make may affect others? Like I said, this was very thought provoking and definitely a worthwhile read. I loved the characters and couldn't wait to get more of them. Each page brought forth a new revelation that kept me spinning and seeking to learn more about the details that brought them to the choices they made. This is a book that I would highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2008

    A Lovely & Moving First Novel

    Every family has secrets. For Lucy DiCamillo, who lost all memory of her early childhood at the time of her mother's tragic death, it seems that every day uncovers something knew to deal with. In Ruby Among Us Tina Ann Forkner weaves together memorable characters and a unique setting to create a standout debut novel. She explores the complicated relationships between mothers and daughters with honesty, and shows how the secrets we keep inside can eat us alive. This novel is a mixture of heartbreak, reconciliation and joy. I thoroughly enjoyed every bit of it, and look forward to the next offering from this talented new author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2008

    A Memorable Tale

    In her debut novel, Forkner explores the relationship between three generations of mothers and daughters with the sensitivity of a seasoned novelist. When her young, single-mother dies, eight-year-old Lucy loses her memories of Ruby. Grandmother Kitty moves in to raise Lucy. But as Lucy grows up, she's no longer satisfied with Kitty's memories of Ruby. Lucy wants her own and begins to search for them. Forkner does an extraordinary job of drawing the reader into the mystery surrounding Lucy's heritage and her grandmother's past. As she struggles to regain some memory of Ruby and delve into the secrets everyone else seems to know, you'll feel as if you're walking beside Lucy, discovering each piece of the puzzle with her. I loved how Forkner resisted telling too much before Lucy discovered it, which created a very credible tale. If you're a mother or a daughter, you're going to love Ruby Among Us. I give it a high recommendation and look forward to more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1