Customer Reviews for

The Ruby in the Smoke (Sally Lockhart Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2007

    Amazing

    Honestly, I do not understand why all the attention has gone to the Dark Materials trilogy when Pullman's real achievement is the Sally Lockhart series. These books are brilliant. I do not say that lightly. The characters are fully developed and engaging. Pullman effortlessly mixes in bits of history, drawing fascinating parallels between technological advances, social changes, the transformations of global capital, and European political upheavals. All of this while managing to pull off breathless page turners.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2007

    i loved it

    i am rereading the ruby in the smoke for the second time i loved it i was very glad about her learning about her real father but didn t get a chance to met him

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    In the past, i have read the golden compass, and i thought it was very well written. It kept me excited throughout the book. Now after reading the The Ruby In the Smoke, i was absolutely blown away. I mean, honestly, i really can't describe! plz read it. This book is so fantastic, you wont regret it! look at the other reviews and how many stars they gave it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2006

    Phillip Pullman's best book yet!

    Phillip Pullman has an amazing style. He writes with great detail but keeps your eyes glued to the story at the same time. He has a suspenseful plot that is great for any age and will keep you reading untill you are finnished. Also I was really happy to read about such a strong female charactor, because so many books now have charactors who care more about how they look than who the murderer is. This book is so well writen and suspenseful I found myself relating my life to Sally's. READ IT! What have you got to lose? You win the experience of reading one of the most amazing books I have read. I read alot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2006

    An Amazing book.

    I have read many books after this one and it still reamains one of the best books I've ever read. It is a great mystery and will keep you turning the pages untill it is impossible for you to stay awake any longer. I think it is an outstanding book, and I always will.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2005

    I was Glued To It!!!!

    The Ruby In The Smoke Was so magnifacent I couldn't get my eyes off it! It was very detailed and beautifuly writen. You'll be done in two days! (Like I Was)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2004

    WOW!

    This book was excellent! It kept me reading and reading. I never knew what was going to happen next. All the suspense was killing me! I'm very excited to pick up the next 2, but I am very sad that it ends there! Mr. Pullman, if you ever read this, please write more about Miss Sally Lockhart!!! Keep up the great writing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2004

    Th greatest book that I have ever read!

    This was one of the best books that I have ever read! It is captivating and it is very hard to put it down. Whoever likes murder mysteries and historical fiction will absolutely love this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2003

    Super Sally!!!!!

    I'm really enjoying this book, even if I am only at page 40!!It is full of intrigue and mystery.I've been looking for a great to read for about a month and I finally found one!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2003

    Best Ever: Pullman at his best

    Book is a great read! You can't put it down, Sally Lockhart, a sixteen year old girl who is out to avenge her father's death is a true herione!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2002

    Great Book

    Phillip Pullman is by far the best author. He is also my favorite author! I have read his dark materials triology (those are my favorite) and I am currently getting intrested in the sally Lockheart books. This book makes you think and it's not confusing! It follows a tiwsting plot and is all revealed at the end. You always think its over but then you uncover a new catch. I reccomend this to anyone who wants to read a good book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2002

    Really good book!!!

    I really like this story,it's my favourite series of Phillip Pullman's books.I think he writes really good books!!! Although in The Tin Princess,i think Sally could have been in it a bit more, but i still really enjoyed it!!! My favourite part was when Sally hid in Fred's tent thing, when Mrs Holland was after her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2002

    An excellent and intriguing book

    Pullman really knows how to write books. I loved his other books (the 'his dark materials trilogy', and the other two sally lockhart books.) He is a mastermind in writing complex, and well devoloped books. I really liked this book and have read it over and over again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2002

    Connected Irony

    I thought that connecting the storys was dynamic. It was a book of self discovery. The books title was so perfect in irony, I really enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2002

    Something new

    All the people at school are saying 'This book is confusing!' 'It's hard to follow!' and even teachers are saying it's the hardest book on the 2002 English Festival booklist. But I absolutely enjoyed it- I was pulled into the book and lived every minute of it with the characters. I'd love to read the other books in the triology!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2001

    Wonderful!!!

    I loved this book, along with Pullman's others. Also like the others, i could NOT put it down!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2001

    A Very Cool Book

    This book is great!! If you like mysteries or historical fiction, then you have to read this book. The time period is great and the plot is so good that I couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2001

    Philip Pullman uses his pen in mysterious ways...

    .. perhaps. I first read The Golden Compass, and immediatley fell in love with the book. Skeptical of his other writings, I went to the library to check out The Subtle Knife. Finding that it was already checked out, I decided to read one of his other works, but was convinced I was not going to like my selection -- the Sally Lockhart triliogies. However, I read The Ruby In The Smoke the very next day (and finished it within an evening, I tend to read fast.) and could not wait to begin reading the sequels!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2001

    Wonderful Book!

    This is a wonderful book. It was hard to put it down! Philip Pullman is an excellent author. Some may say it is too hard to understand for a kid, but I'm 11 and I loved it! I would recommend it to any of my friends. Anyone who loves mysteries should read this book. Even if you don't like mysteries, if you read 'The Ruby in the Smoke', you will start loving mysteries.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2001

    Incredible!

    This was one of the books that I will always remember! It doesn't matter if you like SF or you are a teenager ( I am not), the book is going to impress you. I strongly recommend it to everybody.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3