Customer Reviews for

Rubyfruit Jungle

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2015

    Amazingly Relatable!

    An in your face, take no prisoners sort of novel that touches the parts of you that still dares to be your own person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    Tests

    Oh my&smile oh my &#9786 oh my&#6453 oh my&3120

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Firestar to Morningclan

    The warriors den is a tree with sits in the corner. Its trunk is hollowed out, and the only way to get in is the hole near the bottom. An escape hole it at the middle, sunlight streams through also. Nests sit inside of it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    An amazing, funny novel, nothing I expected. Steers away from butch&femme thank goodness.

    At first I was scared that this book would scare me off, as I hate reading books where plots take place in the 50s-60s. All I can imagine are bad hair do's, ancient clothes, and just plain boredom. It didn't help either that this book was published 15 years before I was born. But as I read the first few pages, I found myself laughing out loud at my local B&N. Even though some of the years were mentioned, with the aid of the hilarious sarcastic humor Rita Mae Brown expresses through her characters, it did not phase my interests, and it was easy to imagine everything took place in recent years. I read earlier reviews, and I disagree with some. I'm only 20 and I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It is NOT one for only 35+. Also, those who are looking for a book about beautiful feminine lesbians together that actually has humor and laughs, and not the sterotypical butch and femme love stories that are serious and always end up sad or all about sex, this is the one for you. I've spent forever to find one! This was my first time FINISHING a lesbian fiction, and my first time reading a Rita Mae Brown novel She definitely did not disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2005

    Awesome

    Hilarious and insightful! This book will keep you holding on; the lead character is absolutely amazing. I love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2005

    loved it!

    It was the first lesbian book I read. then I went and bought more of her books. I could have read more. I didn't want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2004

    The best book ever!!!!!!!!!!

    When I started to read this book I thought it was dull. The she came more a live. I could not stop reading it. I don't read books unless I have to for school but my step mom wanted me to and I could not put it down. I came out last year I was 16 years old. Some people have been real nice I get looks sometimes but I don't care I am who I am. My mom did not like it one bit she said I was going to hell. but I don't care what she says I know she still loves me and thats all that matters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2003

    I love the character of Molly Bolt!

    I finished this book in a day, it was so good. I have read many books and I have to say I enjoyed this book so much, I didn't want it to end. I could have read 400 more pages easily. The character of Molly Bolt is definitely one of my favorite fictional characters that I've had the pleasure of reading about. I related to her in many different ways. She is the kind of girl that I find fascinating. Rita Mae Brown is a tremendous talent and I absolutely loved this book. Anyone who hasn't read it, definitely needs to read this book. And I will definitely be reading more of Brown's work. Great Book! Couldn't put it down, each page was beyond exciting and entertaining. Very relatable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2003

    A Must Read!!!!! -Dont judge a book by its cover

    When I first saw the cover of the book I did not expect much; but I must admit that the author blew me away. When you read the book you feel like you are apart of the story; you almost feel like the charecters are talking to you. A great peice of literature!! I only wish that ohers wrote books like this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2002

    Terrific

    This is a coming of age novel that stands above the rest! it doens't follow the usual formula and instead pulls the reader in with wit and a great main character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2001

    A thought

    I was never really one to willingly read anything on my own but when I came here and read a little about this book I was hooked. When I got it I couldn't put it down. I am a writer and I can attribute some of my greatest inspirations to this book. It also helped me to understand my first love and why she did some of the things she did. I felt for the people in this book because I began to see them as real representations of people in my life. You will dread finding the last page. I don't know if there is a sequel but I hope there is or that she is thinking of writing one soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2000

    Queen of it all

    I have read other books as an adolescent identity searching, including: The Revolution of Little Girls, Am I Blue?, Annie on My Mind, and Terminal Velocity, but this one is the premiere of identity fiction. This is the climactic book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2000

    One of the Realist Stories I Have Ever Read

    This is one of the best books out there. The way that Ria Mae Brown writes is absolutely amazing. The story is so real. It's not like one of those stupid books where best friends kiss once, and then spend the rest of the book trying to figure out if they are gay, and they leave each other. No, it's a fasnicating story about a young woman who doesn't give a damn about what anyone else thinks, which is a wonderful quality. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to read an inspiring book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1