Customer Reviews for

Ruffian: Burning from the Start

Average Rating 5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    A gem of a book

    Schwartz brings us back to the early 1970's as she recounts the birth of a big black filly who was destined to be outstanding. I found myself hesitant to read this book as I knew the outcome, but after the first few pages I couldn't put it down. This is the first book that made me dread the end as I got closer to Ruffian's fatal Match Race with Foolish Pleasure, I found myself physically ill, and this is also the first book to have made me cry. The author captures Ruffian's grooms, trainer, riders, and fans perfectly and it is obvious she spent hours researching this filly's life. this book is truly outstanding, and easy enough for anyone- anyone- to read and love. This book is deserving of Ruffian.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Loved It!

    Beautiful & thrilling to know such a horse but sad in the end. Racehorses are phenomenal creatures. They train their hearts out and sometimes things happen. All the same, this is great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2008

    Heart of a Champion

    Ruffian was class, beauty, and likely the best filly horse racing has ever seen. This book is a touching tribute to a remarkable athlete and champion. She was flawless on the track including a sweep of the Triple Tiara. This story brings us not only into her accomplishments but into the lives of the people who were involved in her legendary life. She touched not only the hearts of people who watched her race but a legacy of racing fans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    Ruffian: a Racing Legend

    This is a truly heart touching story of Ruffian's life that is a must read for horse and race lovers. This book is very detailed and follows Ruffian's life from the very beginning. This book taught me a lot about this horse and how amazing she really was. I highly recommend this book if you are interested in the life of Ruffian.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2007

    this horse was amazing

    Ruffian was, by far, the most incredible filly to ever walk onto the track. i've loved horse racing for awhile, and it was shortly after poor Barbaro's breakdown that i got interested in Ruffian. i was reading an article about racehorses who were great but had a track tragedy and Ruffian was mentioned. so i got this book and my gosh. it was amazing, i sobbed at the end. so now i'd have to say my fave racehorses of all time are Barbaro and Ruffian. i highly suggest this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2006

    Ruffian: Burning from the Start

    Ruffian was flawless. What made Ruffian so grate destroyed her, but she loved it, she loved to run. Her speed was out of this world as a quote from the book 'In three jumumps she had widened her lead from one lenght to seven.' horses just don't run like that, and thats what was so amazing about Ruffian. Ruffian is undiscribable, her freakiness, and she showed the world she had the heart to win every time. she was alwies in front and thats where she belonged.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    Capturing the heart of a champion....

    Jane Schwartz has written a great book about a truly, great horse! Ruffian is quite possibly the best female racehorse of all time, and it is ashame the world will never really know how great she really was. In ten short races, she made a name for herself which is simply stunning considering today a horse has to win the Kentucky Derby in order to get any sort of non-racing fan press. Schwarz captures the lives of those closest to the filly also such as her trainer Frank Whitely, and her grooms, excercise rider and jockey. Seabiscuit was better, but Jane Schwartz's book on Ruffian was a close second. It is certainly the best book on Ruffian out there. A must read for any horse racing fan. She was a gifted horse, that is immortalized forever by this great book. She deserved no less.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2005

    Ruffian is my heroine!

    Ruffian was an amazing horse, and no racehorse will ever equal her. She is the greatest there ever was because she tried to run on a broken leg, she just couldn't stand to be beaten...She broke so many records, and she was so game. It's not fair what happened to her...why her of all horses? She never stopped trying, and this book highlights all her glory. She is truly the greatest racehorse to ever set hoof on a track, and I truly believe she could beat Man o' War and Secretariat and Citation. This book was really good, and it would make an awesome movie. (Hint, hint to any producers reading this.) P.S. If you want to e-mail me about Ruffian, feel free

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2004

    AWESOME BOOK!!!

    This book really tells you what Ruffian was all about!! If you want to learn a lot about her or just want to read about the filly, get this book!! Ruffian was an amazing horse! Maybe even the greatest racehorse..(No one will ever know)I didn't want to put this book down, but I almost didn't want to read some of it..cause of the way life ended for Ruffian..This was one of the best books I've ever read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2003

    Ruffian is AWESOME!!!

    This was a fabulous book and although I knew what happened in the end, I couldn't put it down! Jane Schwartz captures your attention right away! Also it is interesting to follow Ruffian from the very beginning of her carrer including her training, which I was intrigued by. If you are a horse lover and like to read, you would LOVE this book!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2002

    IT'S AWESOME....the best book i've ever read!

    Ruffian Burning from the Start was an AWESOME book! Once I got around 3/4s of the way through it, i started to get a little depressed. I was sad because I didn't want to finish the book, because it was SO Fantastic! Although, I am a huge race fan and have always admired the legacy of Ruffian you, the reader, really doesn't have to be a race fan to LOVE this book. Before I read this book I read the award winning novel Seabiscuit. That was a great book that won many awards and is now going to be made into a movie. Although the novel Seabiscuit won many awards nothing compares to, or is even in the same league as this book. This piece of literature is phenomenal and I highly reccommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Best racehorse was...

    Man o' War he won 20 for 21 one second place in sanford but was carrying alot more then the others. He destroyed track records setting track, american and world records. He also carried more weight at ages2 and3 then most horses ever would. And would have defeated secretariat citition and ruffian if he raced them. If you read this reply at this exact book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Ruffian

    This is a great book, my favorite about the greatest filly ever to set foot on a racetrack as my favorite qoute says " It was the larger than life filly with the perfect record; the coal black daughter of Reviewer and Shenanagains; the speedball, the beauty, the female, the freak.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book.

    This is a great book, I learned a lot about Ruffian's life on the

    racetrack and her unfortunate death.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Who ever wroute cant stop crying

    First ruffian is a girl not a boy thats why they where some amazed that she could run so fast

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Sounds like a ruffian all right

    Schwartz never said she split horses of quality i still think secretariat is way better though ruffian was good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2007

    Ruffian: Burning from the Start

    her name is slowly being forgotten she is just another horse who raced on the track and her life was cut short a broken leg but this book brings her name back to the world and shows that this one horse made sush a differnce in the raceing world.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2006

    Can't stop crying.

    I was crying when I finished this book last evening and today I am still crying. I loved this book, I couldn't put it down. Did not watch match race between Ruffian and Foolish Pleasure. Vaguely remember the tragedy. Became interested in horses after Barbaro injury. What wonderful animals. I fell in love with Ruffian and my heart ached for all of the people who also loved him and took care of him. Rest in peace, Ruffian. Annie

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2006

    I have not read the book but tears are coming down my cheeks.

    I love animals!! Horses and dogs are my favorite. I will read this book. It's Kentucky Derby time and I become very excited and touched by the stories which are exposed on cable. I love this horse and never touched her. It's not touching that is important, but her spirit that still prevails. God, thank you for giving us the opportunity to feel your presents on this earth.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2