Customer Reviews for

Ruined (Entangled Embrace)

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    Lindsay

    *Walks in and unpacks*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Ruined by Jus Accardo was everything I had hoped it would be and

    Ruined by Jus Accardo was everything I had hoped it would be and then some!  I have always, ALWAYS enjoyed Jus Accardo’s books and this one blew me away!

    The cool part about this book is that the main character, Jax, is descended from Cain…you know, the story from the bible where Cain killed his brother, Abel.  Basically, Jax has to live with a demon inside of him who wants nothing more than to repeat history and have Jax kill his brother, Chase.  So, to protect his brother and get rid of the clawing need to kill his brother, Jax leaves town…leaving the only father he has ever really known, Rick, and the love of his life, Sam.

    But because life likes to throw in those curve balls, Jax finds himself back in town because of Rick’s health.  Not only does he confront his brother again (who btw, the demon still wants to kill – absence makes the heart grow fonder – NOT), but he comes face to face with Sam.  Old feelings come to the surface, and Jax knows that he needs to get the heck out of dodge, but something…or rather someone is making it difficult for him to say goodbye.

    Samantha had left town to go to college to get away from memories.  But when she gets attacked on campus, she heads back home to try and start over again.  But a blast from the past shows up from nowhere, and Sam has to revisit feelings that she has tried to forget.  But it seems someone is out to get her, and no matter where she goes, her life is in danger.

    Jax vows to keep Sam safe…Sam vows to keep her feelings for Jax under control.  Throw in a little supernatural excitement, and you’re in for one heck of a ride.

    Ruined by Jus Accardo had pretty much everything I want in a book:  dark, mysterious, sexy bad boy?  Check.  Intriguing supernatural element? Check.  Some sexy time that will leave you a little hot and bothered?  Double check.  Various twists and turns that leaves your head spinning?  Checkity check check.

    As in all Jus Accardo’s books, it literally only takes the first few pages to get you completely hooked in the storyline.  The characters in the book are ones that have their own personalities, and ones that readers will come to adore…bad traits and all.  I loved reading how much difficulty Jax had in trying not to kill his brother, and how we are shown the flipside (aka the demon side)  of what Jax’s demon wants to do to the brother.  Very visual…very awesome!  I will admit that there were a couple of plot twists in this book that had me gasp aloud and utter a shocking “no way!”.

    One of the cool aspects of this book that really had me wanting to read it was the twist on the story of Cain and Abel.  Ruined by Jus Accardo kind of reminded me of Dexter, with a dash of Supernatural and Buffy the Vampire Slayer.  And speaking of BTVS, any book that references this iconic television series will always be a big WIN!

    Fans of supernatural reads and are curious about the Cain and Abel spin will completely devour Ruined by Jus Accardo.  As a New Adult read, there is a little bit of something for everyone!  And it also helps that Jax is hella fine…

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Mckenna

    Walks in and unpacks.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Poseidon's Cabin

    His kids go here

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I received this book in exchange for an honest review. Okay so

    I received this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Okay so the Flynn boys are just a-maz-ing! No joke! Chase is a bad good boy and Jax... Jax is a very bad but very very good boy, they are brothers and they are twins.

    I had no problem keeping the read going with this one. This is a book I say clear your day for. Um yeah... that good.

    It's gritty and rough and I love that. The characters are great the Flynn boys, yes! Uncle Rick and most definitely the strong willed Samantha. Even the dive bar employees are great and Jus Accardo paints such a good picture I could feel the sticky floors of The Viking and feel the shivers that Sam did from each touch from Jax.

    It was gripping and the plot was a mesmerizing thrill ride with twists and turns like I have never read before. The whole Cain and Abel thing was a really intriguing concept to say the least. The town of Harlow was a great backdrop to all of the interesting events.

    The entire situation kept me glued to the pages and reading as fast as I could, I zoned everything and everyone out on this read and got lost in all that is the turmoil of Jax Flynn.

    I was along and loving every twist, every agonizing revelation and every painful pleasure.

    And wow the climax and ending of this story are not what I expected and unpredictable and I like that alot. Jus Accardo is a brilliant author that I will most definitely be reading more of!

    I would most definitely recommend this NA Paranormal Fantasy read to anyone with a love for swoon worthy, action packed, supernatural plots. This one is unique in nature and as chilling as it is steamy and gripping.

    I don't thing five measly hearts is a high enough rating for the book that kept me hanging on every single word like my life depended on it.

    I received an ARC copy and it had very few errors. I would read this book again for sure and most likely will before the release of book 2 in The Eternal Balance series by Jus Accardo.

    Ruined was the subject of my Fab Read Friday #FRF2014

    This is a snippet from that post...

    "I am smack dab in the middle of this book. I started reading Ruined this morning and have put it down reluctantly. I even missed dinner! It's been that good so far. I like the grittiness of the story and the storyline is pure genius.

    It is most definitely skyrocketing to the top of my favorite couples list of 2014 for sure. I realize it's early on in the year but I am pretty sure this one is gonna stay with me.

    It is indeed turning out to be the best NA Paranormal Fantasy I have read lately.

    Jax and Chase Flynn make this a swoon worthy read too. *sigh*

    Team Jax! (heehee)

    Samantha brings the edgy good but bad girl vibe to the table very well. Love it!

    The whole plot is really great and unique. I like something fresh and unlike anything else I have read. The characters are well developed and I am loving the interaction and the twisted nature of it all. It is action packed and has just the right amount of steamy goodness." - S.V.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    Review of Ruined by Jus Accardo¿ Okay, if you¿ve read my blog fo

    Review of Ruined by Jus Accardo…
    Okay, if you’ve read my blog for any amount of time you’ve probably noticed a theme when it comes to my reviews. I only post reviews of books I like. First, because—big surprise—I like them and think you might like them too. And second, because I don’t like posting bad reviews. I know how much work goes into writing a book and how personal an author’s work becomes. I don’t want to write a review, which are always subjective, that may be considered negative. After all, what I don’t like, you may and vice versa.  I mean, I remember when Pulp Fiction (the movie…remember that one?) came out and the critics fell all over it. They thought it was the best thing since the invention of the wheel. Me? I turned it off after twenty minutes. I didn’t see the appeal. To each his or her own. So there. That’s why all my reviews are positive.  The negative reviews I file away in my secret little drawer called the shredder. 
    So, that being said (or typed as the case may be), you won’t be surprised by my next sentence. I LOVED “Ruined” by Jus Accardo. I could end my review right now because, really, enough said. The book is that good. It doesn’t need a review. It stands on its own.
    “Ruined” was one of the most original, creative pieces I’ve read relating to demons in, well, ever. In fact, it’s probably one of the most creative stories I’ve read in months. I loved the whole Cain and Abel angle. The “demon within” and fratricide thing. It was so very new and exciting. I read the book in a day and still wanted more.
    This was the first book of Accardo’s that I’ve read. It’s always a crap shoot when you pick up a new author’s work. You never know what you’re going to get (yeah, I thought about making that whole “life’s like a box of chocolates” joke. I barely restrained myself. Mainly because I’d really like some chocolate right now.) But I was really surprised by “Ruined.” Accardo’s work is not only original, but well thought out, has great pacing and well-defined and likable characters. And writing style that most readers will appreciate. What more can a reader ask for?  
    Oh, I’ll answer my own question…Jax. More Jax, puhleese! Yeah, he’s part demon, but he’s all kinds of swoony-male-hotness. Just the kind of brooding bad boy that makes for great male characters. But the thing about this bad boy? He’s not all bad. Even if he thinks he is. And that just makes him all the more swoon-worthy. Yeah…Jax. Sigh.
    But the good characters might start with Jax, but they don’t stop there. “Ruined” is filled with them. Jax is the evil twin, so of course there is a “good twin.” Enter Chase. He seems to have life wrapped up and tied with a golden bow, but things aren’t all that they seem. Then there’s Samantha, the jilted ex. She’s a great female lead. She’s not perfect. She has her own set of problems to deal with. She’s relatable and likable. She makes the perfect second half of Jax’s character.  “Ruined” also had a well-rounded cast of secondary characters that I found added a lot to the story, instead of being storyboard cut-outs.
    Bottom Line: Jus Accardo hit a home run with “Ruined.” She’s written a great story that’s entertaining and has a cast of great, well-rounded characters. But it’s also a story about familial ties, forgiving yourself, trusting others, and learning to believe in yourself. Layers, layers, layers. It’s more than just a paranormal romance. There’s substance between the lines of “Ruined” if you look for it. And that’s what’s going to make me search out more of Accardo’s work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2014

    Ruined is the story of Jax. On the surface, he is your typical b

    Ruined is the story of Jax. On the surface, he is your typical bad boy. But underneath all that smug attitude is a guy who is tormented constantly by the demon that lives inside him. Forced to cause pain and misery to others in order to feed the demon and lead some semblance of a life, Jax also fights against the struggle to kill his own brother every time they are around each other. Jax is a descendant of Cain and is cursed to repeat the sins of the past. After leaving town to save Chase's life, Jax returns to see his uncle who is very ill. Expecting that Chase is out of town, Jax is shocked to run into not only his brother but the love he left behind years ago. Sam is everything he wants but can never truly have. After being thrown together because of a recent attack on Sam, the two find themselves unable to deny their attraction.

    Now that's how you start a series! Honestly, I've been avoiding paranormal romance since I started getting tired of the same old thing over and over again. I was drawn in from the very beginning with this one. I've read a couple other books from the author but this book just blew every one of them out of the water. It even blew me out of a reading slump. So thank you for the swift kick in the butt that I needed, Jus Accardo. The author took the whole demon concept and somehow made it original and fresh. Using the story of Cain and Abel as the reason for the curse definitely made for a dynamic relationship between Jax and his brother, Chase. Not only did the author construct a well written story, but she also threw in a fiery romance. Jax and Sam reminded me so much of Katy and Daemon from the Lux series. Their chemistry just ignited the pages. I swooned. I giggled like an idiot. I was outraged when Jax pushed her away. I wanted my very own Jax. Add in the twisted triangle with the demon. The demon falls for Sam and she realizes that by loving Jax, she has to accept the demon too because he's a part of Jax. It was just so twisted and insane but it worked. Ruined had such a perfect balance of romance, mystery and action that I could not put it down. I sacrificed sleep to know what happens with Jax and Sam. I hated Chase but I loved him at the same time. As for the demon inside Jax, Azirak, I never would have imagined liking him, but I did. I normally don't like alternating POVs and find them very distracting, but I loved it for this book. Jax and Sam both had such a distinct voice that I never got confused as to who I was reading. Sam, while probably having the worst sense of self preservation ever, was such a delight as a character. She was spunky and strong. She wasn't your normal good girl changing the bad boy. She accepted him unconditionally and she was a little bad in her own way. I loved it. And the two characters just complimented each other perfectly.

    I have no complaints other than the ending, which was actually very good, but so many things were left unanswered. Bombs were dropped and the aftermath neglected to address them. But I will give the author a chance to rectify this with the next book in the series. After all, you have to leave 'em wanting more. And that's exactly what I wanted after reading this book. More. Now, please!

    *I was given a copy of this ebook from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Jus Accardo... Yes! Just yes. Ruined was a new adult demon fest

    Jus Accardo... Yes! Just yes. Ruined was a new adult demon fest of sexiness that I just could not put down! It's full of darkness, forbidden secrets, and so much tension that it was just strangled the pages with it's amazingness. I'd say another slay (pun intended) by Jus Accardo, for sure!




    I've read about demons before, but nothing like this. Nothing about Cain and Abel that I was actually interested in. Nothing like Jax. Jax stole me right from the beginning. He never pretends to be something he's not. He doesn't push down his darkness, yet at the same time you see deep down how good of a person he actually is. There were so many times I wanted to hug him, kick him... Hey, even jump him. Watching Jax struggle with his demon, his family, and Sammy just stole my heart.




    On the other side is Samantha Merrick, she was a lead girl that I absolutely loved. She constantly was bad ass, strong, and had her head in the game. There was nothing weak about her. The other thing I loved was how set she was on Jax... There was no teter-tottering feelings and I absolutely loved to see that. I feel like a lot times we see these girl characters who know they love the guy, but are like "maybe it's for the best if I stay away"... not Sam. Sam was all "I know who I want and I'm getting him!" and it completely rocked my world, ha!




    There was nothing about this book that wasn't bad-ass. I absolutely adored the world, adored the concept, adored the seductiveness of not only the characters, but the demons, too. Jus Accardo outstandingly wrote this new adult stunner, and I cannot wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    Nooooo!  This story cannot end this way!!!!  I am not going to g

    Nooooo!  This story cannot end this way!!!!  I am not going to give anything away but let me tell you book 2 better have some quick fixes.  This is a suspenseful, steamy and didn't see that coming book.  Ruined is one of the best paranormal books I have read in a long. time.  Hot, sexy twins, demons, a hard headed damsel and lots of action.  What more could you ask for?   I am eagerly waiting for the next book.  




    Thank you Entangled Publishing and NetGalley for ARC.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A dark, thrilling, and engaging New Adult romance. Ruined was an

    A dark, thrilling, and engaging New Adult romance. Ruined was an absolutely brilliant read. I loved this book! It was just amazing. From the wonderful characters, to the action, to the shocking secrets, this book was perfection.

    Sam was a lovely heroine. She was incredibly strong and determined. Nothing was going to keep her from getting what she wanted and protecting her loved ones. I liked that she wasn't the type of character to needlessly hold a grudge (unlike some), especially once she knew the whole story. I really liked her. She was totally badass.

    Jax was also amazing. Despite his denials, he was a truly good guy who did his best in a bad situation. He might believe himself to be evil, but the contrary was obvious in how determined he was to protect not only his loved ones, but any innocent. He was really sweet when he wanted to be and I adored him.

    The romance was great. Sam and Jax were wonderful together. I thought it was so sweet how, despite their years they spent apart, they still had feelings for each other. I loved how both of them were willing to sacrifice for the safety of the other. And there was definitely tons of chemistry between them. I thought they were a lovely couple.

    One part of this book that I particularly liked was how the author portrayed the relationship between Jax and his demon (Azirak). I thought it would just be parasitic, with Azirak doing everything he could do make Jax miserable. But, Azirak was actually a fully developed character that I actually ended up liking. And, I really liked how Jax and Azirak complemented each other, basically two sides of the same coin. I just loved how it was done.

    The plot was fast paced and I was utterly hooked the entire way through. There were tons of thrills that kept me on the edge of my seat and quite of few surprising secrets that blew me away. This book definitely wasn't predictable. I really enjoyed the story and the ending has me anxious for book 2.

    Ruined was a brilliant New Adult paranormal romance. I absolutely loved this book. The romance, the action, the secrets, the unpredictability. It was all perfect. Romance lovers, this book is a must read.

    *I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Unique and fast paced. This is the start of a new series for Ac

    Unique and fast paced.
    This is the start of a new series for Accardo and I for one cannot wait to see where she takes these characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2014

    I... Ok give me a sec to gather my thoughts... OMG Everytime I o

    I... Ok give me a sec to gather my thoughts... OMG Everytime I open a new Jus Accardo book I don't think she can get any better but she does and each character is unique and awesome like the last one. And her boys are sexy as hell! And Jax is actually from hell... Kinda... 




    Jax is a descendant from Cain, aka the first murderer so thanks to his sin, Jax has a demon shring his body. And making him do lots of... Unpleasent things. To protect those he loves from himself, Jax goes away but his uncle is dying so what was supposed to be a short goodbye visit turns into chaos.




    Jax, just as Cain wants to murder his twin brother, Chase, aka golden boy of town. So of course things in the Flynn house get a bit tense... 
    Enter Sam. The girl next door with an attitude, a dark past and an undying love for Jax. Also, someone wants to kill her...




    I just love love love this book. The story gets you right from the start. The characters all have their own voice and are really easy to connect. Having dual POV is easy to understand both side of the arguments and the sexual tension rivals the temperature in hell.




    Sam is everything Jax wants, unfortunately his Demon isn't so keen on happy feelings... 
    I did love the dynamic between the 3 of them. Sam and Jax have a history, which makes the entire story so believe when they can help the attraction between them. Is not insta love, is real love that never goes away.
    The way Jax and Azirak (the demon) act and interact is so captivating. The relationship between them is simbiotic, of hate and in a way they are one and the same.




    I can totally say that I never saw that twist at the end coming! The story is fast paced, going from scorching to freezing in the characters mood to heartbreaking and I'm-sitting-at-the-edge-of-my-seat moments. I couldn't put it down. 
    Jax has made it HIGH in my book boyfriend list. Top 10 high. He's caring but he defines bad boy. And his demonic side? Yeah, I love him too. Call me crazy, I don't care. 
    The hot scenes? Were REALLY hot. All that lust floating around... 








    This is the first time I read a story of this kind, miss Accardo is taking me by surprise lately with her plots but I totally love it. After all her great books I'll probably grab anything with her name on it.
    Ruined is a perfect read to finish 2013 or start the new year!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    HOLY HELL!! Literally! That book was some kind of ride!  First,

    HOLY HELL!! Literally! That book was some kind of ride! 

    First, this was my first Jus Accardo book. I have all her Denizens series, but haven't made the time to read them. That will change today!
    Second, that was an intense read. I had to put the book down and step away a few times...so much to think about. There were a few
     twists and turns I didn't expect and I thought I had it all figured out, but then talked myself out of it. I was right though...LOL!

    Accardo created such an interesting mythology behind the demons and how they came into being, then add to that the taint of Cain's
    soul...fascinating! I love creative minds and Accardo's is very creative.

    Gotta love the romance portion of this one...forbidden fruit with the whole triangle/square thing going on...Really a lot for the reader
    to take in and get absorbed by...I know I was totally immersed until I had to step away and catch my breath! WOW!

    Definitely going on my "Favorites" shelf!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2013

    Jus has created an awesome storyline and amazing (I mean hawt!)

    Jus has created an awesome storyline and amazing (I mean hawt!) characters that I have fallen completely in love with! As I expected, I was done for after the first chapter and sucked into the world of Cain & Abel.
    An awesome storyline….




    The descendents of Cain & Abel. This makes for an exciting read! Jus kept me on my toes trying to figure out the who done it! It was intriguing the way that she had incoorporated the “demons” into the story.
    I do not care if Jax has a demon….




    I really want a Jax for myself! I really felt for this character and all that he has to deal with on a daily basis just to keep his “inner demon” in check! The two brothers, Jax and Chase, were different in so many ways and yet alike in so many other. While Jax is willing to lose everything for the ones he loves, Chase just seemed very selfish to me by trying to hold on and not willing to fight. But, on the other hand, they both were very sorrowful for the things that they had to do in order to stay alive and sane!
    Samantha is a fighter…..




    OMG! I loved her! She was snarky at times, and full of sass! Jax had no idea of what to do with her sometimes because she pushed all of his buttons with a single look. She knew that she was playing with fire, but she was tired of sitting around and hoping/wanting. So, at times, she took matters into her own hands!
    The ending was sad for me:(




    That ending! Grrr! Jus! You dropped a bomb just when I thought that things were going to be okay with Jax and Sam! I sat and re-read that last few paragraphs over again and insisted that I was missing something cuz that could not possibly be correct???
    In Conclusion….




    Jus is always on my radar! Any book that she writes, I HAVE to read! I can add this book to the favorites list! I beleive that this was Jus’s first time with New Adult and in my opinion, she did a fantastic job! Can’t wait for the next book in the series!!!
    Oh!! and if you are fan of Jus’s just like me….There is going to be more of the Denazen series! I honestly thought that book 3 was the last but, I just saw at least 2 more!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2013

     This is my first read of Jus Accardo's but I will definitely be

     This is my first read of Jus Accardo's but I will definitely be reading all other books by this talented author.
    It kept me on my toes waiting to find out what will happen next, the humor is awesome (Dr. Pepper hurts when it goes up your nose- Just sayin')
    And Holy freakin' Twists!!! Seriously?? I Did NOT expect that!! I cannot wait to read what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2013

    I grew up going to church and remember what I learned about Cain

    I grew up going to church and remember what I learned about Cain and Abel, so when I read the blurb that this was about a decedent of Cain, I knew I had to see what Accardo had in store for Ruined. Jax had been sharing his body with a demon his entire life, and the struggle to not give in to it has now been easy. He leaves home, to keep his family and friends safe, but soon has to return home when a family member is sick. Samantha left home not too long after Jax did and is back home, but the why isn’t clear and she is not telling. Jax is going to soon find out, and now he will have to decide what he going to do to help her, his demon and so many other things too. Including his brother.
     
    Jax is a force to be reckoned with. He has been traveling and seen so many places, all thew while he was just avoiding coming home. I understand the need to push people away with what he is dealing with, but mostly I just wanted to smack him for for being so arrogant about it all. He has a soft side though when it comes to Samantha even if he doesn’t want to admit it. He pushes her away at every turn and she does the same, she was heartbroken when he left, and she ran just like him, which I don’t blamer her for wanting to put it all behind her. I liked Samantha, she was strong and stubborn and didn’t let Jax push her around. Now, Jax, Samantha and Chase the twin brother, all grew up together, and there is history there and we do learn a little about it. Chase, is a complete opposite of Jax. Chase was always the quiet one and the one who didn’t get into trouble that everyone seemed to love. I guess you could say, you have one “good” brother and one “bad” brother, but I just didn’t see Jax as the bad brother, I really liked him. There are a few side characters that I absolutely loved and one particular that played a big part, and was so intriguing, especially at the end.
     
    The story did start off on the slow side, it doesn’t take don’t long for it to pick up. This is a twisted version of Cain and Abel, and the love/hate relationship between the two brothers was done very well, and even if you don’t know much about the story of Cain and Abel, there is plenty of groundwork laid out at the beginning that it is easy to understand what it going on. But this has a twist to, a demon that is living inside Jax is gaining strength and wants to have Jax finally let him have control. There is so much sexual tension between Jax and Samantha is drips off the pages, but there is someone is after Samantha, and Jax isn’t going to give up on finding them so easily. The who, is where this gets interesting, and so many twists come into it all. And chaos ensues. There are demons, betrayals, and a cliffhanger that just about killed me. The second installment in The Eternal Balance is going be Awwwwesome.
     
    This is my first book from Accardo, and I don’t know how I have not read anything from her before. Fans of good versus evil, and fighting for what you want will eat this one up. Ruined is sexy, romantic and full of betrayals and mystery, and needs to be picked up. An excellent start to the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    I ate this book up. Loved the multiple point of views. Very dist

    I ate this book up. Loved the multiple point of views. Very distinct. I liked how, though in this book the demons are physical beings, the story played very much on the internal demons we are faced with every day. Anger, jealousy, hate, fear. Jax's struggle felt very authentic and I liked Sam's strength, yet vulnerability. I'm not usually a big fan of paranormal but I really enjoyed this. This is a series I will keep reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1