Customer Reviews for

Ruined

Average Rating 4.5
( 252 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

GREAT STORY!!!

I Downloaded this book to my Nook and started reading it while on the train....well i got so into the plot (which by the way is so addicting) and i completly missed my stop not just once but 3 times!!! i had to get off and take a cab all the way back to my orig stop! so...
I Downloaded this book to my Nook and started reading it while on the train....well i got so into the plot (which by the way is so addicting) and i completly missed my stop not just once but 3 times!!! i had to get off and take a cab all the way back to my orig stop! so yes...its that good and the end was GREAT!

worth reading!

posted by 4672727 on September 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ruined

This book is amazing! I read it in 20 minutes, a very easy read for me, but it was breathtaking nevertheless. I reccomend this book to anyone and everyone intrested in ghost stories.

posted by 7551089 on November 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    New Orleans is a city that really fascinates me, even though I'v

    New Orleans is a city that really fascinates me, even though I've never been there. Add in ghosts, and this book became a must read for me.

    I wasn't sure what to think of Rebecca at first. It kind of seems like she's lead a sheltered and maybe a little bit of a pampered life. Her dad really throws a kink in things when he has her move to New Orleans while he travels on business. I get that she's upset about it, but it drove me crazy how it seemed like she purposely tries to make her short stay as miserable as possible. I was happy to see her finally try to make New Orleans her home when she begins to help Liseette.

    The other things that seems to light a fire in Rebecca is Anton. Of course it all boils down to a boy. The hot guy in school pays attention to her and all the girls are jealous. It felt a little typical. Just the added twist of private schools, old money, and family feuds. Rebecca doesn't fit into all of that. Or does she ...

    The mystery of our ghost wasn't really hard to figure out, neither was the twist in the story. I did enjoy that journey to get there. But, the book felt a little bit too teenish for my taste. I did really love the history that is included in this book. Really makes me want to visit New Orleans someday!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    story with potential absolutely ruined.

    I had seen this book several times while scanning the shelves and was always intrigued because I was in a sci-fi faze and I have been to new orleans. Finally I bought it. The book started off really vague and choppy(nothing poetic in the writing) I think the author tries to make the reader sorry for the girl but I never did because she was such a petty jerk. Her thought process cant be related to because its so unrealistic.(the author tries to develop the character through her thoughts but it doesn't help the story and makes you think "yet another author who read twilight and decided to write a book loosely based on its plot.") Instead of creatively keeping the reader in the dark, she will just have the characters break off their sentence or run away. its comical. The characters are under developed and stupid. it is a shame because the story has a lot of potential but the character development is a big issue. I must that once the story picked up I didn't put it down but still noticed the things that bothered me. Some readers might not be bothered by this writing so give it a whirl. I just want to worn you if you are big on characters and intriguing writing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Boring

    I am still at the begining because i could not get through it because it is such a slow pace book i hope i get finished but i doubt i will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Great book

    3words amazing terrific book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    NOLA Ghost Story

    Rebecca couldn't feel more out of place in New Orleans, where she comes to spend the year while her dad is traveling. She's staying in a creepy old house with her aunt. And at the snooty prep school, the filthy-rich girls treat Rebecca like she's invisible. Only gorgeous, unavailable Anton Grey seems to give Rebecca the time of day, but she wonders if he's got a hidden agenda. Then one night, in Lafayette Cemetery, Rebecca makes a friend. Sweet, mysterious Lisette is eager to talk to Rebecca, and to show her the nooks and crannies of the city. There's just one catch: Lisette is a ghost. A ghost with a deep, dark secret, and a serious score to settle. As Rebecca learns more from her ghost friend -- and as she slowly learns to trust Anton Grey -- she also uncovers startling truths about her own history. Will Rebecca be able to right the wrongs of the past, or has everything been ruined beyond repair?

    Rebecca is left with her 'Aunt' Claudia, a French Quarter Tarot card reader, and her daughter Aurelia while her father is out of the country. Adjusting to a new city, new school, and new friends is harder than she imagined, but after sneaking into a nearby cemetery late one night - her life becomes a lot stranger.

    It's a good old New Orleans ghost story! I think I enjoyed this story more for the fact of picking out all the places Rebecca lived, visited, went to school, ate at, and what-not around the city. It's fun to actually have the detailed places set in my mind first and to then build the story around them. It's a good history lesson as well, for the cities past and people. Though it got a bit cheesy at the end, the book throughout was enjoyable and very true to the New Orleans culture.

    Likes: Lisette's annual journey to here home through the city.

    Dislikes: It became very predictable and the ending happened too quickly for my taste.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Ruined

    This book was ok it was not the best.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Fantastic

    I lke how they have the interesting conversations and the weird things she thinks about. But really its very interesting. I recommend it to anyone who likes a bit of mystery. Though im only half through it....... so dim not sure how it ends yet. Though i really LOVE it!! READ THE BOOK, YOU WONT REGRET IT!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I hate it and I love it.

    Since her father has a business trip to China, Rebecca is sent away to live with a family friend in New Orleans for the next six months. Spending time away from her friends and the gossip in New York doesn't seem too appealing. Especially when she has to spend it with the odd gothic Claudia that plays with Tarot cards for a living. When Rebecca meets the arrogant snobs of Temple Mead Academy, she is instantly on their bad side. Except for the attractive Anton Grey who seems to be interested in her but is sadly unavailable. After wandering into the cemetery one night, Rebecca comes across Lisette, a ghost only she can see. And it seems Lisette has been waiting over a hundred years to get the revenge she longs for.

    Ruined is perfectly paced and has a constantly intriguing storyline. I wasn't attached to any of the characters and they lack personality. I was going back and forth "I hate this book!" "I love this book!" It repeated Rebecca's thoughts too much when all I wanted was to dive deeper. It's amazing how author Paula Morris kept the story going with so few settings. This book is packed with a lot of interesting historic info without being overly descriptive. It introduced me to the New Orleans I never knew. It had a huge twist I didn't see coming that made me gasp out loud. I wasn't fully satisfied with the ending because the "feel" didn't fit the rest of the story. You'd have to be very patient to read this book but over all I think it's worth the read.

    Contains:
    *satanic arts
    *brief gruesome description

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A slightly more interesting Feast of All Saints

    Morris presents a little slice of red beans and nice, giving teens a history-soaked horror-light set firmly in the world of post-Katrina N'Awlins. Though the author tosses ghosts and voodoo curses about like parade doubloons, she dodges any real scares, preferring to focus on presenting a historical portrait of old NOLA that's credible and fascinating. Particularly fun for those who can picture Lafayette Cemetery, or who might enjoy a backstage tour of Mardi Gras.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2