Customer Reviews for

Ruined

Average Rating 4.5
( 252 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

GREAT STORY!!!

I Downloaded this book to my Nook and started reading it while on the train....well i got so into the plot (which by the way is so addicting) and i completly missed my stop not just once but 3 times!!! i had to get off and take a cab all the way back to my orig stop! so...
I Downloaded this book to my Nook and started reading it while on the train....well i got so into the plot (which by the way is so addicting) and i completly missed my stop not just once but 3 times!!! i had to get off and take a cab all the way back to my orig stop! so yes...its that good and the end was GREAT!

worth reading!

posted by 4672727 on September 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ruined

This book is amazing! I read it in 20 minutes, a very easy read for me, but it was breathtaking nevertheless. I reccomend this book to anyone and everyone intrested in ghost stories.

posted by 7551089 on November 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    Highly recommended for teens and adults

    My thoughts...This book can best be described as flavorful. The reader gets tastes of New Orleans history, Mardi Gras excitement, Haitian magic and an old-fashioned ghost story. The main character Rebecca is thrown into post-Katrina New Orleans in a house with a view of the famous Lafayette Cemetery. Curiosity gets the better of her and she finds herself face to face with a real ghost. Her aunt believe in old magic and voo-doo. She gives Rececca several warnings to stay out of the cemetery and out of the way of some of the local kids, but of course, they fall on deaf ears. Rebecca finds herself in the middle of an 150 year old curse.

    Ruined was very well written. The characters were interesting and like-able. The plot was fast-moving and very interesting. The history of Mardi Gras created a great background for the story. I actually found it fascinating. There must have been tons of research done to complete this novel. There were several themes included in the story including racism. Many of scenes described old New Orleans, an area which is rich in history-good and bad. The ending was a bit predictable, but there was quite a bit of foreshadowing in the form of visions that gave clues. It was very well written and kept me turning pages until the end.

    As for cons, I really can't think of any. It wasn't very scary, but I didn't open this book expecting to be frightened. I would recommend this book to kids 12 and up as well as adults. It was very enjoyable.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED IT

    Touching story of a girl and her new ghost friend that died after the hurricane in New orlens

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    This book

    When i first read this i stole it from my friends locker.This is probably the best ghost story i have ever read.Its full of drama,curses,deception,and a little bit of romance.Definately recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    SOOO GOOOD!!

    This was a great read!. Some parts are slow but you learn a lot about New Orleans and the plot is interesting. The climax and the ending left me :0 !! And it'll leave you like that as well.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Great

    This was a great book that isn't a series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Very good book

    Quick read, nice example of social classes in New Orleans.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a good YA ghost story

    Rebecca Brown is a fifteen year-old girl, living in NYC, who is suddenly shipped off by her father to stay with her Aunt Claudia in New Orleans, while he is off to work in China.

    Rebecca finds New Orleans to be strange and the girls at her new school to be very stand-offish and cliquey. Though warned away by her aunt, Rebecca is drawn to the nearby Lafayette Cemetery, where she meets a dishelved girl named Lisette. Rebecca finds that everyone around her is keeping secrets and she is determined to find out the truth. Even if it means alienating the very cute and popular Anton Grey, who is part of the privileged group in the Garden District.


    I enjoyed this debut YA novel. New Orleans was the perfect locale for a ghost story, set in the Garden District and the backdrop of Carnival and Mardi Gras, old curses and voodoo. Aunt Claudia reads tarot cards and tells fortunes for tourists, but seems to have a real gift. Rebecca doesn't care about fitting in with snobby girls, who care about nothing but debuts and belonging to exclusive societies forthe rich. She befriends a ghost and searches for the truth. This was a really good ghost story!



    my rating 4/5
    http://bookmagic418.blogspot.com/

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    A great Novel! This book is about a girl name Rebecca Brown

    A great Novel!

    This book is about
    a girl name Rebecca Brown who moves into a mysterious new town. Eager to make friends she befriends a girl named Lisette, but there's a catch...Lisette is a ghost. With Lisette's help Rebecca will unravel a prophecy that was meant to be unknown. I liked this book because of the different story line and how the story line included a fantasy plot, but did not go overboard into mythical creatures or anything like that. I did not like that the story did not describe all the characters well enough. For example, I think they could have went into depth the relationship between Rebecca and her deceased mother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Bit of a Question..

    Im reading this book and its kinda slow; should i stay with it and keep reading?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    This book , though seems slow in the beginging, is a twisted lov

    This book , though seems slow in the beginging, is a twisted love story. It's has much mystery and you will be dieing to find it all out! But you'll have to read the book... "Unbroken" is the next book if you are interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Love it

    Loved it so much! I think it should be a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Whoa

    I absolutely loved this book! I have read it more than once because I can not just get enough of it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    It was great

    This book was so worth it. I told everyone about it!!!!
    And after you read this book(wich i think you shod)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    great story

    This is a really great quick read. The mystery is great and keeps you guessing the whole time until the end. Loved it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    from katie

    i did not read this book on my nook. i have the book at my house. anyways i just loved this book so much i could read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    NOT REALLY EXCITING

    It was an okay book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great ghost story

    What I loved most about this book was the setting. I love just about anything New Orleans. The setting was richly described and I loved the cemetery scene, and especially the Mardi Gras scene. Everything about the setting was wonderful and the book swept me away with it. I loved the ghost story as it fits hand in hand with the setting so you have this underlying paranormal feeling (although I think it¿s not needed as New Orleans itself gives you that paranormal feeling anyways!).

    I really liked Rebecca. I liked how her social status at her school didn¿t matter to her and she went on with life however she pleased. I liked how she didn¿t let snooty girls like Helena and Marianne dictate her life. Who annoyed me the most were Toby, Claire, and Amy. Toby because he was such a jerk and the urge to punch him in the face got stronger whenever he appeared in the book. Claire and Amy were immensely annoying because it felt as if they were with Rebecca out of convenience, and to have someone around to make themselves look better. I just couldn¿t stand their chatter and the way they tried to make Rebecca look stupid (although Rebecca hardly cared less about what they talked about most of the time - which I thought, was cool and why I liked Rebecca even more).

    I¿d have to say, Anton started to grow on me. He did seem like such a nice guy and he fit the similar mold to Rebecca - that he didn¿t care what others thought. So in that sense, they did look nice together.

    The ghost story plot with Lisette was really interesting. It gave the story a good feeling of mystery and the setting helped a lot to give the plot a good creepiness factor. There¿s also a nice rich sense of history behind the book and it¿s well explained and thought out so it gives the reader a good comprehension on why things are like they are in the story. Although the mystery deepens as you progress through the book. The real action is at the last third of the book. The suspense really does build up - especially the Mardi Gras scene and I got so mad that these old families would ever think of such a thing to do against Rebecca.

    What I particularly did not like is what in the world happened to Toby??!! he just disappears despite his actions??!!! I wanted him to get his comeuppance! I just thought the ending was a bit rushed.

    Either way, the rich descriptive setting with a wonderful ghost story does make up for the shortcomings. It¿s a well written book and well worth the read. It¿s an excellent choice for those that like ghost stories or paranormal young adult fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    Cool Book to Read!

    i love this book so much! i just love paranorma; stuff like this and a little bit of romance like how Anton and Rebecca were falling in loove with each other. i just hope there could be a series, but not all books like this could have any series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    Awesome Story!!!!

    It was sooo cool. This is for people who like mysteries and ghost stories.i am defenitely one of those people.:-D BUY IT!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    Its perfect!

    I'm not one for mysteries but, my cousin recomended it to me. Suprisingly I really enjoyed it, the beginning was kind of boring but as i kept reading it got better and better. i definetly recommended it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4