BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ruins (Pathfinder Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

THIS SERIESE IS AMAZIMG

I wish this book had a better circulation rate because i has a hard time finding the title of this book. But is is still a wonderfully complex storyline

posted by 8294734 on October 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This story is compelling and thought-provoking, very well though

This story is compelling and thought-provoking, very well thought out. However, THE NOOKBOOK IS NOT THE FULL BOOK!!! It is a heavily edited and abridged version that castrates Card's normal depth of thought and his storytelling voice. This is a SHAM, Barnes & Nob...
This story is compelling and thought-provoking, very well thought out. However, THE NOOKBOOK IS NOT THE FULL BOOK!!! It is a heavily edited and abridged version that castrates Card's normal depth of thought and his storytelling voice. This is a SHAM, Barnes & Noble!!! SHAME ON YOU!!!

posted by 17356551 on March 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    THIS SERIESE IS AMAZIMG

    I wish this book had a better circulation rate because i has a hard time finding the title of this book. But is is still a wonderfully complex storyline

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Interesting but full of ramblings

    The themes and plot points of this sequel are as interesting as the first book, but for every page of something enjoyabe to read there's two pages of circular, unbelievable dialouge and a focus on petty squabbles that are not needed in the book and give the feel of nothing but filler to triple the books size.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    This story is compelling and thought-provoking, very well though

    This story is compelling and thought-provoking, very well thought out. However, THE NOOKBOOK IS NOT THE FULL BOOK!!! It is a heavily edited and abridged version that castrates Card's normal depth of thought and his storytelling voice. This is a SHAM, Barnes & Noble!!! SHAME ON YOU!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    GREAT book

    This was an amazing book. It kept me on the edge of my seat.
    Even better than the first.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    AWESOME BOOK!!!!!!

    This book is so good! I love the plot and the writing and everything. It is on my top 5 best books ever list.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Lame

    I felt it started out having nothing to do with the first book so all in all is f in fetarted doesent even deserve ster i would rate it-2 negative two lame book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    A sequel is a sequel

    I enjoyed reading this book, but it was not as fresh or original as the first one. I have always appreciated Orson Scott Card's creativity and strategic thinking in his writing, and the time travel component is intriguing. However, Ruins felt a little misdirected and confusing-- sometimes getting muddled in emotional conflicts, sometimes doubling back over and over in a noxious spin of time travel entanglements. Pathfinder had more strength and clarity. While I still liked reading Ruins, I would have liked it to be a little less like a sequel and more of a powerful continuation of an already remarkable story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    Loved it. The story held a lot of introspective moments but the

    Loved it. The story held a lot of introspective moments but the characters change throughout the story and their developments are interesting. We get to find out what really happened to the king who passed through the Ramfold wall in the first book. Rigg and Umbo gain better control of their powers and Param matures enough to stop disappearing every time she gets scared or upset. The author's world-building talents are in full force as we get to explore a handful of new wallfolds and the different ways their societies developed over the last 11,000 years. I look forward to the next installment in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    This was an interesting follow-up to Pathfinder, both more and l

    This was an interesting follow-up to Pathfinder, both more and less detailed at the same time, as the group visits several different wallfolds, gradually learning more about what the expendables are up to, and fearing the coming of more visitors from Earth.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    As good as the first!

    If you enjoyed the first book, you will love this one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    Anonymous

    I really love Orson Scott Cards books,his writing is incredible, intelligent and enjoyable!! So it pains me to write a bad review. The storyline is ok. the first book in this series pathfinder was incredible, I loved every minute of it,but I have to say Ruins is such a dissapointment so far by page 120 I really hoped the incessant childish, annoying and irritating, bickering, nitpicking and truly enraging insecurities of all the characters except for olivenko would have ceased already. It is probably one of the most regressive books I have read. After everything these 5 have gone through together in the first book... you think they would have evolved and grown up, but they act like they are five years old. I am sorry if this sounds harsh because Orson Scott Card is truly one of my top 2 authors of all time, I feel the man is a true genius!, and it pains me to write this review but the insecurities amongst 5 characters that I really came to love in Pathfinder is just so annoying!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Camp Eagle Borderline Security

    This are is not designated as a Camp Eagle area and/or borders for Camp Eagle. All Camp Eagle Persons here without permission will be fired, and/or demoted

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Bios

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Lyra

    Name: Lyra Age: 19 looks: curly blonde hair, pale skin with freckles, blue eyes. Weapons: bow and arrow primarily with twin daggers a well. Wears: white cami, holey stone washed skinies, black leater jacket and black combat boots. Two silver skull rings; one for each middle finger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Hunters bio

    Name:hunter, age 16, appearance: he is a ginder, persolity, not o trusting at first

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Next book

    When is the next book coming out? Ive been waiting 2 years

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS EVER!!!

    This is an absolutely amazing book with a complex story line that qill keep you on the edge of your seat. The ending really is cliff hanger. Leaves you bursting with want to find out what happens next! You will love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Enjoyable YA novel

    This story is another good one by OSC. He continues with the Pathfinder series by expanding on Rigg's and Umbo's character traits, abilities, and weaknesses. I enjoyed the plot but also found the banter dialogue to be enjoyable. The only weakness I saw was an overuse of teenage boy bathroom humor, which served well for believeability with the characters but seemed a little over the top at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Got this for my son

    He loves it! He's enjoyed the entire series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Ok but not the best

    This was a good book but I didn't like the ending. It also seemed like it was sooo boring. It took me forever to read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3