Customer Reviews for

The Ruins of Gorlan (Ranger's Apprentice Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1406 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1049)

4 Star

(212)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(53)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

68 out of 95 people found this review helpful.

:-)

I dont expect anybody to give this review a good rating, but i really liked the series

posted by MrX on January 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Emberkit

Nodds

posted by 9231452 on January 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1427 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 72
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Tap for review

    The Ruins of Gorlan is the first out of ten Ranger'Apprentice books (not including The Lost Stories or the highly anticipated The Royal Ranger). It is easily one of the best books that I have ever rwad in my life, only comming second to sequels to this amazing book. My friend tried to get me to read it and I alawys told him it looked boring. Oh how I couldn't be more wrong. The begining of the book is pretty low in the begining, as in most books. But it picks up in a major way and I couldn't put it down. It was so good I read the 249 page book in a little under 12 hours. After that, I read the others books, which seem t just get better and better as they go along. This book is highly recomended and I applaud mr. Flanagan for a work of art that this book is. Shadow Claw reviews.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Amazing

    This serie sis amazing! I have already read the whole thung and i loved it so much. The books were hard to put down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    The Ruins of Gorlan

    This is one of my most favorite books. It has adventure,
    mystery, and suspense. You never know what will happen next. I recommend it to everyone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Beast

    Book is jesus

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Anonymous

    Which comes first the ranger's apprentice or the brotherband chronicals

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Ranger

    This series is awsome. I read the whole series withen 3 days. I still need to read the 1 and the 5. Are the as good as the others?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Awesome

    This is an amazing book and it kept me hooked through out the whole series

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Movie

    They should make a movie of this book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Awsom Awesome

    Terrific book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    ENDER!!!!!!!! Thats my name : ) he he he i made a face

    This IS the best book ever !!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    12

    Its 12 books people!!!!!!! GOD

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Chloe

    This book was very, very good. (I think my 12 year old brother would like the story, but doesn't like to read.) I think that this anyone who likes adventer will like these books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    To I have a question READ THIS IS NOT A SPOILER

    I agree! Make a movie!!! And no, the rangers are not magical and they do not use magic, it is all pure talent

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    CLASH OF CLANS IS BOSS

    JOIN BLUE BLAZE!!!!!!!!"

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Awesome

    Love this book o o
    ( )

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    FANTABULASTIC!!!!!

    I LOOOOOOOOOOVE this book! I think they should make a movie because its such an awesome series and a lot of people would love it if they made a movie. Does anyone else think so?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Amazing

    This is awesome

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Best book ever

    Read in a day and could not put it down a must read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    :):):):););););)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    Good Book

    I have read the entire series and would reccomend to anyone. If you don't have anywhere to go after this series, read Eragon, Percy Jackson, or Harry Potter. Say yes if you like any of these series.


    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Great Read

    This book is a captivating example of a well written fantasy story with gripping detail and exciting conclusion. One thing that I really luked was that the ending is not quite as predictable as you might think. The charecters are well written and very relateable. I am thankful that the authir did nit paint Will as the perfect boy who is dead drop gorgeouse. Will is shiwn in real life terms that makes him much more relateable, expecially with the male reader. I did think that certain parts were a little slow and the series is definetly geared towards the tween audiance but overall it made a very good summer read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1427 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 72