Customer Reviews for

Ruins of Gorlan: And, the Burning Bridge

Average Rating 4.5
( 1440 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1072)

4 Star

(218)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(55)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

73 out of 103 people found this review helpful.

:-)

I dont expect anybody to give this review a good rating, but i really liked the series

posted by MrX on January 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Emberkit

Nodds

posted by 9231452 on January 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1461 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 74
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    :-)

    I dont expect anybody to give this review a good rating, but i really liked the series

    73 out of 103 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Adventure through and through

    I picked up this book after extreme hesitation. The cover art just seemed wrong to me and the title wasn't to promising. But when I finally bit the bullet I was not disappointed. The book is one of the few books where I have laughed out loud. It is also very suspenseful and has plenty of action scenes. The plot is great and the characters such as Will and Halt are great. You wish you could just live in their world for a day and meet them.
    Flanagan does a great job and this book is one of my favorites in my library.

    55 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2005

    Fantastic page turner!

    I picked this book up by chance because the cover intrigued me - boy am I glad! I love serial books where I can follow characters throughout their adventures and this one is great. Wonderful character development, interesting plot, and great dialogue.

    52 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2008

    Great Read, Even for an adult

    I had my doubts when I saw this book. It even made it home to rest on my bookshelf for a few months while I went on to reading things that I was sure was good. Couldn't you imagine my surprise when I picked it up, flipped open the cover and then the very next time I looked up it was dark outside when it seemed like just a hours had passed. <BR/><BR/>Needless to say the books in the series are broken down into mulitple books so that young readers can understand them. So for any adult reader, they tend to go by very fast. But all in all they are a great read and I'll contiune reading them until they are no longer available.

    30 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    Fun Read

    I am 60 years old and read a variety of books, including the fantasy genre. I got this book for my Nook with the idea of checking it out for a possible suggestion for my eleven year old grandson. I very much enjoyed the book. I think people of any age would like it. I not only will recommend this book and series to my grandson, I will probably continue to read the series myself.

    26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    oNE OF MY FAVORITES TOO

    THIS IS JUST ON OF THE MY FAVORITYE BOOKS. IT ALSO DESCR9IBES THE ACTION A LITTLE MKORE THEN MOST BOOKS. sO IT IS FOR PEOPLE WHO LIKE ACTION. wHILE THERE IS ACTION THERE IS A LITTLE LOVE BUT THATS IN THE LATER BOOKS. sO IT IS ALSO FOR THOSE KIND OF PEOPLE TOO.
    IT IS ALSO VERY REALISTIC BUT FAR MORE INTERESTING THAN MOST FICTIONS. TAKE MY WORD FOR IT IF YOU READ THE FIRST BOOK YOU WILL END UP READING ALL THE BOOKS

    25 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A Christmas gift well appreciated

    My 12 year old son loves this book!! His eyes light up when he gives me summaries of what he has read so far. A great way to utilize acceptible new vocabulary words. I wasn't sure I should buy the entire collection, so I bought the first three in the series. And I am glad I did.

    24 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Ranger's Apprentice, the perfect read on a rainy day.

    John Flanagan's Ranger's Apprentice series is the perfect story to read on those rainy days when you can relax with a cup of hot cocoa and your favorite pet.

    With the wonderful stories that we have come to enjoy over the last few years, I have rediscovered the novels writen for the younger reader. There are a lot more options for todays reader than there were 15-20 years ago. Ranger's Apprentice is a great series of good wholesome reading; a good story, very good story telling, just enough new vocabulary to keep it from being mindless and a believable fanatsy world where it all happens. The charaters are the type of people you would hope to meet if you happened to be a stranger in their neck of the woods; decent, honest people with morals, people you would want to be associated with.

    I had a hard time putting the book(s) down. I am even re-reading them!

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Buy both #1 and #2

    I recently purchased this book as a birthday gift for my 12yr old nephew. I usually pre-read at least part of his books to see what they are like and to see what he enjoys reading. This book I read completely and wanted to start part 2 right away. I'm sure my nephew will love the gift.

    17 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2005

    Wonderful Read Aloud Family Book

    I had seen this book at the BN Harry Potter release party in July, and it stuck in my head. I returned a week later and bought it for our family book time. I had started skimming the prologue and realized I was heading into chapter 2 ! My husband was a bit skeptical that it would hold the attention of all our children, girl 4, boy 6 and girl 13, but it did. They beg nightly for more than the usual 2 chapters. Sometimes we relent, because Dad wants to know what's going to happen next as much as the kids do ! Even the youngest, a 4 year old girl is enthralled with this great read ! It has the same holding power as Harry Potter, but a totally different story. There are no similarities other than they are both great books,just so you don't think its a Harry-wannabe book. I highly recommend this book for families. The ages of readers was listed as 11-13, but as a read aloud, our youngest at 4 is interested and sits still for it. The older 2 kids are totally mesmerized ! I was bad and pulled an all-nighter, after the first 2 chapters and read the whole book ! It is wonderfully and warmly done. John Flanagan captures the feelings wonderfully as he describes all aspects of emotions for Will, Horace and the others. This is an all around great book for indivual readers as well as family read alouds.

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    Outstanding. Loved it. So very cool!!!

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Charming!

    At first I wasen't sure about this book it looked interesting but it didn't sound very original but since my friend loaned it to me I gave it a try. Boy do I owe her one! I thoroughly enjoyed this book and look forward to continuing the series!

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    Best Book Ever!!!!!!!

    Ok, serioisly, its right up there with Harry Potter and thats saying something! It has a compelling plot and very strong characters. John Flanagan's serise is totaly amazing! :)

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good!!!

    The Rangers Apprentice
    The book I have chosen to right a review about is the Ranger`s Apprentice. This book was written by John Flanagan, it is the third book in a series of 10 and is written as a fantasy adventure. The story takes place in a fictional world in the country of Araluen, in the Fief of Redmont. It is a country filled with forests, castles, and people living in fear. They fear the mighty Lord Morgarath and his minions-half man and half beast. The main characters in this book are Will, Halt, and Horace. They are warriors who have been trained to defend their country and find themselves embattled in war against the evil Morgarath, in a time of swords, arrows, and shields. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys unlimited action and suspense that keeps the reader perched on the edge of their seat.
    I sincerely adore this book; it has everything, action, suspense, and there are absolutely no boring moments in this novel. The author does an incredibly amazing job of creating this new world. John Flanagan describes everything in amazing detail, which allows the reader to create a mental picture, unlike some other books I have read. The detail in this book will definitely rival that of any other book on the market.
    Now here comes my favorite part of the book, the action. A lot of the fighting has the odds of the heroes winning stacked highly against them which makes the book just that much more entertaining. The battles are fairly long and suspenseful and described in massive detail. These battle scenes are about as good as you can get.
    Now you know why I hold this novel in such high regard and would highly recommend it. If you see this book anywhere definitely consider picking it up. Don`t make the mistake of not reading this. In the end I must say that the author did an amazing job of creating this book, and reading it will provide an amazing level of entertainment

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Ranger's Apprentice...AMAZING!! READ IT READ IT! READ IT!

    I've got to say when I first encountered this book I was like ehh, but that's because I don't like when covers have real people on them, I know weird but that's how I am. But of course I was so wrong. I absolutely fell in love with this book! When you read it it seems pretty fast paced and you're never looking at the page next thinking when is this chapter going to end, your just like wow I was just on chapter 1, how did I get to 10 so fast? And I say it seems like it's moving fast, it's just that it is so intriguing and enthralling that you don't notice that its going at a steady pace and it explaining things for the coming chapters and before you know the book is over and your left wanting more.

    The one thing that I absolutely loved about it was the feelings that I got while reading it. When the Ranger's are talking about the Kalkara you become just as fearful as Will and the others. The same can be said when will hears the name of Molgarath at one point in the story I got goosebumps just thinking about the guy as well. Overall a well written book and a awesome read for all ages, although for those who are older and looking for a challenging read you may not find it here. While I thoroughly enjoyed this book I read it in less than a day, but that may just be me. I've read the whole series and was not disappointed one bit, i would love to see this as a movie^-^

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2009

    Awesome Book

    I recenty recived this book for christmas. It was one of the first books that I read and it was amazing. I would recomend this book for every body.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    Interesting book... a favoriite!

    I started the book and I could not stop reading. I highly reccomend this book to young readers if you like spy stories. It also is for people who like the medival times. It is about a kid named Will who is selected to be a ranger. They specialize in clandenscene operations and long range weaponry. I reccomend this book and series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Book!

    This is the first book I have purchased after high school, (6 year ago). I am so into this story. The characters in it are all very unique and easy to imagine them in your mind. I still haven't finished the book, but I will by the end of this week. I am definitely going to purchase the next book in the series and most likely all of them. If you like a good story with adventure, this is a great book for that.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2005

    It's been a LONG time since I read a book this good

    Okay this book ROCKED SO HARD THAT IT ALMOST HURT TO READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was so cool, I mean the story line was extremely interesting, I couldn't put it down, I read it in, like, two hours and IT'S A NEW BOOK WHICH MEANS I'LL HAVE TO WAIT YEARS FOR THE NEXT ONE. P.S.Halt sorta reminded of my dad with the chore giving and all...

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    U

    I dont expect anybody to give this rewiew a good rating but this is my favorite book!;)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1461 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 74