Customer Reviews for

The Ruins of Gorlan (Ranger's Apprentice Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1440 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1072)

4 Star

(218)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(55)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

73 out of 103 people found this review helpful.

:-)

I dont expect anybody to give this review a good rating, but i really liked the series

posted by MrX on January 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Emberkit

Nodds

posted by 9231452 on January 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    ok book

    It's an ok book not the best book ever.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    This book is stupid

    I bought this book for 8.35 and they charged me TWICE!!!!!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    My review

    Not very good at all. I really didnt like this bok because there were some very boring parts. I think i'll stick to warriors myself. I do not reccomend

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Aj

    Creepy

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Umm

    This book wont load on my nook but my friend said it was good

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2015

    Ipad

    Kiss your hand then right this rieview three tims

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Ruins...

    I have never really gotten a cance to read thid book but i heard that it is like not that great

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    :(

    Worst book in series

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Confusing

    Read this book but i thought it was cinfusinng and boring

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    This book blows

    Lol it blows

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    AWESOME!

    Best book ever,but why did i give it 1 star?

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    BOO

    BOO

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    "Ranger's Apprentice: The Ruins of Gorlan,"

    This book is about a fifteen year old boy named Will. The kingdom, in which he lives, doesn't think he is fit to be a warrior. By the way the book makes it sound, he isn't a real big kid, and he is small for becoming a warrior. His heart is set on Battle School, but he is just too small. Will is scared of Rangers because of how they dress and how they can just go invisible. It seems as though being a Ranger is his fate. Will is going to try to learn the skill because it is important for him to help defend the village.

    The book "Ranger's Apprentice: The Ruins of Gorlan," is written by John Flanagan and is published by Scholastic. I wouldn't read it again because it wasn't a very good book, but I'm also not a very big fan of Science Fiction books. Most of the books I read are outdoor-type books. I've read a few sci-fi books, and out of all of them, I have to say this is probably the best one. I just don't care for books that are about kings and sword fighting, but that's just me. There are a lot of people that like those kinds of books because they are full of action, and this one definitely is full of action. There is a big series of these books, and this is the first one of them. They already have seven others out; they are working on eight, nine, and ten. I'm sure this will become a huge series of books in a few years since there are a lot of people that do like them, so the writers will keep making them. There are kids in my class that have read one through seven already and are excited for the rest of the series to get out. For all I know the rest of the books might be really good and I just need to get into them. Maybe some day I will get bored and try reading them again and actually like them.

    If you do want to read a good book though, I suggest "Touching Spirit Bear", "Hatchet", "Where the Red Fern Grows", and/or "My Brother Sam is Dead". These are all great books; the kind you can read over and over and never tire of them.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3