Customer Reviews for

The Ruins of Gorlan (Ranger's Apprentice Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1413 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1052)

4 Star

(214)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(53)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

69 out of 98 people found this review helpful.

:-)

I dont expect anybody to give this review a good rating, but i really liked the series

posted by MrX on January 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Emberkit

Nodds

posted by 9231452 on January 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 214 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good!!!

    The Rangers Apprentice
    The book I have chosen to right a review about is the Ranger`s Apprentice. This book was written by John Flanagan, it is the third book in a series of 10 and is written as a fantasy adventure. The story takes place in a fictional world in the country of Araluen, in the Fief of Redmont. It is a country filled with forests, castles, and people living in fear. They fear the mighty Lord Morgarath and his minions-half man and half beast. The main characters in this book are Will, Halt, and Horace. They are warriors who have been trained to defend their country and find themselves embattled in war against the evil Morgarath, in a time of swords, arrows, and shields. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys unlimited action and suspense that keeps the reader perched on the edge of their seat.
    I sincerely adore this book; it has everything, action, suspense, and there are absolutely no boring moments in this novel. The author does an incredibly amazing job of creating this new world. John Flanagan describes everything in amazing detail, which allows the reader to create a mental picture, unlike some other books I have read. The detail in this book will definitely rival that of any other book on the market.
    Now here comes my favorite part of the book, the action. A lot of the fighting has the odds of the heroes winning stacked highly against them which makes the book just that much more entertaining. The battles are fairly long and suspenseful and described in massive detail. These battle scenes are about as good as you can get.
    Now you know why I hold this novel in such high regard and would highly recommend it. If you see this book anywhere definitely consider picking it up. Don`t make the mistake of not reading this. In the end I must say that the author did an amazing job of creating this book, and reading it will provide an amazing level of entertainment

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Book!

    This is the first book I have purchased after high school, (6 year ago). I am so into this story. The characters in it are all very unique and easy to imagine them in your mind. I still haven't finished the book, but I will by the end of this week. I am definitely going to purchase the next book in the series and most likely all of them. If you like a good story with adventure, this is a great book for that.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Anonymous

    Which comes first the ranger's apprentice or the brotherband chronicals

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Great Read

    This book is a captivating example of a well written fantasy story with gripping detail and exciting conclusion. One thing that I really luked was that the ending is not quite as predictable as you might think. The charecters are well written and very relateable. I am thankful that the authir did nit paint Will as the perfect boy who is dead drop gorgeouse. Will is shiwn in real life terms that makes him much more relateable, expecially with the male reader. I did think that certain parts were a little slow and the series is definetly geared towards the tween audiance but overall it made a very good summer read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    I really wanted to read this...

    But the Holy Spirit inside of me(either that or my conscience) made me so guilty about reading the swears that I reported it to my mom. It really is a good book like the Guardians of Ga'Hoole series, but the bad words in both are unbearable to me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Fabulous story plot

    The author planted an amazing fantasy plot onto England of mixed periods. There are Celts, but no Saxons. There are mounted armored knights, and the English and the French speak the same language. Coffee is an esteemed beverage even though the Mongol invasion has not yet occurred. Anachronisms abound. There are races of intelligent beings that do not even exist in legend. But if you manage to suspend your disbelief to its very limits, these are rollicking good stories that may get a non-reading child to get really interested in reading. But please guide the child to something more challenging after finishing the Ranger's Apprentice series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2014

    well written adventure

    I liked this book so well I just finished the 3rd in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Awesome book

    I have only read half the book and i love it. I cant wait to read the rest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Awesome

    I love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    highly recommend - check this out

    Story was well written. young adults would enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    A must read for teens

    I am not sure about the book series. I purchased it for my son who said he really liked the series. Him not being a book reader it must be good in order to have him interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Great book.

    This book is a page turner but i still feel like that i like llrd of the rings due to more action. Still is an awesome book. All my friends like it also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Jjddjdjfjfj

    Aawweessoommee

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Great book!!!!!

    My neighbor reccomended this to me, i was skeptical when i picked it up at the library. The beginning was boring and usually i just skip the boring chapters, but i wouldnt reccomend that on this book because every little detail is amaxing. When you get into it it becomes a really great read. The adventures are thrillers and the characters are good. I reccomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    A good start to a YA fantasy series.

    While the writing could use some work, the original story is great and well worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Good book

    This a very good book got a little slow at times but i burned throuh it. Very good series over all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Awesomely boring!

    Sucks u in at first then drifs away from the main point like it gets right to the point at first, drifs away, then comes back witched confused me in .ade me lose the book for a month then somehow came back to the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Aj Amazing

    It was a great book. I loved it the only problem is it is to predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Awesome Pretty good book

    Good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 214 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11