Customer Reviews for

Rule #1: The Simple Strategy for Successful Investing in Only 15 Minutes a Week!

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    Rule #1 by Phil Town is among the top 10 investment books ever written

    I've read other investment books such as Intelligent Investor, The Millionaire Maker, and a host of other financial books, but Rule #1 is one of the clearest and most exciting books on making money I have ever read. It gives you the possibilities, the history, the practical tools, and a real sense of the markets that can make even a high school student get going with investing immediately.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Must read

    Everyone should read this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    A must have!

    I recently listened to the audio version of this book and just had to have it in print. Phil presents a very direct approach to investing; one which is easily "learnable" by even the most inexperienced investor. For those of you who like to tinker with Excel (like I do), there's a tremendous opportunity here to further automate the tools he's created to make your investing even more enjoyable and rewarding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2011

    The most wonderful book you can

    This is a really great self help book that will change your life. With some easy steps you will see changes instantly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Purchase

    This is a great purchase to have..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is amazing!

    This is the best investment book I can ever hope to read. Phil does an amazing job illustrating his key points with entertaining stories, as well as real life examples. He proves over and over again that anybody can make some serious cash investing in the stock market, if you only know what to look for. He shows you exactly what to look for, and takes you step by step through the entire process of researching and buying stocks. Using the strategies he lays out, I've already made about a 40% return on my investments in only 2 months! Everybody everywhere should read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Must Read

    A Must Read for the first time investor or value investor! Outlines and provides resources to help develope a working investment strategy! Just the first step thought you will need to learn and know alot more to invest successfully! Great Book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    So Basic and so great.

    Im just getting into investing and theres so many books out there. I stumbled upon Rule #1 and what Phil Town did that makes him different from the rest is that he broke down the numbers for me and showed me how i can do it all myself. Lots of other investing books seem to beat around the bush this one teaches you how to invest wisely and not lose money. You can read it over and over again. Great,great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2006

    Helpful advice on building your investment dollars

    Confess. You read the business section of the newspaper you receive the latest bulletins from Wall Street and you even nod earnestly when your favorite stockbroker reviews your accounts. But face it, in part, you think Wall Street is just one big casino and you¿d rather park your hard-earned cash in a low-risk, low-return T-bill. That¿s your reality check. Fortunately, author Phil Town provides useful, profit-proven solutions for stock market investors, starting with the first rule from Benjamin Graham and Warren Buffett: don¿t take a loss. With helpful charts, common sense explanations and savvy financial insights, he offers a map for finding retirement treasure. Occasionally, his book gets lost in repetitive details and number-crunching exercises, but the investment advice may help you strategize ways to attain your retirement dreams. We recommend this book to puzzled investors and future retirees.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2006

    One of the best books on value investing.

    The best book in investing by far. After reading The Intelligent Investor and attempting to read the Security Analyses, now everything makes much more sense. This book is the key to unlocking the door, it brings everything together. Easy read. This book will increase your book value. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2006

    wow!

    This has got to be one of the best books I've read. Its an incredibly easy read, writen by a man with a charming sense of humor. Mr Town explanes how to invest in the stock market step by step... and makes it seem easy! As far as investing goes, there is nothing out there like this book. I honestly can't imagine how it could be any better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2006

    Excellent Book!!

    What a wonderful book that Mr. Town has written. It explains the simple steps to approach investing and not rely on people to do it for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2006

    I Couldn't Put It Down

    This is the most interesting book on investing I have ever read. I saw Phil speak about a month ago. That is what lead me to read the book. He is a very entertaining and charismatic guy and it really carries over into his book. It is simple enough for a beginner and can give a new way of thinking to a more seasoned investor. This book is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2006

    Finally!

    I've been waiting for this book for months! It just arrived yesterday, and I'm about halfway through already because it's so readable. For anyone who doesn't know Phil Town, he's an investor and speaker who has a really great blog and website that teach beginners how to get started in safe, low-risk, common-sense investing. I love his approach. Even if you don't have immediate plans to invest, this book is a real eye-opener about the stock market and how it works. It's also written in a very easy-to-understand, chatty style that seems consistent with Town's charming, down-to-earth (non-day-trader) personality. And for the math phobes like me, everything's laid out really clearly, and you're given options on how to do the math -- in your head, with spreadsheets or otherwise. I haven't seen that anywhere else. Good book. Can't wait to finish it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3