Customer Reviews for

The Rule of Four

Average Rating 3
( 294 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(73)

1 Star

(70)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 294 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book left me wondering if all those professional reviewers

    This book left me wondering if all those professional reviewers that gave it excellent reviews weren't afraid of being labeled not intellectual enough to "get it." The book is continuously compared to The DaVinci Code, but while Dan Brown's book may not have been a literary masterpiece, it was fun. The Rule of Four is so tedious in places that I can see why some people don't finish it. In this book, we aren't solving puzzles to save the world, we are simply trying to finish a college thesis on time. And it's a thesis on a very boring subject, at that. 

    What really killed this book for me was the extremely detailed and painstaking descriptions of relationships and personalities. I found myself peeking ahead to see how much longer it would go on and if things would improve. A few times I stopped to read other books, and then went back to it with a sense of dread. Penny pincher that I am, I can't pay for a book and not finish it, so I finally made it through. I recommend this book for insomniacs. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Could have been better

    I like a clever book that takes somthing real and wrap it up into a creative fictional mystery. This story feel short of that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    A Major Disappointment

    I bought the book after my admission to Princeton, interested in knowing what the hype was all about. I read the book, twice, but didn't get it at all. It is preposterous on every level. Bad writing, combined with a haywire plot, and absurd characters. I still want to know why the hell the book was lauded so much. I absolutely don't get it. Buy the book only if you want to be bewildered.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2005

    Mystery, Love Story, or Psychological musings about father?

    This started out to be fascinating but soon went way over my head since I am not a Renaissance scholar. I still can't figure out the relevance of the love story except to try to make the life of the narrator part of the story. Then there is all Tom's struggle with his unresolved feelings about his father which added nothing that I could appreciate. And I can't believe that all the events happened in 24 hours! I should have quit in the middle except that I was somewhat curious about what the secret was.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2014

    Lovely...! beautiful.....!.... Just enjoy it.....!

    Lovely...! beautiful.....!.... Just enjoy it.....!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    I too got it because of all of the comparisons to The DaVinci Co

    I too got it because of all of the comparisons to The DaVinci Code. As has been said frequently here, the comparison is not warranted. Yes, The Da Vinci Code may not be a masterpiece of literature, but it had intrigue, excitement and yes, puzzles. Lots of them. The puzzles, what there were, in the Rule of Four played a seemingly trivial part of the narrative. The emphasis of the book was more a highly detailed and tedious examination of a troubled young mans social interactions. I also particularly didn't like the fact that virtually the entire book is written as flashbacks that not only jump around in time, but give no clear indication that they are doing it. I kept finding myself half way into a section before I could figure out how it related to what came before.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Not for everyone...

    But I enjiyed it greatly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    A constant reader, I am always looking for something special to

    A constant reader, I am always looking for something special to really
    grab my interest. This book did it. I found the book well-written,
    well-paced, and somewhat genre-defying. I enjoyed going back (via the
    story) to campus life to tackle this intellectual mystery. The
    characters and the plot do take us out of the humdrum, but isn't that
    what a good book should do? A good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    PAINFUL¿¿¿

    I purchased this on a whim and genuinely tried to muscle through it but, it was too slow to build momentum and left me waiting for a suspenseful plot to develop. Readers of Dan Brown will be bored to tears...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    Out of the hundreds of books on my bookshelf, this is the one I'

    Out of the hundreds of books on my bookshelf, this is the one I've read the most. I love a book that makes me think, and I found myself trying to solve the clues before the characters did. The ending is so well-written that I turn to it again and again for a little smile. For their first book, these authors knocked it out of the park and I can't wait to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    a very enjoyable read

    i don't agree with other reviews that describe this book as poorly written and boring. maybe the beginning of the story was a bit slow to start, if you want to get really picky. once i got sucked into the story, i couldn't put this book down! even long after i finished reading it, i found myself thinking about the puzzles and riddles in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An Excellent Read!

    This turned out to be one of the best books that I have read in a number of years. I am really astonished that it did not get better reviews. I was quite taken with the writing style. The characters were well developed and believable. I certainly hope that the authors will collaborate again with similar work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It actually is a good read

    I have seen many reviews of this book that only give it 3 out of 5 stars so I have to admit going into the novel I did not expect much because usually the majority is right about a novel. In the case of The Rule of Four the majority underestimates the novel. Now admittedly none of the action actually takes place in the novel but outside the novel. We never actually see Paul and Tom find the missing art that the Hypnerotomachia hints at. It is an interesting approach to have the action take place outside the novel and most likely would not work in many stories. But in The Rule of Four it works. The language of the novel is fantastic and approachable for many audiences. Perhaps the best thing about this novel is that it at times reads like a thesis on Hypnerotomachia, even going to the lengths of placing photos from the book into the novel that we are reading. As a lit major I appreciate this aspect of the book and it is the main reason that gave this book a 5 out 5. I prefer a reading of the novel that is at the center of all the scandal as opposed to unbelievable action that the Da Vinci Code and Angels and Demons are notorious for.

    Do not get me wrong I am not claiming that there is not an interesting plot or character construction. There is. The plot is just like all the other historical fiction, book adventure novels out there. People study this one book or time period and all of a sudden find themselves in some sort of adventure trying to discover the secrets that the book holds. The characters are just as round as those found in the same novels. Although I have to say that Tom in the end seems to have more of an epiphany in the end than Robert Langdon at the end of both the Da Vinci Code and Angels and Demons.

    If you have not read this novel yet, do. It is well worth it if you are like me and appreciate a little story and a little literary exploration.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    Captivating

    This is one of my favorite books of all time. I didn't want to set it down. Although it took a while to get into the action, the information about the old ivy league school was interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not as good as advertised, or even good

    This book was hyped like the successor to The Da Vinci Code and Angels and Demons. It was not half as good as either of those books. The writing style was boring and long-winded. The plot never progessed; it was about 250 pages too long. The characters were flat and uninteresting. I can't believe I actually wasted the time finishing it. I would have been better off waiting for Dan Brown to finish another book, even if it takes another two years!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    Horrible

    This was the worst book I have read in quite some time. The author is pompus and loses his train of thought while writing. It was difficult to trudge through the entire story. Very bad.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2007

    One of the best books ever!

    If you like the Da Vinci Code, you will like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2007

    A reviewer

    The premise of the story has potential, but both of the writers butcher it primarily due to poor grammar, and even worse sentence structure. I'm regularly editing the text as I read it, so I can actually understand what is happening. Put simply, the language usage and style is among the worst I've ever seen. A particular sticking point is the manner in which the authors constantly change tenses. Here is what they are trying to do: move the story along by actively engaging the reader. It's a good theory, but any writer or avid reader knows that to use the first person in this way requires at very least the classic omniscient narrator, and considerable literary skill. Both writers pitifully failed in their attempt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    Don't buy unless you're an insomniac who needs sleep!

    This may not be the worse book I've ever read, but it ranks right up there with the top 5 pieces of garbage. Don't waste your time, energy or money reading this. The characters are unbelievable, the story is slow and boring. I can't believe they needed two writers to write this poorly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2007

    OUTSTANDING!

    The Rule of Four is about four friends living out their senior year at Princetion. It may be long and hard to understand, but The Rule of Four has a deep meaning behind it's text, just like that of the Hypnerotomachia. A must read for anyone who enjoys learning and reading into a books true meaning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 294 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15