BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Rule of Four

Average Rating 3
( 294 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(73)

1 Star

(70)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    a very enjoyable read

    i don't agree with other reviews that describe this book as poorly written and boring. maybe the beginning of the story was a bit slow to start, if you want to get really picky. once i got sucked into the story, i couldn't put this book down! even long after i finished reading it, i found myself thinking about the puzzles and riddles in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2007

    Sparked my interest

    I've had this book for a while and it was just recommended to me by a friend. I'm almost finished and have stayed up late two nights in a row to read it. I'm surprised by all of the negative reviews as I am thoroughly enjoying this book. I like the characters and love the Renaissance, so I guess for me the book was a good match. I am looking forward to other books from these authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2006

    About Friendships we develop and lose touch with.

    Why anyone would compare this book to the likes of DaVinci Code is beyond me, and a reflection of the reader. There is no connection between the two. This book is about friendships we develop, and how they end up. I compare this book to have the same meaning as Brad Meltzer's first book. It is about friendships working together. Not solving hidden codes with historic places and art. It does take time if all you are interested in is finding out about the novel they are working on. If you are wanting a great story it catches you from the beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2006

    Great Book

    I may not believe this book to be one of the best books ever written, but I do believe that it does require more credit than what most people give it. It is some what well written, its based on a very old document that hardly anyone ever heard of what else do you expect. I would recommended the book, I already did to some friends and my college professor. All of whom have to agree that it is a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2006

    Interesting read

    I enjoyed the language and mystery of this book and did not find it boring at all. I am looking forward to the next one...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    Four stars for a Four star novel

    No book is perfect. But this one comes close. I consider a novel a success and a worthwhile read if I am entertained, intrigued, moved to feel something for the characters, or gain new insights into a period of history or part of the world that interests me. THE RULE OF FOUR delivered on all fronts. The authors' broad Ivy League educations are in evidence on every page of the novel. Caldwell graduated Phi Beta Kappa in history from Princeton, and Thomason won the Hoopes Prize at Harvard for outstanding scholarly work or research. The book toggles back and forth between the campus of present day Princeton University and Rome and Florence of the Renaissance. The action and intrigue center around several generations of obsessed scholars who sacrifice everything to crack the code of an obscure 15th Century text known as the Hypnerotomachia Poliphili. THE RULE OF FOUR is a great book--very unusal and not like anything else you'll encounter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2006

    Student's Review

    The important characters in this book are Tom, Paul, Charlie, and Gil. This book is historical fiction. In the story, Paul and Tom are trying to figure out the meaning of an ancient book called the Hypnerotomachia Poliphili. They face many challenges, twists, and turns along the way. The mystery of the purpose of this book is famous. On a scale of one to ten, I give this book a nine. It keeps you on the edge of your seat the entire time and you never want to put it down. The many bumps in the road that Tom and Paul travel are interesting and exciting. This book is three hundred and sixty-eight pages long. It is difficult if you don¿t take your time to read because of all the changing events. I recommend this book for people who enjoy reading historical fiction or about male friendship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2006

    Amazing absoring thriller

    This book is an amazing thrill ride. You can read it all in almost one sitting, because once you get absorbed you'll have a hard time getting out. The plot is intense, the characters real and dynamic, and the mystery absorbing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2005

    Attention Grabbing and Fun

    I really liked this book, It keep my interest throughout and was based on actual research.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2005

    best for rainy day reading

    This is a great book to curl up to on a rainy day. Read this through and not at intervals since you tend to forget what happens at times. I like the backround given and the plot is different from Dan Brown's book, but they are refreshing. I don't like the way it tends to jump from past to present to past without showing any significant difference in the writing, however it works in this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2005

    enjoyable summer read

    This book was very enjoyable. It kept me wanting to read more. I wanted to find out what would happen next before going on to the next chapter. It was a little confusing at times, but at the end every tied together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2005

    Loved It

    You can't pick up this book expecting the da vinci code...They are not the same book and I think that is why people have such a hard time accepting this book. So yea it gets a little slow in the middle but I like that they went back in time so you understand the present better. I like the way the book ended. It took me a long time to read this book but that is because I am a full time college student who works and doesn't have much free time that doesn't involve reading text books..but this book definatly took my mind off of my stresses when I did have some free time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2005

    Great Writing, Interesting Subject

    Yes, there is some snobbery here, however this a very well written book which does take a bit of concentration to appreciate. I thought the reference to F. Scott Fitzgerald was right on especially in the context of Tom's relationship with his girlfriend and the club society at Princeton. This book has some truly great writing in it and is worth the read just to appreciate it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2005

    I liked this book!!!

    I think this book was great!!! Loved the historical context along with the friendship of Tom and Paul. Great read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2005

    Thought Provoking Fiction

    The 'Rule of Four' is more similar to Donna Tartt's 'The Secret History' than Dan Brown's 'DaVinci Code.' The mystery of the 'Hypnerotomachia' made the read more difficult, but equally rewarding. Brown's stories are fast-paced, whereas Caldwell and Thomason take their time. And, for my money, they could have slowed the pace even more to allow for further development into the mystery of the 'Hynerotomachia' and also into the backgrounds of the main characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2005

    Very Good, but a Little Slow

    I got this book for Christmas along with 'Angels & Demons' and 'Jennifer Government'. For the most part I enjoyed this book. However, the synopsis is a little misleading. The synopsis depicts a story with a lot of action and on-the-edge-of-your-seat stuff. This was only slightly true. The book dealt mostly with the personal issues of the main character, Tom, and not the actual subject of the story. The plot was well told , but it moved much to slow for my tastes and did not deliver enough suspense. Worth a read, but only borrow it from your library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2004

    Intriguing and Captivating

    I picked this book up on a whim so I would have something to read on a short flight. By the time the plane landed I was hooked and didn't want to take the time to do anything other than read. I felt much like Paul and Tom during the time I took to read it. I had to pull myself away to do anything else while my thoughts always returned to this book. I was held captive to it's twists and turns. Where other people have seen the flashbacks and time shifts as a confusing negative, I see them as part of the puzzle. If the book was mapped out simply from the beginning to the end then there would be no twists and turns, no riddles to solve. And isn't the point of the book to find the solutions?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2004

    Bloody Brilliant!!

    Deeply philosophical. The characters are well developed, the plot is fantastic, and the authors paint a vivid portrait of passions and intrigues all surrounding the pressures and pleasures of campus life while immersing the reader into cryptic secrets of the past. Highly recommend this read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2004

    Wonderful read.

    I also picked up this book since I enjoyed the DaVinci Code. If you're expecting another DaVinci Code, you will be sorely disappointed. But if you can approach this book without comparing the two, I think you will enjoy it as well. It is a much slower story than Dan Brown's novel since it spends just as much time (if not more) on character development. I found myself drawn into the story because of the characters...in fact, the 'murder mystery' aspect is almost a secondary story in my opinion. I thoroughly enjoyed learning more about each character and his relationship to the others in the novel. I highly recommend this book as it is an easy read as well as an interesting one. But it is a slower read....so if you're looking for past-faced action adventure, try something else. :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2004

    Started slow but worth it in the end

    This book was tough for me to read. It was slow in the beginning but well worth it in the end. I enjoy a good thinking book, especially a mystery. This one had me going, although I did figure out the last riddle before the characters did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3