Customer Reviews for

The Rule of Nine (Paul Madriani Series #11)

Average Rating 3.5
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

exciting thriller

The events in nearby Coronado are nuked into every cell of his brain as San Diego based attorney Paul Madriani still reels from the near tragedy (see Guardian of Lies). The near nuclear disaster has him looking at the bigger picture of terrorism. The FBI warns Madrian...
The events in nearby Coronado are nuked into every cell of his brain as San Diego based attorney Paul Madriani still reels from the near tragedy (see Guardian of Lies). The near nuclear disaster has him looking at the bigger picture of terrorism. The FBI warns Madriani to keep his mouth shut or face a lifetime locked away in a place he never heard of under the Patriot Act enforcement. On the other hand weapons expert Joselyn Cole demands he go public so a repeat can be averted.

While Madriani struggles with coping and what to do, an aging 1960s radical believes the time has come to destroy the DC right wing government-industrial complex. This former member of the Students for a Democratic Society expects to die like a Middle Eastern suicide bomber and unlike the cowardly western right wing terrorists who kill people from a safe distance. The plan will make 9/11 look like a minor incident and the first deadly steps come from the American right wing form of terrorism.

The Feds tie Madriani to a murder of a DC staffer as law enforcement believes "the Mexicutioner" Liquida assassin is the killer. Madriani rusticates with his family as he and Cole fear the Feds are missing the big picture again as they believe two insane murderers, the ancient Weatherman and the Mexicutioner have joined forces in what apparently involves the mysterious deadly "Rule of Nine" gamut.

This is an exciting over the top of the Washington Monument thriller that grips the audience from the onset and never let's go until the final dramatic confrontation. The story line is action, action, and more action that will have Madriani fans salivating for another superheavyweight bout starring the Southern California lawyer and his sidekick Cole vs. archenemy Liquida; that is if everyone rides away from this round.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on April 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Left @ gate!

Pretty fair read until being left to wonder @ end! Liked the character in the court room more than this chase all over the globe!

posted by BigGuyKTL on April 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    exciting thriller

    The events in nearby Coronado are nuked into every cell of his brain as San Diego based attorney Paul Madriani still reels from the near tragedy (see Guardian of Lies). The near nuclear disaster has him looking at the bigger picture of terrorism. The FBI warns Madriani to keep his mouth shut or face a lifetime locked away in a place he never heard of under the Patriot Act enforcement. On the other hand weapons expert Joselyn Cole demands he go public so a repeat can be averted.

    While Madriani struggles with coping and what to do, an aging 1960s radical believes the time has come to destroy the DC right wing government-industrial complex. This former member of the Students for a Democratic Society expects to die like a Middle Eastern suicide bomber and unlike the cowardly western right wing terrorists who kill people from a safe distance. The plan will make 9/11 look like a minor incident and the first deadly steps come from the American right wing form of terrorism.

    The Feds tie Madriani to a murder of a DC staffer as law enforcement believes "the Mexicutioner" Liquida assassin is the killer. Madriani rusticates with his family as he and Cole fear the Feds are missing the big picture again as they believe two insane murderers, the ancient Weatherman and the Mexicutioner have joined forces in what apparently involves the mysterious deadly "Rule of Nine" gamut.

    This is an exciting over the top of the Washington Monument thriller that grips the audience from the onset and never let's go until the final dramatic confrontation. The story line is action, action, and more action that will have Madriani fans salivating for another superheavyweight bout starring the Southern California lawyer and his sidekick Cole vs. archenemy Liquida; that is if everyone rides away from this round.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    ...page turner..

    Outstanding in all aspects of an off beat legal thriller, that is, no couttroom.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2010

    One of the best I've read lately.

    Loved the timeliness of the issues. I definitely think he [Martini] has found the country's weakness at this time. I wish every elected official would read it and see how our inability to compromise could easily be the our nation's downfall.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    Left @ gate!

    Pretty fair read until being left to wonder @ end!
    Liked the character in the court room more than this
    chase all over the globe!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    Gelati's Scoop

    I love Martini's Paul Madriani novels. Each one was thoroughly enjoyed and I can say I look forward to each new installment with a great deal of anticipation. Martini's cast of characters also includes Harry Hinds, Madriani's law partner and Herman Diggs their investigator. The Rule of Nine picks up where Guardian of Lies ends. If you remember in the last installment of the series, our group of smart aleck characters foiled an attempted bombing of the nuclear nature on American soil in San Diego. Their unfriend, Liquida, the hired assassin known as "the Mexicutioner" is very unhappy with all that Madriani and company has undone. Here we go then , right into , The Rule Of Nine.
    Steve Martini adds a few new elements into this newest novel and I for one am thankful for the new characters and directions with them. He has penned a number of New York Times Best sellers and could easily sit on his hands and mail it in, but he didn't; he took it to a new level for me. Many novels fit into this genre, but I am going to say he is definitely one of my favorites for all the right reasons. He puts together a very good concise plotline and lets his characters drive the story to a very nice well tied together ending. There are no special gadgets used, no big time surprises whipped out of pocket from left field to carry this home, just good, fundamental storytelling that is enjoyable to read. One point I would make on this though, is that I enjoy these characters best in their natural habitat, the courtroom. I know that sounds odd coming from me. I think this solid cast shines the most when hunting down a good legal drama, not terrorists and nukes, maybe next time.
    The Rule of Nine is a good new chapter in the life and times of Paul Madriani and company. If this is your first crack at the characters, there is no major letdown and you don't feel that you have missed too much by starting now; he is not really in his natural environment. Martini makes you feel like you are just getting acquainted with some friends you haven't seen in a while. Come on in and enjoy, you can catch up on things later; let's get to what is new now. I don't hesitate to say give this novel and its backlog of stories a go, put this in your Goodreads - to read- list if you are busy now and enjoy a new character driven series by one of the giants in the genre.
    What are you reading today? Check us out and become our friend on Facebook & Linkedin. Go to Goodreads and become our friend there and suggest books for us to read and post on. You can also follow us on Twitter, and the Gelati's Scoop Facebook Fan Page. Did you know you can shop directly on Amazon by clicking the Gelati's Store Tab on our blog? Thanks for stopping by today; We will see you tomorrow. Have a great day. http://www.gelatisscoop.blogspot.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    AN ARTICULATE, COMPELLING VOICE PERFORMANCE BY DAN WOREN

    American born voice actor Dan Woren is a versatile performer who has adroitly read everything from the Tortoise in Aesop's Fables to a large assortment of video games to countless audio books. With The Rule Of Nine he perfectly captures the drive, terror, and menace found in the character's voices. The result is super pleasurable listening to this frightening, all-too-possible scenario.

    Every bit what we hoped it would be and more following NY Times bestseller Guardian Of Lies Steve Martini gives us another explosive thriller featuring California lawyer Paul Madriani. Now, how an attorney manages to get himself, family, and friends into such deadly situations is another story, but here he is fighting for his life on every page of THE RULE OF NINE.

    No one wants to make an enemy of Liquida Muerte aka "the Mexicutioner," a hired assassin who takes great pleasure in dispatching his victims as painfully as possible. But Madriani once infuriated him and Liquida never forgets. He not only wants to get Madriani but also his daughter, Sarah. Liquida first tries to do this by making it look like Madriani had something to do with the murder of a young congressional aide, Jimmie Snyder. Unfortunately, Jimmie had only been on the job for two months when he made his fatal error by trusting a fellow who was "affable, approachable, and interested.....All the man wanted was to see a few of the rooms off-limits to the public." That one apparently small mistake not only cost him his life but also almost destroyed the entire Supreme Court.

    A brilliant terrorist whom we know only as Thorn is hellbent on destruction at the heart of America and is using Liquida to help him make his plot a reality. With powerful friends and unlimited funds it's not at all unreasonable to think that Thorn might be successful.

    Although still somewhat off-base after helping to stop a nuclear explosion at the Naval base in Coronado, Madriani realizes that law enforcement isn't seeing the full picture or realizing the imminent danger. After hiding Sarah away for her safety he and his associate Herman Diggs along with a beauteous, persistent arms control activist, Jocelyn Cole set out to do some sleuthing of their own.

    There's not a dull sentence on any page as a suicide bomber speeds towards its target. Not only has Martini delivered a can't-stop-listenting to thriller but closes with a shocking finish that leaves us on tinder hooks waiting for more.

    - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2015

    The Rule of Nine by Steve Martini is the 11th book in the Paul M

    The Rule of Nine by Steve Martini is the 11th book in the Paul Madriani series. It is the first book I've read by Mr. Martini. I felt it read well as a stand-alone. The author subtly includes information that gives you a good back story of the characters and situations as the book goes along, but the information doesn't intrude on the current story line.




    Defense attorney Paul Madriani is neck deep in trouble. He is shaken up from being near the scene of a crime where the terrorists had a nuclear device. He has just recently come out of 'hiding', since he was branded as a suspect in the case by the media because he was at the scene. He's been tied to a murder across the country in Washington, D.C. and he's worried that there are people after him because of all this. Paul is an easy character to like. He is smart and just seems like a regular guy who is trying to figure out why he's a target but still keep his family safe.




    I was immediately sucked into this story. I found myself turning page after page late into the night because the author did such a great job of writing a complex story that was full of twists and turns. You didn't know what was coming from one chapter to the next. The Rule of Nine by Steve Martini is a thrilling suspense read that I highly recommend. I can't wait to read more in the Paul Madriani series!




    I've seen other reviews of people who were disappointed in this book because it didn't live up to the earlier books in the series. Since I haven't read the others in the series yet, this one was definitely a 5 star read for me. It was suspenseful and exciting and I didn't want to put it down. I received a copy for review purposes, but this did not influence my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Steve Martini in his new book, ¿The Rule Of Nine¿ Book Eleven in

    Steve Martini in his new book, “The Rule Of Nine” Book Eleven in the Paul Madriani series published by Harper gives us another adventure with Paul Madriani.

    From the back cover: ‘Still reeling from the trauma of a near nuclear explosion at the naval base in Coronado, San Diego defense attorney Paul Madriani now finds he’s been linked to the murder of a Washington, D.C., political staffer. Authorities believe the bloodthirsty assassin Liquida Muerte—aka “the Mexicutioner”—may be responsible, and that Madriani is the ultimate target of the killer’s twisted vengeance.

    But the danger pales before an even more terrible unfolding scenario. Evidence is mounting that the elusive maniac and a domestic terrorist who calls himself the Old Weatherman have joined forces, intending to strike at the very seat of the United States government, pulling the capital city—and the country—into a vortex of terror . . . unless Paul Madriani and weapons control expert Joselyn Cole can somehow unravel the enigma of . . . The Rule of Nine.

    If you have not read Steve Martini and his lawyer hero, Paul Madriani, before this is a great way to start. There are not one but two super villains in this high-speed,spy political thriller. It seems that Madriani has dealt with the assassin Liquida Muerte before and this time is even more personal. Then there is the target of the U.S. Government. This one will really get your blood pumping. I think what Mr. Martini did here is write a Bond adventure as Madriani certainly is not involved with a courtroom in this go round. This is my first book with Mr. Martini and all I can say it certainly will not be my last. Once Mr. Martini got hold of me he did not want to let go. The suspense is practically constant, only sporadically does Mr. Martini let you come up for air. Let me assure you that once you get started with “The Rule of Nine” you are not going to want to stop until you finish so I recommend you start early. Mr. Martini has provided us with a very clever exciting book and I look forward to the next book in this series.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Partners In Crime. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    A reai thrki A real thriller

    Fast paced action packed book' THE TWISts and tuns of the plot make this book a page turner-the charactos arde likeable-All in all, a great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    Highly recommended

    A great book. Lots of twist and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    UGH by Ml

    What a disapppointment. I usef to love reading Madriai. Wow has he gone off rhe rails. Totally out of control and not at all believable. H e has us all over the place. Think i am now done. Sorry but good bye Martini

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not Following The Rules

    It's become a commonplace thriller these days. Bad guys with bombs threaten this or that city, and not one of our government agencies is up to the job of solving the case. It takes good old civilians to do the job, accomplishing things that the military or the CIA or the Secret Service or the FBI, with all the assets at their command, cannot handle. It's Jane or John Doe who can do it, and they must, in the nick of time, to save the world or whatever is threatened in this particular novel. In the Rule of Nine it is a lawyer from San Diego who must unravel a horrible plot. The government proves unbelieving, ineffectual, disinterested. So, the lawyer and a couple of helpers travel the country, discovering secrets that will lead them, and only them, to a point where they can save...in this case, a government building in Washington, D.C.

    Many of these novels that I mention actually keep up an interesting level of suspense and give their civilian saviors a level of charisma. We want to root for them, and we can suspend belief long enough to enjoy the novel. Unfortunately, The Rule of Nine does none of this. It is such a stupid story that the reader never once believes anything is in real danger, and there were numerous points where I just glazed over the pages as I was so bored.This is not the book you want to take to the beach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    ANOTHER EXPLOSIVE THRILLER FROM STEVE MARTINI

    Every bit what we hoped it would be and more following NY Times bestseller Guardian Of Lies Steve Martini gives us another explosive thriller featuring California lawyer Paul Madriani. Now, how an attorney manages to get himself, family, and friends into such deadly situations is another story, but here he is fighting for his life on every page of THE RULE OF NINE.

    No one wants to make an enemy of Liquida Muerte aka "the Mexicutioner," a hired assassin who takes great pleasure in dispatching his victims as painfully as possible. But Madriani once infuriated him and Liquida never forgets. He not only wants to get Madriani but also his daughter, Sarah. Liquida first tries to do this by making it look like Madriani had something to do with the murder of a young congressional aide, Jimmie Snyder. Unfortunately, Jimmie had only been on the job for two months when he made his fatal error by trusting a fellow who was "affable, approachable, and interested.....All the man wanted was to see a few of the rooms off-limits to the public." That one apparently small mistake not only cost him his life but also almost destroyed the entire Supreme Court.

    A brilliant terrorist whom we know only as Thorn is hellbent on destruction at the heart of America and is using Liquida to help him make his plot a reality. With powerful friends and unlimited funds it's not at all unreasonable to think that Thorn might be successful.

    Although still somewhat off-base after helping to stop a nuclear explosion at the Naval base in Coronado, Madriani realizes that law enforcement isn't seeing the full picture or realizing the imminent danger. After hiding Sarh away for her safety he and his associate Herman Diggs along with a beauteous, persistent arms control activist, Jocelyn Cole set out to do some sleuthing of their own.

    There's not a dull sentence on any page as a suicide bomber speeds towards its target. Not only has Martini delivered a can't-stop-reading thriller but closes with a shocking finish that leaves us on tinder hooks waiting for more.

    - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5