Customer Reviews for

Rule of the Bone (Canadian Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    This guy gets the teen angst

    Uncanny look inside of the teenage mind with a wild ride to boot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Rule of the bone!!

    I am reading this book right now. Almost done with it. As i was reading this book i couldnt put it down. it kept getting more interesting it was such a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Highly recommended- good easy read.

    This book was great! You go alot of places you dont expect to go. Excitin and a view into the battles youths are challenged with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Highly reccomend it!

    Rule of the Bone is an incredible book. We read it in my English class, and I couldn't put it down. I finished it long before the class did and was dissapointed when there was no more to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    This is my alltime favorite

    Im so glad its back in print

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    my all time favorite book

    this book may seem long and some might say that it starts out slow. but it doesnt go where you think it will go. its definitely unpredictable. i got completely lost in the pages. fell in love with the story. i felt like i could really relate even though im not a troubled teen haha. its a must read. if you can appreciate a good story...just do it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    Rule of the BONE is about a young kid named Chappie which later changes his name to Bone. Bone has a rough life when he is growing up and gets into a lot of trouble at a young age. He later leaves his house and goes lives with friends. Bone learns a lot about life when he is out on his own living.

    We give it 4 out of 5. We really enjoyed reading this book. When you would start reading the chapter you wouldn't be able to put the book down. This never happens when we read books but this one did. The book just kept getting better and better each time we read a chapter.

    We really enjoyed reading this book, it showed us how hard life is for people that are poor and have no money. Also shower us how big effect a divorce has on a kid at a young age.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    About the starred review-only good as a gift if you hate someone's guts.

    Rule of the Bone is an interesting but ultimately unrewarding book. It also has too much gratuitous graphic description and has unrealistic supporting characters. It does have a good sympathy factor, but one that is solely based on the events themselves and not Chappie/Bone's reactions to them. He is not easy to emphasize with, especially in his actions that are destructive for the sake of destruction such as the window in the house and stuff like that. He crosses over the line of crimes you can sympathize with like speeding and parking in the wrong place into breaking and entering and theft, and it doesn't help that he takes a lot more than he needs in that particular incident.
    The story begins with Chappie, aged 14, living with his mother and his stepfather Ken, who he hates. Chappie is already addicted to drugs and he is looking for a way to get some money to pay for them, when he discovers some old and valuable coins stashed in a closet. He sells them and uses the money to buy "weed" from Russ, an older friend who is even more of a loser. After a few months of this, his mother discovers the coins are missing and after an altercation in which Ken hits him several times, Chappie runs away and crashes at Russ's house for a while. Eventually that becomes impossible and he has to get an apartment with Russ and these crazy bikers that make up a gang called Adirondack (because this all happens in Vermont) Iron. After another long interval, the place catches on fire and burns to the ground. One of the bikers is killed and Chappie and Russ are presumed dead, so they make sure to stay out of everyone's way until nobody's looking for them anymore. They change their names and Chappie gets a tattoo of crossed bones and starts calling himself the Bone. The two of them hide out in the summer house of a family from down south and trash the place. When Chappie finally decides to try to go home and give everyone another chance, he smashes the window of the house and screams out it over the mountains "The Bone rules!" How pathetic can you get?
    Bone's mom refuses to take him back so he leaves again and lives for a while with an illegal immigrant from Jamaica in an old abandoned school bus sitting in a vacant lot, where I-Man (as he calls himself) explains about his religion, Rastafarianism, which Bone likes because getting high is a religious experience for Rastafarians. They grow food and a bunch of weed in the lot, where it doesn't look like anything would grow but I-Man somehow manages to find good soil in all the junk.
    I could go on, but I don't want to give it all away so I'll just say that some other pretty interesting things happen.
    Unfortunately, there are people of every type described in this book. I wish I could say these people were too crazy to be believed, but all their types exist. I find some of the descriptions, however, to be unnecessary and to add nothing to the plot. The point/theme is hard to isolate and it doesn't really seem to exist. There are a few messages supported by parts of the book, but there is no overarching explanation.
    If you want a book that will horrify a bit and be exciting, this is an ok thing to read. Otherwise, it is nothing but a waste of time. The writing is good enough for it to be entertaining and believable, but it does not have any real meaning. It isn't even the entertainment format of the good guys beating the bad. Maybe I just can't find it, but I don't see the point.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    Rule of the bone

    The novel rule of the bone is about a 14 year old kid that lives in New York, who is really into drugs. His father left when he was a small step child and his step father is abusive towards him and his mom isn't very supportive of him. He struggles through his life while living with his parents he joins up with the wrong people and is constantly getting into trouble. You start learn though that the main character is not a bad kid its just the people he's around and the life he was born into. After going through many different experiences like being kicked out of his house he meets up with an old Rastafarian living out of a school bus. The Rastafarians name is I-man who eventually becomes bones best friend and mentor. The main character starts to change his ways and actually becomes a good person and starts to lead a completely different life and meeting his real father in Jamaica he becomes a completely new person. The writer Russell Banks uses a creative style of writing he tends to drift off in sentences showing you what's going through the main characters head at that moment and that really helps you get to know the main character for who he really is. It also helps you to relate to him in certain situations that he's in. This is a very good book I would recommend it to anybody that's a teenager or in high school. I think many teens can relate to the story because some face many of the same problems as the main character and possibly can learn from some of his experiences.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    Compelling story.

    I am a freshman in high school, and this book immediately became a favorite, even before I finished reading it. Banks deeply portrayed each and every character, and he used a unique style of writing. Banks kind of continued each sentence much longer than usual, and it almost made you feel as if you were reading Bone¿s, the main character¿s, ideas and thoughts directly. At first, this can seem frustrating or confusing, but it¿s easy to get used to and really quite interesting. Bone is a fourteen year old teen that has a tough life. His father moved away when he was only a small child, and his step-father is really not a good person at all. He gets pretty deep into drugs, and he chooses the wrong friends to hang out with. As you read the book, you learn that Bone¿s really not that bad of a kid, it¿s just the life he was born into is really hard on him. It wasn¿t until Bone met I-Man, a forty year old Rastafarian, that he really turns his life around. The drugs are still there (due to I-Man being a complete Rastafarian), but I-Man becomes his mentor and teaches him how to become in touch with his inner self. At the beginning of the book, Bone is a only teenage druggy living in upstate New York, but by the end of the book after meeting his real father in Jamaica with I-Man, Bone feels as if he¿s reborn, like a new person. I would suggest this book to anyone in high school or above because of some adult content in the book, and I think many teens could possibly relate to some of the problems and circumstances Bone faces. This book may not be ordinary, but that¿s also one of the qualities that make it an excellent story to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2007

    Rule of the Bone

    Review of Rule of the Bone I would give Rule of the Bone my highest recommendation possible. I have read many different sources that compare this book to Catcher in the Rye. I completely agree with that comparison and I feel like Bone is just a modern day Holden Caufield. The vernacular that Russel Banks uses in The Rule of the Bone is dead on in this day and age. I feel like I was unable top put down the novel at some points because you are just never able to guess what is coming up next in this roller coaster plot. The book starts off in upstate New York by introducing the protagonist, Bone. I feel like many teenagers will be able to identify with Bone¿s situation because he has had a rough life up to this point. I¿m sure that his situation of having his dad run out on him and him being left in the care of his mom and his abusive step dad will not fly over the heads of readers. This book truly represents our generation and not that of the cookie cutter atmosphere in The Catcher in the Rye. The novel is truly a definition of a coming of age story. When the story begins Bone is a troubled teen just trying to find his way in life. By the end of the book Bone has met his real dad and become the person that he truly wants to be because of his relationship with his mentor I-Man. This truly is one of my favorite books of all time and I would recommend it to everyone but teenagers especially. Even for those of you who do not always enjoy reading I think that you would enjoy this book. It has something for everyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2006

    A Review of the Stunning and Terrific Novel, Rule of the Bone

    ¿You¿ll probably think I¿m making a lot of this up just to make me sound better than I really am or smarter or even luckier but I¿m not¿ (Banks 1). The introduction to Russell Banks¿ novel Rule of the Bone helps the reader to understand that while the book is a surreal story, it still utilizes realistic present-day possibilities as description for its themes. Each episode of Chappie¿s life is an extraordinary venture, whether it is his trials with the responsibility of adulthood, or his naïve but exciting actions. His adventures, although clearly ¿excellent¿ stories, still express deeper meaning. Each of Chappie¿s undertakings defines his life as he matures through his teenage years. Rule of the Bone offers an engaging story while expressing thematic undertones that chronicle a boy¿s coming-of-age. Russell Banks¿ Rule of the Bone is a thrilling and suspenseful book. It offers a plot that not only excites the senses, but also keeps the reader on the edge, waiting for more. There are no barriers with Chappie¿s narrative. Banks neither censors his writing, nor does he even attempt to dodge more mature topic areas. The book is stimulating from the drastic measures it makes to grip the attention of the reader. The excitement often comes from the near-death experiences in which Chappie winds up, ¿Joker stood behind him [Bruce] watching. When Bruce stepped away he brought the barrel of his gun down close to my [Chappie¿s] head and smiled and said, Bang. Then he laughed and went back into the livingroom with the others¿ (Banks 74). The sordid affairs in which Chappie finds himself are not only well detailed and rousing, but also present their own themes. Not just the themes of violence which constantly reappear throughout the novel, but in the above example the psychotic relationship between Joker with his guns and Chappie with his lack of power brings Chappie into a situation close to death. With these events though Chappie comes to learn that the world is full of those with power, and those without, ¿The more power you¿ve got the more you¿re able to do the right thing which is whatever you can get away with and at that point in my life I had no power whatsoever, I couldn¿t get away with anything so I had to do the wrong thing and tell the truth. I was the ultimate little dog and it was all I could do to keep from pissing down my own leg¿ (Banks 73). Without a true home to turn to, Chappie is left with no backing, a lack of support that leaves him, but a young teenager, defenseless in a brutal world. He comes to realize through the novel that although he is young, he still has the opportunity to develop a power over those who oppress him, and through this discovery he is able to mature past his childish life. Graphic descriptions also add a bit of Banks¿ creative genius in the mixture. Banks¿ metaphors, such as Chappie¿s comparison to a dog, present short and easily understood segments that help the reader to realize the current mindset of the main character. The exciting adventures which are depicted throughout Rule of the Bone both create a lively and vivid story as well as present the life-lessons which Chappie learns as he matures. With such an exciting novel though comes the falsity that is ever-present throughout the story. As a work of fiction, it is obvious that the book may not be as ¿true as life,¿ but Banks proficiently crosses the division between the believable, and the surreal. The situations in which Chappie winds up are all part of the same small community of Chappie¿s acquaintances. Those characters thought to be long gone reappear and interact with Chappie repeatedly. It is important to the plot itself that Chappie revisits his past, but the coincidences and exciting visits are all-too-common. The story can practically be mapped out, and each character may be traced throughout the book because of the great number of times each character is mentioned. Russell Banks¿ Ru

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2006

    Awesome book ! Interesting and totally different.

    Rule fo the Bone is by far the best book I have ever read. It was interesting while still being somewhat down to earth. It may not be appropiate for everyone, but the profanity and other diversity added to the novel was actually almost unnoticable. I picked up the book because it looked different and I became so interested in it I forgot what was going on around me. From the beginning to the end, Russell Banks kept the story going without a dull moment. Thinking back, he covered just about every topic and ending up in a completely different place with a completely differnet feeling. This was not the typical teen story at all but was still apealing, which is probably why it interested me so much. I have never read a book like it, and probably never will. I also didn't find it 'whiney' in the least. The reviews and summery didn't even begin to cover the emotional and mental aspects. Banks' other novels don't compare ,however, he is now my favorite author and writes so uniquely i forget it's not real. I recommend Rule fo the Bone for anyone who is not interested by many other books, and doesn't mind going places that other writers are afraid to go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2005

    Something needs to be cleared up

    Great story. The usaul: coming of age for older teens Not so usual: Unique way in which Banks points out the intelligence and innocene of Chappie, the main character and adventurous nature of the story. Chappie is not whinny, he's real. He's young and Banks portrays this well. As flawed as Chappie is, he's also what many of us should be. Banks creates a character full of contridications, making it possible for us to disagree and dislike Chappie, but unable to deny the fact that he has something that much of this world lacks. It may not always be presented straighforwardly thorugh specific words, but it's there for us all to find. As in any good coming of age story, the character doesn't just go through his or her experiences for the heck of it, they do it to teach us something, to show us something, whether we want to see it or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2004

    Horrible book

    There are no consistent themes in this book. The narration is annoying. NONE of the characters are likeable, and I've enjoyed many books with flawed characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2004

    good

    This was one of the best books that I have ever read. I thought that anyone over the age of 13 should read this book. It is kinda strong for kids under that age because there are lots of bad things in it. but I recommend reading this book. That kid who said it was bad was definitly wrong, in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2004

    Great for teenagers

    I read this book my freshman year in high school. I hated reading but I chose this book for silent reading in class. I didn't know much about the book by reading the back cover but I thought I could sleep thrugh it and make up a book report because my teacher never read it. Well I was wrong. I couldn't sleep through it because I was to interested in it. This is my favorite book. I could relate to it because I was around Chappies age. When I gave my book report my teacher became so interested due to my enthusiasm about it, she bought herself a copy to read over summer. Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2004

    Not too enthused

    I wanted to like this book, I really did, but unfortunatly I didn't. The book is supposed to make you empathise with Chappie, but it came off as whining and crying, he might as well have just said: 'Please feel sorry for me'. There was too much self-pity in the character, and not too much to feel sorry for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2004

    Suicide, compreesed into a small novel

    oouch, this was bad...... really bad. i would recommend it for suicide only. I gave it 1 star because that was as low as the ratings went

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2004

    freaking cool man

    this book is awsome, i likedit alot and i dont even like to read at all. and chappie has a mohawk, thats cool. i think its a great book that shows alot about teenage life and getting into drugs and not having people that understand or at least try to understand what you are going through. it also shows that everyone needs love and when you get close to someone they leave you, it sucks. but the truth of the matter is that 'rule of the bone' is agreat book, that once you begin reading you wont want to put the book down. and i love chappie......you guys out there should sit down and read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3