Customer Reviews for

Rules

Average Rating 4.5
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

You can always tell when you're reading a book that has a basis in truth. With RULES, author Cynthia Lord writes about what it's like to live with autism, and she should know, since she has an autistic child.

That ring of truth is there, in every word, when yo...
You can always tell when you're reading a book that has a basis in truth. With RULES, author Cynthia Lord writes about what it's like to live with autism, and she should know, since she has an autistic child.

That ring of truth is there, in every word, when you read the story of twelve-year old Catherine and her autistic younger brother, David.David hates loud noises. If there's a cloud in the sky, he has to take his red umbrella with him. If his dad says he'll be home at five o'clock, David starts going crazy at five-oh-one. He likes to rewind his movie of Thomas the Tank Engine to his favorite part, over and over and over again. His favorite place to visit is the video store, where he'll even lay on the floor to read the back of the movie box a stranger is holding in his hand. And he knows all the words to Arnold Lobel's FROG AND TOAD.

For Catherine, though, it's a much different story. She hates the way people stare at her brother, or even worse, refuse to look at him at all. She's jealous of the time David gets to spend, one-on-one, with their pharmacist father. She hates David's rules, the strict adherence to which he is obsessed with them, and yet she makes new rules for him every time she thinks of something else he needs to know.

Catherine copes by drawing, and one day she decides to draw the boy in the wheelchair who is in the waiting room with her at Occupational Therapy. David goes there once a week to work with a therapist, and so does the boy who doesn't speak but instead uses a book of word cards to communicate. When Catherine offers to make Jason, the boy in the wheelchair, some new cards with pictures, an unlikely friendship is born. Catherine is also excited about Kristi, her new next-door neighbor, but soon finds out that friendship is a complicated matter.

How do you protect a brother that often annoys you? How can you be friends with the beautiful girl next door and yet be ashamed to admit your friend Jason doesn't talk and is in a wheelchair? How do you make your father understand that you matter, too? How do you tell your mother that even though David needs his own words, Frog and Toad is a special communication between a brother and sister that love each other? RULES isn't just a book about autism, but rather a look into the complexities of a family relationship. An excellent read for anyone who has ever had to deal with someone who is just a little bit different than everyone else.

posted by TeensReadToo on November 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

GREAT READ!

I enjoyed "Rules" very much, it was very hard to put down. This is a book for boys and girls ages 8-13. Catherine, a 12yr old girl is trying to get a normal life. That is very hard with David, her brother who has autism. All the attention in the house goes right to him...
I enjoyed "Rules" very much, it was very hard to put down. This is a book for boys and girls ages 8-13. Catherine, a 12yr old girl is trying to get a normal life. That is very hard with David, her brother who has autism. All the attention in the house goes right to him. Catherine is always giving him rules to follow such as "NO TOYS IN THE FISH TANK!" When Catherine meets Jason, a boy at one of David's classes who cant speak and is in a wheelchair,they get along very well. One day, her neighbor asks if Jason and she would like to go to a dance. Catherine is very embarrased to be with Jason other than in Davids classes. What happens next? Read the book to find out.

posted by 575299 on February 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 179 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

    You can always tell when you're reading a book that has a basis in truth. With RULES, author Cynthia Lord writes about what it's like to live with autism, and she should know, since she has an autistic child. <BR/><BR/>That ring of truth is there, in every word, when you read the story of twelve-year old Catherine and her autistic younger brother, David.David hates loud noises. If there's a cloud in the sky, he has to take his red umbrella with him. If his dad says he'll be home at five o'clock, David starts going crazy at five-oh-one. He likes to rewind his movie of Thomas the Tank Engine to his favorite part, over and over and over again. His favorite place to visit is the video store, where he'll even lay on the floor to read the back of the movie box a stranger is holding in his hand. And he knows all the words to Arnold Lobel's FROG AND TOAD. <BR/><BR/>For Catherine, though, it's a much different story. She hates the way people stare at her brother, or even worse, refuse to look at him at all. She's jealous of the time David gets to spend, one-on-one, with their pharmacist father. She hates David's rules, the strict adherence to which he is obsessed with them, and yet she makes new rules for him every time she thinks of something else he needs to know. <BR/><BR/>Catherine copes by drawing, and one day she decides to draw the boy in the wheelchair who is in the waiting room with her at Occupational Therapy. David goes there once a week to work with a therapist, and so does the boy who doesn't speak but instead uses a book of word cards to communicate. When Catherine offers to make Jason, the boy in the wheelchair, some new cards with pictures, an unlikely friendship is born. Catherine is also excited about Kristi, her new next-door neighbor, but soon finds out that friendship is a complicated matter. <BR/><BR/>How do you protect a brother that often annoys you? How can you be friends with the beautiful girl next door and yet be ashamed to admit your friend Jason doesn't talk and is in a wheelchair? How do you make your father understand that you matter, too? How do you tell your mother that even though David needs his own words, Frog and Toad is a special communication between a brother and sister that love each other? RULES isn't just a book about autism, but rather a look into the complexities of a family relationship. An excellent read for anyone who has ever had to deal with someone who is just a little bit different than everyone else.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Perfect

    This is the best book out there. It will make you laugh, cry, and think about what is really important in life. Read it!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Rules

    I am a 9 year old girl and this book was great!!! It was Interesting, sad, and happy at the same time!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    MY FAV. BOOK

    I could never find another favoriter book then this probably. I wanna know if Catherine and Jason become boyfriend and girlfriend even tho Jason is a little older and has a disability. I also wanna know how big of friends her and Kristi become.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Extrodinary!!!!!

    I loved this book! Thibook gave such a great message! Especially for 9-13 year olds. I have never read a book and had such a great comprehension so easily. Deffinatly read this book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    Great Book To Read

    This book is about a girl named Catherine. Her brother, David, is autistic and she doesn't like that he gets special treatment. Catherine feels her life isn't ever normal with David always ruining everything somehow so Catherine makes rules for him. Over the summer a girl named Kristi moves in next door to Catherine. They become friends but Catherine stops telling Kristi the full truth about a boy named Jason at the clinic her brother goes to. Jason is in a wheelchair and can't talk so he points to word cards to communicate. Catherine works hard making more word cards for Jason and starts to get feelings for him. When Kristi asks Catherine to the dance the community center is holding and tells her she should bring Jason, Catherine comes up with many excuses why she can't go. In the end she ends up going hoping Jason will show up after they had some issues at his birthday party. I thought this book was really good and had a great theme. This is a great book to read and it is pretty short. You should really check it out!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Look at Red is for Rememberence!

    Look up the book red is for rememberence and find the post called "ideas!!!" That Carlynn Chick is a total obnoxious liar! Mermaids Do exist! Just look a little closer and you would see that!! - Veronica Bush

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    B

    Best book ever

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Ijdhdhfhrh

    Bdbdhe

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Duckie

    "Hi pinkie!"

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    This is a great book

    Loved it very enjoyable

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Great Book

    Read this book at least 3 times. So great!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    awesome book!

    This is a awesome book! It sounds sad,i know but it is not that sad. Sometimes you feel a little bad for catherine, but thats it. I read the whole book aready in school. The book was so interesting and full of suspence i read it durning class! You should totaly read this book! It is one of my favorite books ever!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    I would recommend this book to all readers who enjoy books that

    I would recommend this book to all readers who enjoy books that contain characters who have disorders or issues.  However, if you cy easily at sad parts of books, then you might want to be ery careful while reading this book because while it is a GREAT book, it does also have some very sad parts to it.  I hope that everyone that reads this book loves it as much as I did!!!!!!  :D     :D

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Read this book!

    Love this book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Rules was much loved!

    My daughter looked at this book in the store (she is almost 10 years old) and turned her nose up but I put it in the basket because I liked the subject matter and because I wanted to read it myself! We wound up starting it together and then she read it on her own. She is now writing a report for school about it. She also recommended it to her friend and they are discussing the book as her friend reads which is a first. Very exciting to see my daughter so enraptured!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    I loved it

    I have an autistic cousin and was able to make some interesting connections

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    THIS IS THE BEST BOOK EVER!!

    RULES is a great book that, teaches us lessons, lets us see others perspectives, and introduces us to characters just like our selfs! If you're looking for a fun and easy read, you should read RULES!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    Best Book Ever!!!

    Rules is an interesting book about a 12 year old girl named Catherine and her relationship with her autistic brother, David. Catherine feels as if all of her family life revolves around David. All Catherine has ever wanted is to be normal and have everyone treat David normally. It bothers Catherine when she sees people starring at David, or even worse, completely ignoring him. Everything changes when a girl named Kristi moves in next-door and when Catherine meets a mute boy named Jason with a communication book and a wheelchair. Find out how things change for Catherine over the summer because of her friendships with Kristi and Jason.
    Rules has many positives. The first is that every chapter begins with a different rule and then describes a situation to which that rule applies. Second, the book shows that people with special needs are just the same as everyone else. Third, the characters of Catherine, David, and Jason were really likeable and inspirational. The book did have some negatives though. The ending was not that satisfying. It didn't seem like the book had ended and I was craving more to the story. Also, the character of Kristi was not a favorite of mine because Catherine was hoping for a neighbor that might be her best friend, but that's not who Kristi turned out to be. Overall, Rules had many more positives than negatives for me and it was one of the best books I have read in a long time.
    I really liked the writing style of the author because it was simple and easy to comprehend. Cynthia Lord used the first person point of view and told the story from Catherine's perspective. This point of view was helpful in understanding Catherine's feelings and thoughts. I also liked the author's writing style because it was clear and the author did not use a lot of big complicated words. The writing style of the author of Rules made it easy to understand and appreciate everything that was going on in the story.
    I would definitely recommend this book. One of it's main themes, that people who have special needs are the same as the rest of us, is important, especially for kids our age to recognize. The characters were inspirational, especially Jason who couldn't speak or walk, but was a true friend to Catherine and a strong person who overcame many obstacles.
    Some other novels I'd recommend are Touch Blue, also written by Cynthia Lord. Touch Blue is about a young girl that tries to save the little harbor in her town from careless boaters that are polluting it. Another book that I would recommend is Powerless by Matthew Cody, which is about an ordinary boy that moves to a new town, meets some new friends that have superpowers and learns that you don't have to have superpowers to be a true hero.
    I enjoyed reading Rules and would recommend it as an interesting read for older elementary kids to young adults. I look forward to reading Cynthia Lord's next book, Touch Blue.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 179 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9