Customer Reviews for

Rules

Average Rating 4.5
( 177 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

You can always tell when you're reading a book that has a basis in truth. With RULES, author Cynthia Lord writes about what it's like to live with autism, and she should know, since she has an autistic child.

That ring of truth is there, in every word, when yo...
You can always tell when you're reading a book that has a basis in truth. With RULES, author Cynthia Lord writes about what it's like to live with autism, and she should know, since she has an autistic child.

That ring of truth is there, in every word, when you read the story of twelve-year old Catherine and her autistic younger brother, David.David hates loud noises. If there's a cloud in the sky, he has to take his red umbrella with him. If his dad says he'll be home at five o'clock, David starts going crazy at five-oh-one. He likes to rewind his movie of Thomas the Tank Engine to his favorite part, over and over and over again. His favorite place to visit is the video store, where he'll even lay on the floor to read the back of the movie box a stranger is holding in his hand. And he knows all the words to Arnold Lobel's FROG AND TOAD.

For Catherine, though, it's a much different story. She hates the way people stare at her brother, or even worse, refuse to look at him at all. She's jealous of the time David gets to spend, one-on-one, with their pharmacist father. She hates David's rules, the strict adherence to which he is obsessed with them, and yet she makes new rules for him every time she thinks of something else he needs to know.

Catherine copes by drawing, and one day she decides to draw the boy in the wheelchair who is in the waiting room with her at Occupational Therapy. David goes there once a week to work with a therapist, and so does the boy who doesn't speak but instead uses a book of word cards to communicate. When Catherine offers to make Jason, the boy in the wheelchair, some new cards with pictures, an unlikely friendship is born. Catherine is also excited about Kristi, her new next-door neighbor, but soon finds out that friendship is a complicated matter.

How do you protect a brother that often annoys you? How can you be friends with the beautiful girl next door and yet be ashamed to admit your friend Jason doesn't talk and is in a wheelchair? How do you make your father understand that you matter, too? How do you tell your mother that even though David needs his own words, Frog and Toad is a special communication between a brother and sister that love each other? RULES isn't just a book about autism, but rather a look into the complexities of a family relationship. An excellent read for anyone who has ever had to deal with someone who is just a little bit different than everyone else.

posted by TeensReadToo on November 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

GREAT READ!

I enjoyed "Rules" very much, it was very hard to put down. This is a book for boys and girls ages 8-13. Catherine, a 12yr old girl is trying to get a normal life. That is very hard with David, her brother who has autism. All the attention in the house goes right to him...
I enjoyed "Rules" very much, it was very hard to put down. This is a book for boys and girls ages 8-13. Catherine, a 12yr old girl is trying to get a normal life. That is very hard with David, her brother who has autism. All the attention in the house goes right to him. Catherine is always giving him rules to follow such as "NO TOYS IN THE FISH TANK!" When Catherine meets Jason, a boy at one of David's classes who cant speak and is in a wheelchair,they get along very well. One day, her neighbor asks if Jason and she would like to go to a dance. Catherine is very embarrased to be with Jason other than in Davids classes. What happens next? Read the book to find out.

posted by 575299 on February 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT READ!

    I enjoyed "Rules" very much, it was very hard to put down. This is a book for boys and girls ages 8-13. Catherine, a 12yr old girl is trying to get a normal life. That is very hard with David, her brother who has autism. All the attention in the house goes right to him. Catherine is always giving him rules to follow such as "NO TOYS IN THE FISH TANK!" When Catherine meets Jason, a boy at one of David's classes who cant speak and is in a wheelchair,they get along very well. One day, her neighbor asks if Jason and she would like to go to a dance. Catherine is very embarrased to be with Jason other than in Davids classes. What happens next? Read the book to find out.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Good book

    Well i would say this is a pretty good book. Not the best but good i guess. It did teach a great lesson but im in need of a thrll seaking book. A book that makes you never want to stop reading it. I also felt that the end was disapointing. I really with there was a second book of Rules because this left me on a cliff haner. I recomwnt this book the kids becauwe it gives a good leson.

    This is Bluemonster15 with a book talk, see you on the web!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Ava

    Hades

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Cyrus

    APOLLO!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2014

    Need to know if this is a good book or not someone please tell me

    Hi i am in need of a book to read and my friend suggested i read this and i am not shure if thia is good or not so can you please reply to NEED A GOOD BOOK as your tittle thanks really want to know.
    (Just incase you didnt relize that the word in the all caps and what you put as your tittle when you resond to e with a answer on the reviews thbks cant wait to her back.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2010

    Pretty good book.

    I read this book in the beginning of 6th grade. It was slightly hard to get into but I read it anyways. It had a good message and Was very intresting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    HannahG

    Although this book was enjoyable and a good read, I would not say it is my favorite. The characters are interesting and develop relationships, but the author does not elaborate on these connections between the characters well enough, abruptly ending a story that could of turned into a great book. For example, the main character, Catherine, becomes close to a boy with a disability. She talks to him a lot and discusses her problems with him, but the book ends so soon that we do not get to find out whether the boy overcomes his disability or what becomes of their relationship. I did enjoy the new perspective on autism, thought. Most of the time, the point of view in these types of books is from the parent or the autistic person their self. Hearing the thoughts of a twelve year old on such a serious issue with her own problems mixed in made it a little bit more light-hearted. I can see that Cynthia Lord has a lot of potential in writing, but this was just not a great book. On a scale of one to ten, I would give it a seven.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    Great book to help kids understand kids that are special.

    My son had to read this book for school. It was a very good in depth look at another sibling's perspective on her brother's special needs and how at times she wishes he were normal and how her life could be different if he was. It shows the trials she faces as she protects her brother and tries to at the same time make her own friends and keep her brother from being to involved with her friends. It is a very inspring book of one girl's struggle to deal with her life and her brother's short comings and other's meaness towards her brother because of his disability.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    Rules

    Rules<BR/>Cynthia Lord<BR/>Scholastic press<BR/>Realistic Fiction<BR/><BR/><BR/> Rules for David: No toys in the fish tank, knock when you go to the bathroom (especially if Catherine has a friend over) and many more. If you have a little brother or a sister or even if you have a sibling with a disability then this book is for you. Rules by Cynthia Lord is a great book that takes place in Maine with twelve years old Catherine has an autistic brother. All she ever wanted was a normal life and a best friend that lives next door, to her who enjoys the things that Catherine likes to do. When she heard that a new girl her age was moving next door the race was on to try to be normal. Catherine also met a boy at David's occupational therapy, or ¿OT¿, that cannot speak and is in a wheel chair. He uses cards with words and pictures on them to communicate. Will Catherine be able to be normal and will she be good friends with Jason? You'll have to read to find out.<BR/><BR/> Catherine is a young, good hearted girl who strives to fit in. She takes care of her brother and also is very talented at drawing. She is not very shy like Jason is sometimes. Jason is kind and loyal and loves to make friends. He is shy but since he met Catherine he came out of his shell and was showing more personality. Jason is also very musical, kind of like David. David is a very energetic little 8 year old. He is very smart and states all the rules though he may not follow them all the time. Catherine's and David's parents seem to be very loving parents but sometime Catherine will feel left out because they spend too much time with David or give him what ever he wants. But by the end Catherine sees why her parents give him that attention and they spend more time with her.<BR/> <BR/> Rules is a great book that I recommend to any middle school student that has a younger brother or sister. Even if you don't have any siblings to relate to Rules would still be a great book to read because it teaches you life lessons. Rules is a unforgettable book that will capture your mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    Rules-an o.k book

    Rules was an o.k. book. I disliked it because how it was almost the same throughout the book. It was like Chatherines ( the main character) little brother david who has autism embarrasses her, she gets upset, and thats what the book was.But the good part of the book was that how Chatherine barely had her own life because of babysiting david and taking david almost everywhereshe goes and how life is unfair to her but after a while she got sick of it and stood up to her parents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    Read my review

    Well this book was ok but not that great. It's about this 12 year-old girl named Cathrine who has an autistic brother but it really does not talk about how hard it can be about having a brother like that. All it realy talks about is basicaly her every day life like getting a new friend dealing her brothers problems and other stuff like that. The book was ok like she made friends with this 15 year-old boy named Jason he had this problem when he was born that he can't walk so he is in a wheelchair. He can't talk either so he speaks with notecards that have words on them. That is how Cathrine made friends with him she liked art so she drew pictures on his cards for him and made him new words. Cathrines best friend goes to her dads over the summer so when she hears that they are getting a new nieghbor that has a girl the same age as her she can't wait. The new nieghbors name is Kristi and they have a few things in common but not alot. Well if you want to find out what happens to Cathrine and Jason and Kristi then you'll have to read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was not really my style. I'm more of a fantasy, sci-fi kind of guy and this book was a, well, I don't want to say girly, but it kind of was. It does have a good message about friendship though and I think that many people can relate to the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2007

    Okay.......

    I thought Rules was a pretty good but it was just too anti-climactic. It was worth my time but I have to say that I've read better books than this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2007

    rules

    this is the most terrible book i ever read i'm not inerested in books anymore thanks rules

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1