Customer Reviews for

The Rules: Time Tested Secrets for Capturing the Heart of Mr. Right

Average Rating 3.5
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

IT WORKS!

I GOT MARRIED IN A YEAR, AFTER APPLYING THE RULES TO A GUY 48 YEARS OLD WHO HAD NEVER BEEN MARRIED AND DID NOT WANT TO GET MARRIED! EVER! HE IS HAPPY NOW AND RECOMMENDS THIS BOOK, TO HIS SISTER, WHO IS HAVING A ROUGH TIME WITH MEN IN GENERAL, AND DOES NOT WANT TO CHANG...
I GOT MARRIED IN A YEAR, AFTER APPLYING THE RULES TO A GUY 48 YEARS OLD WHO HAD NEVER BEEN MARRIED AND DID NOT WANT TO GET MARRIED! EVER! HE IS HAPPY NOW AND RECOMMENDS THIS BOOK, TO HIS SISTER, WHO IS HAVING A ROUGH TIME WITH MEN IN GENERAL, AND DOES NOT WANT TO CHANGE HER OLD WAYS.

posted by Anonymous on August 29, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

I did not "Highly Recommend" this book for reasons one might think. Living in the information age, it is important to be duly informed in the social & behavioral sciences. This book is designed for, and intended to turn women into materialistic, insecure, and manipula...
I did not "Highly Recommend" this book for reasons one might think. Living in the information age, it is important to be duly informed in the social & behavioral sciences. This book is designed for, and intended to turn women into materialistic, insecure, and manipulative beasts. The only men who will like women like the ones who use "The Rules" are the one's that Barbara De'Angeles describes in "The Real Rules," as being the kind of guys any emotionally healthy, self-actualized, powerful woman would NOT want to date in the first place. So, do read this book, but also read "The Real Rules" by Barbara De' Angelis. On a final note...would anyone walk up to a stranger and ask them to marry them? When you follow "The Rules" it is the equivalent of two strangers getting married, and this is one reason why the divorce rate is so high.
As a man who is very enlightened, self-actualized, deeply spiritual, self-empowered, and emotionally healthy I do not desire women who are mysterious and manipulative. I desire women who are self-actualized, confident in their sexuality, monogamous, highly intelligent, and aggressive...without being abusive. When I get a hint that a woman is using this ridiculous junk on me, I bail quick after I look down the road, and see divorce coming before I even start learning about her. This book only works on men who are weak and stupid. When a man gains a decent degree of control over his sex drive, this book, and any one like it, becomes obsolete.
A word of advice to all of my fellow men: the less you know about a woman, the faster you need to run from her...no matter how fine she looks. Just think, there are women out there who are just as fine, but are also emotionally healthy and emotionally honest. Take the time to learn about a woman's character, intelligence, and spiritual center. Do you want an unintelligent, gutless, and non-spiritual woman raising yours and hers children? How will you know any of this, unless you get to know her on a deep level? How can you get to know her if she's acting mysterious and manipulative? I am not afraid to show the world who I am, so I will not hide my pen name. Peace out.

posted by Rah_Ethereal on November 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 111 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2005

    Why Didnt Anyone Tell Me This ..

    Excellent read..when you think about it afterwards it makes total sense. A must read. I can't wait to try it out.!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2005

    what is this, the 17th century??

    I'd consider myself to be pretty conservative and old-fashioned when it comes to dating and relationships (dating should be courtship, the man should do the asking out, etc.), but I was blown away when I opened up this book. Basically it was written for women in the 17th century or for those whose only goal in life is to get married fast. 'The Rules' all seem to entail getting done up and decked out to catch a man's eye, then half-ignoring him and expecting him to be a fairy-tale prince instead of a human being, and definitely not listening to anyone who might tell you that there's more to life than getting married quickly. On the one hand it does recommend some good ideas like not wasting time on a man who's just not that into you. However, once he's magnanimously decided to end all your troubles by asking you to marry him, 'The Rules' recommend that you be submissive, meek, unquestioningly supportive, and 'don't get sloppy about your looks.' In other words, just thank your lucky stars that you're finally worth something because you have a man in your life. Come on, ladies, there's more to life than being in a relationship! Get out there and do what you love and you'll find the right person on the way without having to change yourself. There are too many passive barbie dolls (or those who aspire to be) out there already. Don't try to be anything but your own unique self.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2005

    The Best Love Coach Loves This Book

    As a professional life coach who helps women meet and keep the man of their dreams, this is one book that continually sits on the top of my 'must read' list for my clients. I have researched man-woman relationship issues for over 27 years, since I was a professional match-maker. Women need to understand the differences that make us special. This is not only a feel good book, it is full of important advice for women. Ellen and Sherrie have done their homework and you can trust what they tell you. As a side note, you will find that the rules presented in this book are best used as a general guidline. I recommend they be taylored to the relationship which is what I help women with, when they contact me at www.thebestlovecoach.com. This does not mean deliberately breaking the rules, just using moderation in some cases. I got the book after it first came out and I attribute my successful second marriage to many of the things I learned therein. I suggest you buy this book so you can use it as a continual reference. Even married women can benefit from it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2005

    BEST BOOK EVER

    This book is the key to a succesful relationship. If you do it right, you won't regret reading it. I am happily married to the man of my dreams, and this book helped.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2005

    still the best relationship book ever

    So many books try to copy the rules, but they don't even come close. This book is all you need for dating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2005

    What do you have to lose?

    I found out about this book the other day while at lunch with some girlfriends. I went out and bought it the same night! I will admit when I first started off reading it, I found it to be very hilarious, but as I read further it really got interesting. I've been following some of the rules lately, without even knowing it, as well as breaking some. Also, I've been on the guy's side before always pursuing men who seemed to have been following the rules and found myself reacting the same as these authors said that men would react (of course I'm a woman). I've met someone new and fully intend on trying the rules with him! I think this book is great for someone such as myself, of course who is 26 and has not had a serious relationship in a few years, so what do I have to lose? I just wished I had discovered this book when I first started college. I don't think this book has anything to do with what degreees, education or profession that a person has, for those of us who wish to profess that when telling whether or not it's a good book, that has nothing to do with matters of the heart. I highly recommend the book, its very easy and quick to read, I'm going to check out the Rules II very soon also!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2005

    Manipulating Who......?

    A great gift. If you've ever known a woman who allowed men to walk all over her, 'The Rules' could be her salvation. This little book reveals the behavior that accompanies self respect. Ultimately, 'The Rules' teaches women to 'get a life'. If you have a life, you won't be available on short notice. It's not about manipulating men, it's about manipulating yourself into a well-rounded, active life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2004

    DO UNTO OTHERS...

    Here's the problem, ladies...and this is coming from a man...one of the 'rules' is that 'if he doesn't call he's not interested.' So what do these women tell you to do? 'Don't call him and don't return phone calls.' Ummm...Remember? No phonie, no interest-ee?? Why should men believe you're still interested if you do what you are being told is a sign of us not being interested in you? It just doesn't make sense. One of the biggest give-a-ways that this stuff is just a money-making scheme gone terribly, terribly wrong is how fast these women churned out the sequels to this dreck. THINK, Ladies...THINK. If A = B and B = C, then A = C. If no phone call means no interest, that works both ways. By following this advice you're just asking for trouble.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2004

    Zero Ratings

    If you wanna play games with a guys head read this book! If you want a serious relationship with a guy then don't EVER touch this book. This book will ruin your relationship, I was happy and my mother told me to read this book, and I ruined a very happy relationship, and I know other people that have had this happen to them too. If you value your relationship then do what you feel is best for your relationship, you don't need a book to tell you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2004

    Thank you.

    My mother always told me how, but she never went into detail. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    It really works!

    It's not being 'fake', it's being smart. If you want to marry the man of your dreams, play hard to get and it will work. It's all about respecting yourself, and learning to let them treat you right! Good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2004

    No stars for this book

    If you want to have a relationship based on 'making someone love you' and playing games this is the book for you. If you want a healthy relationship based on mutual respect, attraction and being best friends, don't go anywhere near this book. Love is not about 'capturing men' it is about finding someone who you love and who loves you for you, even if they commit the fatal sin of asking you out on Thursday or forget Valentine's Day one year. Maybe I don't know what I'm talking about but I'm a happily married woman to a sweet, loving, committed man who is a wonderful husband and father. I never did any of the things in this book and I wouldn't go anywhere near this book if I were single.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2004

    Just like your mother taught you

    the Rules is all of the stuff my mother taught me and her mother taught her...etc. It's a good book that teaches women to have respect for themselves and the men they are dating. These aren't games. These are the counters to all the games. Read this book and you'll never spend another night starting at the phone wondering why he doesn't call.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2004

    This book is disgusting

    Ladies... come on!! What are you doing?? You actually believe this kind of a relationship will make you happy?? You are your own person. What are you doing reading some stupid book telling you how to get a man? These so called 'rules' are nothing but a bunch of 1950's stereotypes that are oppressing and harmful to all women who follow them... why don't you take my advice, & simply be your self, think for your self, and respect your self.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2004

    How to Attrack an Abusive, Napoleonic Control Freak

    Yes, the Rules 'worked' for me, I got married 8 months after reading them...to a controlling, possessive, domineering husband who loved 'quiet' and 'ladylike' women like me who let him do anything he wants without complaining. I am now in the middle of a divorce, he's fighting it tooth and nail. The Rules have destroyed my life!!! Stay away from these books!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2004

    These things really work! Men don't want to admit it, but they work!

    Men don't want to admit it and some women don't want to believe it, but actually doing the things it says in this book (although some sound way out there)really works! I have been doing these things all my life and men have always responded to me! It seriously works! The more unavailable, hard to get we are, it works! We all wish we didn't have to play the game and act this way with men, but in reality, this is what we must do in order to get a man these days! Unfortunately we do have to be someone else and pretend sometimes, that is the only drawback in this book, but it seriously works. For example, pretending you are busy when you really aren't is a must. You'll have to respond to a man who you are beginning to date by saying things like, 'Oh, I'm sorry, I'm busy tonight but maybe tomorrow would be best' as opposed to jumping at any man saying 'Sure, great, I can do lunch with you right now.' Men want a challenge and that's why they love football! That is what we must become - a challenge and this book shows you how to do it in a subtle classy way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2003

    The Rules Work!

    This is a wonderful book! Even if they don't work for you (which they will), it's great just to read. There are some halarious story's in it of ex-rules breakers! I would recommend this book to anyone.....except men of course!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2003

    The Rules = Common Sense

    I read 'The Rules' a few years ago after being divorced for the second time and into the singles scene once again. 'The Rules' illustrated what I've believed to be traditional standards of dating and relationships and reinforced what I already had practiced on my own in the past. It was reassuring to know that I was on the right track all along but unfortunately was with the Mr. Wrongs. Apparently I haven't had trouble getting relationships since I've been married twice and am now in yet another serious relationship. The problems have come from not being able to get out of the wrong relationships soon enough. 'The Rules' definitely established guidelines for doing so and I would recommed this book to anyone looking for a healthy, long-term and loving relationship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2003

    male view

    In the Rules, the authors tell the truth. In Rules for Marriage, they tell it wrong. Whether before marriage or during marriage, what interests a man is not knowing if he will get sex or not, and if yes, how far he can go. The smart wife keeps this power.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2003

    The Rules Work, Even If You're Just Testing!

    I tried The Rules (even though I don't date) on this guy I was interested in at the time. I'd act busy and happy, leave dinner outings with him and friends first, I'd smile, and not say very much during the conversation. This caused him to start asking things like, 'So, why don't you date?' and, 'Who all do you like in church?' and 'Do you like anybody in church?' And complimenting me non-stop became one of his favorite activites, as well as offering to pay for me, THANKing me for sitting with them,and watching my every move during church and church-related activities (the only place I see him). It was so cool, but, because of my decision not to date, we're not dating. If/when I decide to date, this book (and others like it) will be the basis for my behavior (or lack thereof).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 111 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6