Customer Reviews for

The Rules: Time Tested Secrets for Capturing the Heart of Mr. Right

Average Rating 3.5
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

THE RULES WORK

I bought this book 10 years ago for several of my friends. ALL of them got married to the man they were dating. I for one didn't follow the rules. I did marry the man i was dating but am now divorced. Men have to feel like they are using their animal instint. Now, ...
I bought this book 10 years ago for several of my friends. ALL of them got married to the man they were dating. I for one didn't follow the rules. I did marry the man i was dating but am now divorced. Men have to feel like they are using their animal instint. Now, 4 years after divorce I am going to buy this book and FOLLOW IT. I remember the book saying "treat men like the ones you don't like". Well, I was dating a few guys and always available and waiting for one of them to call and ask me out. well, as soon as I met a guy i was VERY attracted to I quit sitting around waiting and those other guys are now calling and texting constantly. So YES it is very hard to not just be available when the man you like calls- SO STAY BUSY and keep dating until he is BEGGING you to stop. If he doesn't beg you - he's not the one!
Also, girls- DON'T SLEEP WITH THEM RIGHT AWAY!!!! I see so many girls do this and all the guy does is try to get more off of you adn then tell his friends and then they try and hit on you! ESPECIALY, if you like the badf boy types- like me! DON't do it! Every bad boy wants a prim and proper lady, sexy with class and style and yes a tiger in the bedroom, but Wait TO DO THIS!!!
Another good book is Men are from Mars and Women from Venus! Men really do not think like we think and we start spilling our guts and get emotional they RUN!!!!! FAST!!!!!! Play the rules and it is not a game persay- it is being confident in yourself and only doing what a man really is attracted to by his animal instinct! Good Luck- we all deserve to be happy!

posted by HollywoodSR on April 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

I did not "Highly Recommend" this book for reasons one might think. Living in the information age, it is important to be duly informed in the social & behavioral sciences. This book is designed for, and intended to turn women into materialistic, insecure, and manipula...
I did not "Highly Recommend" this book for reasons one might think. Living in the information age, it is important to be duly informed in the social & behavioral sciences. This book is designed for, and intended to turn women into materialistic, insecure, and manipulative beasts. The only men who will like women like the ones who use "The Rules" are the one's that Barbara De'Angeles describes in "The Real Rules," as being the kind of guys any emotionally healthy, self-actualized, powerful woman would NOT want to date in the first place. So, do read this book, but also read "The Real Rules" by Barbara De' Angelis. On a final note...would anyone walk up to a stranger and ask them to marry them? When you follow "The Rules" it is the equivalent of two strangers getting married, and this is one reason why the divorce rate is so high.
As a man who is very enlightened, self-actualized, deeply spiritual, self-empowered, and emotionally healthy I do not desire women who are mysterious and manipulative. I desire women who are self-actualized, confident in their sexuality, monogamous, highly intelligent, and aggressive...without being abusive. When I get a hint that a woman is using this ridiculous junk on me, I bail quick after I look down the road, and see divorce coming before I even start learning about her. This book only works on men who are weak and stupid. When a man gains a decent degree of control over his sex drive, this book, and any one like it, becomes obsolete.
A word of advice to all of my fellow men: the less you know about a woman, the faster you need to run from her...no matter how fine she looks. Just think, there are women out there who are just as fine, but are also emotionally healthy and emotionally honest. Take the time to learn about a woman's character, intelligence, and spiritual center. Do you want an unintelligent, gutless, and non-spiritual woman raising yours and hers children? How will you know any of this, unless you get to know her on a deep level? How can you get to know her if she's acting mysterious and manipulative? I am not afraid to show the world who I am, so I will not hide my pen name. Peace out.

posted by Rah_Ethereal on November 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 4 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2008

    men have gotten wise to the rules

    I have both read the book and been subjected to these silly manipulative techniques. Unfortunately, if you're not sincere and kind and implement them with respect and care, they will not work for you. Men these days know about them and can recognize them when they are applied like a robot is doing them. And, men have come up with countermeasures, their own rules to screw up the rules and cause them to fall apart fast. My favorite, is don't call them, hardly return their calls. What do I do? I leave a message to say... aww, sorry I couldn't reach you, I have tickets to this really great show 'fill in your favorite of favorites'. I get the reservations and without fail, they return that phone call right away and all other ones from there out. Why? Because now I am manipulating them. But why bother playing games with someone's heart and emotions. Sure, they CAN work if you know how to artfully apply them, mix them up, don't follow them like a robot. Be sincere about it. Basically they are advising you to look like you have a busy life. But if we find out you didn't have a good reason to do the stuff you did, you're history. Men don't like to be artificially manipulated. If we find out, it's over. Both authors failed in their marraiges, that should be proof they don't work perfectly. In the end, it is the connection that matters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2001

    I would not apply this litterally!

    Well, this book is very interresting...I am not sure about the practical advices. It may work at large if you direct it to more conventional people but I doubt it's a foolproof recipe. 'I', for myself, would not like to taste it . But then there are those love starved women (some don't even know about their condition!) who allow men to take over full control of their love life and feelings and then will never manage to get anything back. The bottom line with this book is that one can exercise much more control over the relationship and just be better off. I hoped I would get more mature advices about doing it; that it would not be about playing games...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2001

    One man's view

    I am a single, professional man and have read the Rules book. There is much truth in this small volume. However, I would strongly recommend to the authors that they revise the 'rarely return phone calls.' Change it to 'sometimes' or 'don't always' rather than 'rarely.' Or at least the woman should make clear to the man that this is her policy for every man and not personal. There are a lot of quality men who will turn away if their calls are rarely returned with no explanation. I am one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 4 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1