BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Rule's Bride

Average Rating 4
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    an enjoyable Victorian romance

    In 1857 Boston, visiting Londoner Lord Rule Dewar agreed to marry the teenage daughter of Howard Griffin, owner of Griffin Manufacturing. The deal was pure economics as sixteen year old Violet gets a title and the man she has a schoolgirl crush on and Rule gets a gun manufacturing firm. He returned home to a life of much greater affluent debauchery while she remained in New England.

    Three years later Violet arrives unannounced in London to demand Rule agree to an annulment. Attracted to his feisty beautiful American wife, he wants to consummate their marriage, which he failed to do when they exchanged I do. She insists she has someone else in mind for her marriage bed. Falling in love, Rule persuades her to give him one month to prove they belong together as a happy married couple; if she still wants the annulment he will grant it without an argument. As he courts his wife, who has loved him since he came to her home in Boston, someone wants the pair kept apart and a murder is an acceptable means to achieve that end.

    The final R. Dewar's Bride historical romance (see Royal's Bride and Reese's Bride) is an enjoyable Victorian romance starring a married couple beginning their courtship three years after they wed. Although the marriage of economic convenience is an ancient standby of the historical sub-genre, Kat Martin refreshes it with her lead couple as she wants a first chance while his wife prefers a different chance with someone else. Readers will enjoy the intelligent tale as Rule has a climb higher than Big Ben to get out of the hole he is in when it comes to winning his wife's respect though he has her love.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A solid romance

    Good story and likable characters. I always enjoy romances that have a strong female lead versus a sappy, whimpering heroine who faints at everything. The only negative I have with the book is that considering one of my biggest pet peeves in writing is using a phrase over and over again - "as if" is a big one for me - but in this story I will say that all the characters hearts and/or chests "squeezed" so many times I am surprised someone didn't keel over from heart failure. That is my only gripe though. Good book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Highly recommended

    This book was great. Couldn't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Yuck - Horrible

    Worst book I think I've ever read and I've read a LOT of books! Can't say it strong enough...save your money!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I'd give it less stars if I could. I'm an avid historical roman

    I'd give it less stars if I could. I'm an avid historical romance reader and have seen some bad books in my time, but nothing like this. When I read the story description, the premise sounded interesting, but by page 3 I was totally disappointed in how the "heroine" changed her mind completely and simpered away into a stupid piece of fluff. No thanks. Save your money. I wish I had.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    The best and last

    I read the bride sieres backwords having first come across this book in walgreens one night . I absolutly love it . Rule and violit could easly be real people and tgats something i love in a book . And luke and caroline were unteresting enough to be there own book .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    Heartbeats

    A beautiful love story and hot at times. It kept me wanting to read faster at times to feel the excitement and thrilling of the story.
    The only draw back was mentioning the death of her father so many times, I got it! in the first few chapters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2010

    Great end to the Brides Trilogy.

    Loved all three of the books in this trilogy. There is more going on than in just your average romance. Rule and Violet are both strong and likable characters There are a lot of good supporting characters that run throughout all three books. I am hoping that there will be future books -soon- to learn about Jonathan Savage, Sheridan Knowles and the rest of the Oarsmen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    Great read! Final in The Bride Trilogy

    RULE'S BRIDE by Kat Martin is a Historical Romance set in 1859 Boston and ends in 1862 England. It is well written. It has intrigue, mystery, murder, love, romance, and sensuality. The characters are charming, independent, and strong. The secondary characters are just as strong. The heroine's cousin finds love in the hero's best friend, therefore there a story in the brew. It is fast paced and page turner. The characters will draw you into the story with them. Therefore, the hero and youngest of the Dewar brothers, he is not a force to be reckoned with as the other two. He is not sure what love is or how it feels, but through advice from his older brother he realizes what it is and he is in love with his wife. This is a captivating story of young love and what a dying father will do to ensure this lovely daughter's future and well being. If you not read the other two in The Bride Trilogy (#1 Royal's Bride and #2 Reese's Bride) I would recommend them. I would recommend this story. This book was received for review from Net Galley and details can be found at My Book Addiction and More and MIRA books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this series

    After marrying 16 year old American heriess Violet Griffin, Rule Dewar, the youngest of the three Dewar brothers,takes over her father's business and leaves her returning to his old life of gambling and women in England. Three years later, he is stunned when his beautiful (and older and wiser) wife shows up in London to get their 'unmarriage' annulled as she has fallen in love with another man and wants to marry him. Rule takes one look at Violet and falls madly in love. He begs her to wait one month and if her feelings haven't changed, he will give her the annullment; unless he can get her into his bed. Does he succeed? Does Violet sell the armament company her late father founded? This story is set just before the start of the Civil War and she does not want guns made by her father's company to be used to kill friends in the conflict that will split the country. While I enjoyed Rule's Bride, I liked the first two in the series more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7